We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IMAX ++”

Indiana State Museum
Ranked #17 of 173 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore one of Indianapolis' top attractions The Indiana State Museum in White River State Park in downtown Indianapolis is the place to go to uncover Indiana’s secrets. The museum houses exhibits on science, art, culture and history of Indiana from prehistoric times up to the present day. The museum provides stunning views and architecture, making it a great venue for weddings, special events or meetings. Home to the famous L.S. Ayres Tea Room restaurant, the Indiana Store gift shop, and the IMAX Theater, Indiana’s largest movie screen.
USA-NC
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“IMAX ++”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

What a gorgeous museum! This was my first time there and we went to the IMAX which is housed in the museum. Wonderful displays and while we were waiting for the movie to start, we walked outside and we were on the downtown cultural trail on the canal---beautiful!!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LR B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    194
    155
    48
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Multi Purpose Facility”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This museum houses many options for your interest. I have been to many movies at the IMAX and it is an awesome movie going experience. They also have the Ayres Tea Room there and it brings back many memories from time with my mother and grandmother being dragged to this place.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank adventravler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pensacola, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“IMAX Theater”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We love the state museum and have on and off been members, but had never been to their IMAX before. We've been to several others, but this one is the bomb! It is steeper seating, and a smaller auditorium so that you are practically IN the movie. We saw a 3-D movie and it was one of our best IMAX or 3-D experiences. They have traditional movie fare, but also sell wine and beer, and imported chocolates. We thought it was a kick, and for some reason (maybe every Saturday? Can that be possible?) it was buy one/get one so our visit was half the price we expected to pay. And they validate your parking, which is under the museum so we didn't have to go out in the cold to get to our car. LOVED THIS!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank LNunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjaMay, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Indiana State Museum and IMAX. We think our theater is pretty cool, too! Make sure to check back over the summer, when we'll be playing some sci-fi favorites to correspond with the Star Wars: Where Science Meets Imagination exhibit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great for families”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This museau has something for all including the kids and grandparents. Parking is below ground next to the venue. Great view of the canal and Military Park from the indoor cafe. Of course, the theme is Indiana history, commerce, culture and the land.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank JimM562
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjaMay, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit to the Indiana State Museum. Check back later this summer, when our blockbuster exhibit Star Wars: When Science Meets Imagination opens. Running Memorial Day through Labor Day, the exhibit gives users a chance to explore the science behind the science fiction in the movie series--and see props, costumes, etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hermitage, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“A fun time & must see!”
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Good rates & parking is easy for the musuem and very easy to locate. Very clean and friendly staff on all the levels. The 3 floors had a lot to check out and were very well put together, I loved the traveling exhibits of James Dean & the 5 Generations of the Lincoln family on the 3rd level especially...but all levels were neat and fun to learn about. We wanted to check out the Historical Museum as well but they were closed sadly, however the State Museum was a fun time had by all, definitely must check it out if you are ever in Indy!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bam_and_maize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AjaMay, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Glad you enjoyed your visit! If you are ever back in Indianapolis, please be sure to stop back in. Our galleries on the 3rd floor are ever-changing! This summer, they will host Star Wars: Where Science Meets Imagination--sure to be a hit with fans of all ages!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indiana State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing