We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, confusing display”

Indiana State Museum
Ranked #16 of 166 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore one of Indianapolis' top attractions The Indiana State Museum in White River State Park in downtown Indianapolis is the place to go to uncover Indiana’s secrets. The museum houses exhibits on science, art, culture and history of Indiana from prehistoric times up to the present day. The museum provides stunning views and architecture, making it a great venue for weddings, special events or meetings. Home to the famous L.S. Ayres Tea Room restaurant, the Indiana Store gift shop, and the IMAX Theater, Indiana’s largest movie screen.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, confusing display”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2014

Employees were nice enough, but the layout of the museum can be less confusing. For someone who is visiting Indiana for the first time, and knowing very little of its history, the museum does not do a very good job telling the state's story.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anneke2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    150
    48
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
102 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great museum”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

My family visited this museum last year and really enjoyed it. We liked learning about Indiana and my son thought the dinosaur part was pretty cool. There is an IMAX theatre and a nice view from the windows. When we went there was a fun Star Wars exhibit that my son and husband both really liked. Also there was a bunch of stuff on Lincoln and his wife Mary Todd. Lots of changing exhibits grace this museum. It also offers summer camps and lecture series.
If we return to Indianapolis we will try to visit again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank jelico8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parma
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent family museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014

I thought the admission price was very reasonable and you get a discount if you use your AAA card. Beautiful exhibits and very well laid out. They also have an IMAX theater, but we did not visit that. I would definitely recommend this. Convenient underground parking makes it a great place to visit if its raining outside, like it was when we arrived.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terri O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Night at the Museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2014

Our BPA conference had a Night at the Museum for all the kids and it was sooo fun! The exhibits were amazing and the imax was awesome!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lots about Indiana State history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014 via mobile

conveniently located by downtown. You can learn a lot about Indiana State history. Interesting place you can easily spend an hour and a half there.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indiana State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing