We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome park”
Review of Holliday Park

Holliday Park
Ranked #25 of 172 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Savannah, Georgia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Awesome park”
Reviewed November 7, 2012 via mobile

Great playground for kids! Beautiful trails anytime of year. Great wide open spaces! Neat nature center...fun for kids.

Helpful?
Thank BirdGirl_1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    42
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
156 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great playground”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We used to drive down from the north suburbs just to play at this park. Gorgeous grounds for wandering around, especially the ruins. Nice trails by the river as well. Be forewarned - thieves like this place because of all the moms who leave purses in cars. I had mine broken into a few years back. Lock belongings in your trunk or carry them with you...and have fun!

Helpful?
Thank MaryIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“very unique and pretty hidden treasure!”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

I just moved to northern Indianapolis, and am discovering there are not a lot of parks right around me like I am used to. I saw on a map that Holliday park was the closest one, so went to check it out. It is close to Broad Ripple, and was hard to find the entrance at first. Once I found it I was pleasantly surprised to see ruins as I was pulling up. They are beautiful, and I was able to get a lot of awesome pictures here. There is also a nice playground, and a cool wooden overlook where you can go out over the trail below. There is a pretty garden with a paved trail that leads into a wooded trail. Also a large nature center. This park has everything I was looking for.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank SaraMarie1607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Nice place to hike and walk”
Reviewed September 6, 2012

lots of trails and a great little river to dip your feet into. A nice ravine makes for interesting scenery and a flower garden at the front. There is even some kind of "old" (I think) ruins there and some old concrete statues that "look" old that were weird but interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank charlie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
137 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“A great park in the city”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Our family really enjoys coming to Holliday Park. In fact, one of our older grandchildren from out of state calls it THE PARK in Indianapolis based on her experiences visiting over the years. The playground is terrific for all ages. The Nature Center is an interesting spot with some fun activities and a chance to rest from the outside summer heat in a/c and use the restrooms. The gardens are beautiful. The trails are really nice - winding down through the woods and along the river - you would never know you are still in the city. We've brought the kids to play on the playground, eat a picnic lunch then walk through the woods, spread blankets under the trees to rest a bit before playing and hiking some more. During the summer the Friends of Holliday Park host free concerts under the trees outside the Nature Park.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank bgoIndianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Holliday Park also viewed

 

Been to Holliday Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing