We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ritter's Frozen Custard
Ranked #31 of 57 Dessert in Indianapolis
Restaurant details
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

I was disappointed in the custard I got. It had clumps of ice in it and did not have a fresh taste to it at all. I may have just got a lemon but I wished I had not spent my money here and went to Culver's.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Helpothers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    2
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
La Porte IN
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Mountain of peanut butter”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Overwhelmingly good is the custard buried in peanut butter - wow. Three of us enjoyed this highly recommened treat.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carla K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Pretty Good”
Reviewed July 27, 2012

This place has pretty good frozen yogurt, but the best part is the variety of kids options that even adults can eat like dirt pie! I would go back again, but maybe not get chocolate on chocolate again! ah

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ellen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Outstanding frozen custard!”
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Ritter's makes the best frozen custard I've ever had, bar none! There are other ice cream and custard places that come close... but time and time again, we come back to Ritter's! Some locations have drive-thru service, which is great for rainy days when you didn't bring an umbrella for standing in line.

Ritter's have at five flavor choices every day; vanilla, chocolate and lite vanilla are always on the menu. The other two flavors change on a daily basis, and come from a list over over 80 different flavors. Ritter's also has italian ices and frozen yougurt.

My favorite is the chocolate custard -- always so smooth and chocolatey! The texture is very much like the filling in a chocolate truffle, but ice cold -- a wonderful experience!

Their prices are reasonable for the quality of their desserts; a dish with three scoops of custard runs about $4, while you can go both lower and higher in price, depending on toppings, waffle cone, etc. You can also buy pints and quarts to go, and they keep many flavors on stock in these pre-packaged containers. Ritter's also makes frozen cake type desserts, great for birthday parties and/or special occasions. You will need to order the cakes 24 hours in advance of when you want to pick them up.

The management and staff at this location are excellent -- in our experiences, very friendly and fairly quick, depending on how long the lines are.

We HIGHLY recommend Ritter's Frozen Custard!!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eatins_mah_hobby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritter's Frozen Custard also viewed

 

Been to Ritter's Frozen Custard? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing