We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A solid burger joint” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bru Burger Bar

Bru Burger Bar
Ranked #6 of 2,339 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Opened in Indianapolis, Indiana in December 2011, BRU is an ode to our love... the burger. A second location in Lexington, Kentucky opened on Monday, November 18th, 2013. BRU features gourmet chef burgers as well as veggie, turkey, lamb, and ahi tuna varieties. Fresh salads, sandwiches, fries, onion rings, and hand dipped milkshakes round out our exciting menu. In addition, BRU has over 16 craft beers on draft along with over 40 bottles from around the world. BRU is a member of Cunningham Restaurant Group (CRG). CRG proudly operates restaurants in Indiana, Ohio, and Kentucky including: Charbonos, Stone Creek Dining Company, Boulder Creek Dining Company, Mesh on Mass, and Moerlein Lager House.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A solid burger joint”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Coming from the UK, we were looking for an authentic experience of the American burger. The staff were very courteous and looked after very well. In retrospect, I should have probably had the 3 cheese burger on the menu, one of our friends had it and it was mindblowingly.

My burger was very tasty (can't remeber which one I had, but it had a fried egg) and I felt as though I was experiencing a little bit of Americana with every bite. Not quite 10/10, but a good effort.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jordan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    354
    216
    46
    13
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great lunch at Bru”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

My wife and I had lunch at Bru on a Sunday afternoon. It was busy, but we were seated right away. The waiter was speedy and helpful. The burgers were great as were the fries with homemade dipping sauces. They also have a good selection of local microbrews. Overall, it's a great spot for lunch or a casual dinner.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CLichlyter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
282 reviews
258 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Holy Disappointment!!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

I caved into the "best ever" "must go" lines and went to Bru! The waiter was a little strange and very fast. The advertisements he made of the food were very programmed and robotic.

I ordered the garlic three cheese along with the chili cheese fries appitezer with my wife. The fries were pretty good and saved this review from receiving a 1 star.

Both burger was overcooked (requested medium well and received extra well) The burger was COVERED in minced garlic!! WHO DOES THAT!?!?! The sides were par at best. I honestly have had better Burger King Whopper's than this nonsense.

If there were a FuddRuckers in Indianapolis they would put Bru out of business immediately.

$35 dollars for Burgers? Are you kidding me? What a waste of our money!

Save your money and go find a good burger because my friends. This is a poor attempt at an over-priced burger.

D- Bru....figure it out!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank adam b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
67 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Beer, burgers and fries who could ask for more!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

Located on trendy Massachusetts Avenue Bru Burgers is well worth a visit. There specialty are burgers and they do not disappoint! The bourbon burger and the fries with dipping sauces were amazing! Don't miss this great spot.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank RobLaurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing Burgers!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

This place knows their burgers! Amazing quality and a burger for every palette! They are the best kept secret on Mass Ave!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank AroundTownAshley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bru Burger Bar also viewed

 

Been to Bru Burger Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing