We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Am I allowed to swear in this review?”
Review of Quality Inn South

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn South
Ranked #134 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Folks,

I only have 200 characters to write with so here goes: You're better off sleeping in the street or in your car instead of the Quality Inn at 4502 Harding Street in Indianapolis, IN. DUMP, SMELLY. LOUSY EMPLOYEES. WREAKED SMOKE. Three hand towels in the bathroom. No bath towels or wash clothes, just three hand towels. Someone needs to overhaul this (here is where the swear word comes in) S#&! hole. Bull doze it, with the desk clerks inside and build it from scratch.

Room Tip: I'm conviced that you get what you pay for when it comes to a good quality hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 419Greg466
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 103 reviews

Reviewed August 29, 2012

Yeah, I stayed here. It was about midnight and I couldn't drive anymore. And I have a long drive tomorrow, too. I gotta get up early and get back on the road. So, I want cheap, and this is where I stayed. The people just sort of hanging out in the parking lot when I pulled in at midnight? Too tired to care. The desk clerk who left me to wait at the front desk for a couple minutes while she finished her smoke outside? Too tired to care. The vaguely unsafe feeling as I walked down the hallway to my room? That's right, too tired to care, but I did prop the ironing board against the door, just in case.

The room and bathroom were clean. The air conditioning did work. Yes, there was coffee and food at the breakfast nook in the morning. Ice in the ice machine. And, I slept like I wanted to. Not my favorite, but it was what I needed, at a price I was willing to pay. Time to get back on the road.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnnybench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Well it was a vacation hotel that that was a dissapointment.
Hotel smelled like smoke and was shocked that the checking person said it was a completely smoke free environment and there would be a 150 dollar fee if we smoked. We do not smoke and I wonder how many people actually get fined.
The room was small with no mini refrigator on the 2nd floor. Also no elevator at all.
Would not stay here again
So much for a good dollar amount but the hotel needs work.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jourdan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

First the hotel staff was very accommodating with me and my wife who was in a wheelchair at the time. The hotel lobby looked as if it had been recently renovated and was clean. The rooms were clean and spacious but could use a slight update. Breakfast was surprisingly well stocked although we came when it was almost done. The hotel is also located in a high truck traffic area. I will definitely be staying at this location again! very nice for the price

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank nick r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The person that checked my family in was rude/annoyed we were there. Entire hotel smells like cigarette smoke. Our room was fairly clean the the bathroom light switch and switch plate was dirty - I used a tissue with soap and water to clean it. The air conditioner did not work when we entered the room it was set on coldest and high cool we left it there all night and still slept uncovered because we were too warm. The location is hard to find in addition to being next to the truck stop and strip club. I did not eat breakfast. We will never stay at this location again!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tnnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2012

I usually stay at a location twice before I rate anything below average however, I will NEVER stay here again. First, you are staying near truck stops and a strip club. The good news is that I was able to get a Subway sub at the one truck stop for dinner and even brought one back to the hotel for the clerk. That's where the good news ends.

First, long term guests stay here...construction workers drinking beer in the parking lot. I felt so unsafe that I asked for a room on a different wing of the hotel and the clerk obliged but tried to convince me that they guys, including the one trying to pick her up are harmless. I'm not convinced.

The first room, wow! What a shock to walk into a room with the bed unmade--the covers were not on the floor but pulled up on the bed with lots of lumps but the towels were lying on the floor. I almost thought they gave me a room that someone else was in but the clerk confirmed that the room was empty...for two days. She even stated that perhaps the maids sleep there during the day? WOW!

Due to this inconvenience, she gave me a lower rate--$49.99/night. Not worth that rate...read on.

The second room although the a/c was disconnected, I plugged it in and although it rattled, it worked. I was also able to get on the SLOW internet with my personal computer and it wasn't until I turned on the tv did I realize it looked like someone placed bodily fluid on the screen--it was an old tv so perhaps they just don't clean the tv? Then, I saw all the dust on the carpets and the dirty bathtub and the hair on my sheets. The next morning, when I was getting a shower, it was difficult to find an unstained towel--if I knew the towels were stained/dirty, I would have passed on the shower however, now, I had to comit to using a dirty towel. The towels were cheap and not soft, of course. Breakfast was okay but no fresh fruit. The hotel workers also eat with you (not after the breakfast hours) and they seem to save the best for the workers.

Bottom line: I would rather sleep in my car then stay here again, sorry for the harsh but realistic review. After this visit, I stopped staying in a Choice Hotel--the body fluid on the tv was too much I would rather stay at the other Quality Inn hotel in Indiana than here.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the wing without the drunk construction workers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LoriLions
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Hotel needs updating badly. That being said,...the beds were comfortable, the air conditioner worked great on a hot and humid weekend. The breakfast started at 5:30AM and was great..Good location for our needs and lots of restaurants to choose from in the immediate area. Room was OK ... we have stayed alot at the Candlewood Suites..we would take this ovrer that any day for the money saved! And the men at reception were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: 10% off at Texas Roadhouse with stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cshaw049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
5.8 mi away
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - South
Red Roof Inn Indianapolis - Sout...
#110 of 188 in Indianapolis
21 reviews
2.1 mi away
Comfort Inn South
Comfort Inn South
#28 of 188 in Indianapolis
277 reviews
15.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#94 of 188 in Indianapolis
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#101 of 188 in Indianapolis
67 reviews
13.2 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
Clarion Inn & Suites Northwest
#91 of 188 in Indianapolis
117 reviews
6 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Indianapolis Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn South

Address: 4502 S Harding St, I-74 / I-465 and SR-37, Indianapolis, IN 46217-9552
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 188 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range: $66 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Quality Inn South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Quality Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing