We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Always a great visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana State Museum

Indiana State Museum
650 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204
317-232-1637
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 152 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore one of Indianapolis' top attractions The Indiana State Museum in White River State Park in downtown Indianapolis is the place to go to uncover Indiana’s secrets. The museum houses exhibits on science, art, culture and history of Indiana from prehistoric times up to the present day. The museum provides stunning views and architecture, making it a great venue for weddings, special events or meetings. Home to the famous L.S. Ayres Tea Room restaurant, the Indiana Store gift shop, and the IMAX Theater, Indiana’s largest movie screen.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
123 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Always a great visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Our family just loves this place. Fantastic exhibits, friendly staff, great location and plenty of Indiana exhibits. Thanks for always striving for excellance and attaining it. If you are within driving distance, go and have a good family afternoon here. Love the movie theatre!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisapleasant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    165
    135
    40
    7
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“great museum fit for a great state”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

the campus was beautiful, the exhibits were interesting. Overall it was a good value. Parking is easy, and there is a nice area to walk around the canal when you're done with your visit.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Evan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Indiana State Museum inside and OUT”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Most people go to the Indiana State Museum to see what is inside. One of my absolute favorite features of the museum is the exterior of the building!! There is the calliope clock on the canal, the woolly mammoths, but my favorite is the art work incorporated into the exterior of the building representing each of the 92 counties. Very unique and I'm guessing most people don't know about them. This is a great find and fun for all ages.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LizzieMic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Too Much to Do for One Visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Geared toward education, this state museum begin instruction while you are still outside in the form of art for each country in the state; it took us a few hours to just see that one morning.

We spent an entire day there and perhaps only saw a third of the galleries as well as two of the IMAX films. The inside cafe is a bit pricey, I'd recommend finding another place to eat, but otherwise it was a wonderful museum to visit though you'll need to do it a few times.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank thetammyjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Hi TammyJo...the 92 County Walk is our favorite, too. Keep watching our website, as we have a really cool interactive that will give you way more detail on why that image reflects that county, etc. It will be going live soon...done by an IUPUI graduate student for us!
Also of note....the Canal Cafe & Terrace will be updated this spring and you'll be seeing new menues, etc. Come back for Star Wars and try them out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Breakfast with Santa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

We go every year! It's a bit "stuffy", but nice. The Santa is "realistic" and the kids love to ride their indoor rollercoaster while they wait in line to sit on Santa's lap.
Wish that there were more reasons to visit this museum during other times as well.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank godluvya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MediaKath, Public Relations Manager at Indiana State Museum, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
So glad you enjoy our Celebration Crossing experience each year. Maybe you should sign up for our monthly newsletter so you can see all the other fun events and exhibits that we offer throughout the year. The link is on the home page of our website.
This year...Star Wars: Where Science Meets Imagination....Pinewood Derby (likely the world's longest, fastest track!)...Indiana's Ice Age Giants: The Mystery of Mammoths and Mastodons...and more!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana State Museum also viewed

 

Been to Indiana State Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing