We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memories” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hinkle Fieldhouse

Hinkle Fieldhouse
510 West 49th Street, Indianapolis, IN 46208
(800) 368-6852
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 144 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Memories”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a place to watch a ballgame. It has a lot of the things that make great memories, but now updated. Butler basketball is great to watch.

Helpful?
Thank Barbara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Sistersville, West Virginia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best game ever in Hinkle!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I purchased tickets to the Gonzaga at Butler game as a present for my husband, who is a huge NCAA basketball fan, and who can recite every line from the movie "Hoosiers" (which was partially filmed at Hinkle Fieldhouse). Because of its relatively small size, there doesn't seem to be a bad seat in the house, as far as the view. Our seats were close to the top, and we could see very well. However, our section, as well as many others, are simply wooden bleachers, which became uncomfortable after a while. Little did we know that we would see an "Instant Classic" as one of Butler's players stole the ball and made a game-winning shot at the buzzer. The roar of the crowd and the excitement of seeing thousands of fans rush the floor are unforgettable memories of historic Butler Fieldhouse.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank WVTeacher20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Hinkle Fieldhouse is a National Sports Treasure”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I attended the recent BUTLER BULLDOGS vs Gonzaga game at the Home of the Bulldogs, Hinkle Fieldhouse. The setting was amazing and the outcome much like the movie, HOOSIERS. The venue is 85 years old without a single "amenity" to speak of. Yet, you can see the floor from any seat in the building. The feel is what true basketball is all about. The intimate setting of 10,000 seats seems right when the game begins. Truly, HINKLE FIELDHOUSE is a national treasure. Anyone who has not been to a game there--even if you are not a basketball fan--would benefit from an evening of "Hoosier Hysteria" BUTLER BULLDOG STYLE!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indyron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Hoosiers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

This is where the final game of Hoosiers was filmed. We took some guest from Norway there when one lone player was shooting hoops. It was basketball nostalgia at is best. Butler plays there and some Indiana high school tournament games are still played there. Tickets are available for most games.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Sports”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a place of great atmosphere for sports and Butler Bulldogs basketball along with March Madness. You can see the court from every seat. A great field house of history.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Helpothers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinkle Fieldhouse also viewed

 

Been to Hinkle Fieldhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
#