We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Sports” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hinkle Fieldhouse

Hinkle Fieldhouse
Ranked #43 of 156 things to do in Indianapolis
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hinkle Fieldhouse has reigned as one of the nation's great sports arenas for more than eight decades. The classic facility was constructed in 1928 and it has stood up to the test of time, maintaining the splendor, character and atmosphere that made it one of the nation's most famous basketball arenas for nearly a century. Hinkle Fieldhouse was home to Indiana High School basketball's "Hoosier Hysteria" tournament until 1971 and is currently home to Butler basketball and volleyball. The current capacity after the most recent renovation is 9,100. The Fieldhouse was named to the National Register of Historic Places in 1983, and declared a National Historic Landmark in 1987. Hinkle is open during regular business hours Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. for free self-guided tours. Tickets are required for home athletic contests.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

This is a place of great atmosphere for sports and Butler Bulldogs basketball along with March Madness. You can see the court from every seat. A great field house of history.

Visited March 2012
Thank Helpothers13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wichita Falls, Texas
Level Contributor
288 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Piece of history”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

What a gem, truly a basketball showplace. In the world of bling and glamour arenas, this place is still a top 5 place to see. Although I didn't get to see a game, I thoroughly enjoyed walking the facility and taking in this historic building. I hope with the renovations that are upcoming, they don't change to much.

Visited January 2013
1 Thank travelnow39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Indiana
Level Contributor
110 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

Every time I enter Hinkle Fieldhouse for a Butler men's basketball game, I tell myself how lucky I am to get to watch my team in one of the best basketball arenas in the country. There's not a bad seat in the house and I love Saturday afternoon games when the sun shines through the windows. There's no place else like HInkle, although several new arenas pay homage to it.

Visited December 2012
1 Thank Bixie10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
94 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A classic gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is the holiest of holies for amateur basketball. What MSG or United Stadium is to the pro game, this is it for college and high school ball.
Made famous worldwide in the movie "Hoosiers" where the small-town players are shocked to be in such a large building and the coach makes them measure the basket to make sure it is still only ten feet high, this place was already a legendary destination for real-life Hoosiers. The historic fieldhouse was on of the largest basketball arenas anywhere in the country when it was first built in the 1920's. At the time it was built, it held far more people than the entire Butler University campus. The high school basketball finals were held here every year for decades.
It's old. You can FEEL its age, but it is a great place to see a game of basketball, relatively inexpensively. upper level seats are still only around $9 day of game. And even though Butler has emerged as a perennial mid-major contender, the stadium still cannot hold the whole student body, so there are almost always tickets available, except when an in-state rival such as Ball State or Valparaiso shows up. Or Xavier out of Cincy. Those games are craaaazy.
Butler has authorized a $20m renovation, and they will be updating some features, including I hear a (gasp!) adding the first jumbotron! Maybe it'll be in sepiatone.
For now, though, you can still pee in a trough like they've done in the men's rooms @ Hinkle for 90 years.
Come early and poke around the exhibits, photos, & trophies, including the Butler Men's Basketball Regional Championship trophies from 2010 (Gordon Heyward's team) and 2011 (Shelvin Mack's).
I cannot wait to go back!

Visited April 2012
1 Thank blairah98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Castle, Indiana
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“So many great stories took place here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

If I had the time, I would come here often to catch a basket ball game. I even attended a high school graduation here that seemed so special because of the location.

Thank minus5torr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hinkle Fieldhouse also viewed


Been to Hinkle Fieldhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing