We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice way to spend an afternoon...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indiana State Museum

Indiana State Museum
Ranked #15 of 158 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore one of Indianapolis' top attractions The Indiana State Museum in White River State Park in downtown Indianapolis is the place to go to uncover Indiana’s secrets. The museum houses exhibits on science, art, culture and history of Indiana from prehistoric times up to the present day. The museum provides stunning views and architecture, making it a great venue for weddings, special events or meetings. Home to the famous L.S. Ayres Tea Room restaurant, the Indiana Store gift shop, and the IMAX Theater, Indiana’s largest movie screen.
Cicero, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nice way to spend an afternoon...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had the day off, and decided to take in the Museum and IMAX. From the start, the parking is so convenient (and free if you buy IMAX tickets), and the lady at the counter was very helpful (Erica?) I got in free because I teach at a private boarding high school and had two of my students along. It was a weekday and we almost had the place to ourselves. Very interesting and informative. I liked the interactive stuff. I'd go again, because right now they have the Lincoln exhibit and the Lincoln film on big screen at the IMAX.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Blaine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    179
    145
    44
    9
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
162 reviews
62 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great for grade schoolers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I took the boys on MLK Day. It was a free day and we got there early. It is a beautiful museum. They are working on some areas. The exhibits are somewhat interactive and would be appropriate for school aged kids, mine are still not old enough to really understand everything. The Maize exhibit with the tractor was a hit.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MarandaA36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
MLK Day is always hugely busy; we're glad you took advantage of a free day to see what the museum is all about. Please come back when Star Wars is here this summer (construction is making way for the Millenium Falcon!), mammoths and mastodons this fall, and of course Santa through the holidays....there's always something new for your and your kiddo to discover :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always a great visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family just loves this place. Fantastic exhibits, friendly staff, great location and plenty of Indiana exhibits. Thanks for always striving for excellance and attaining it. If you are within driving distance, go and have a good family afternoon here. Love the movie theatre!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisapleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“great museum fit for a great state”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

the campus was beautiful, the exhibits were interesting. Overall it was a good value. Parking is easy, and there is a nice area to walk around the canal when you're done with your visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Indiana State Museum inside and OUT”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

Most people go to the Indiana State Museum to see what is inside. One of my absolute favorite features of the museum is the exterior of the building!! There is the calliope clock on the canal, the woolly mammoths, but my favorite is the art work incorporated into the exterior of the building representing each of the 92 counties. Very unique and I'm guessing most people don't know about them. This is a great find and fun for all ages.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indiana State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing