We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Enter at your own risk” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Motel 6 Indianapolis - East

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel 6 Indianapolis - East
Ranked #154 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
CARLISLE, OHIO
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enter at your own risk”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

Dont waste your time or hard earned money here. We had two adjoining rooms. One room wasnt cleaned from the last guest. The other had black mold on the pillow.Talked with manager
and she told us nothing was wrong with it. Also, we were told twice if we didnt like it, we could go stay somewhere else. Unfortunatly all hotels around were booked up. There was so much illegal drugs and prostitution going outside that it was hard to sleep at nite from all the traffic. In fact there was an Indianapolis policeman on patrol in the parking lot 24/7. We were informed by the girl at the desk, that there was a K-9 unit taken through all the rooms the nite before our stay. Decide for yourself. This place is absolutely run down and nasty !

Room Tip: Stay at the Comfort Inn just south of this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RICHARD P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    4
    5
    17
See reviews for
9
1
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vincennes, Indiana
Level Contributor
74 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2012

We booked this hotel last minute to be up in Indy for the Super Bowl. Compared to the other hotels who had raised their prices unbelievably, this hotel was still at normal price. We new it wasn't going to be a top notch hotel, but was pleasantly surprised with it. It was decently clean and the front desk was extremely helpful. We stayed two nights, however we were not in the hotel other than to sleep. For the price, you couldn't really beat this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hebron, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2010

We pulled up in late afternoon and the place was pretty quiet and vacant. Once it got dark though, there were cars constantly cruising through the parking lot, women walking around on the upper levels that looked like hookers, cars parked together in the back corners of the parking lot with people hanging out in them possibly making drug deals (I can't really say for sure). I observed this while I was walking my dog several times during the evening. When I would walk toward the vehicles they would observe me and leave shortly afterwards. My dog needed to go out in the middle of the night and while I was walking toward a patch of grass, I was asked for money by a women and a man that walked up to me in the parking lot. I just did not feel safe staying there. The room was clean, but the buttons were missing off of the A/C and I could only turn it to high or off. Room was run down.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank bhartle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

Richmond, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2010

I was riding my bike from Richmond, and I got a flat tire late at night. Motel 6 was the most affordable place to stay. I found the bed dirty, and all night there were Baby momma's and Baby Daddy's running around the whole motel slamming doors and stomping threw the decks... I guess it is just might as well be known as a local homeless shelter. When I woke up the guests were very filthy looking and had work clothes on. The service people were very nice, but the hotel wasn't. All they have to eat and drink are from vending machines and you have to pay for shampoo through the vending machine. I tried to make phone calls from my room's phone, and it was very confusing. I would only recommend this hotel to someone in desperate need of one like I was, if your looking for a business trip to the Wonder Bread outlet right next door, than I would suggest Rammada Inn closer to I-70. Come to think about it though, Motel 6 had very good access to I-70 with very little traffic on Shadeland. That's about the best thing I could say about the place

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bikerdude_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minibull9
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2010

Even when we first showed up it just seemed filthy but we were so tired from driving we didn't care. We just wanted a bed to sleep in and get some rest but that was far from the deal we got for the place. The price was pretty cheep but that's no excuse for the nasty stains on the sheets, the stains on the bathroom floor, the smokey air with yellow walls, ashes from cigarettes being put out on the door frames and the bed bugs. We weren't laying on the top of the bed for more than 10 minutes before we started itching with noticeable bites. Very noisy guests playing loud music, slamming doors, yelling outside our window, etc. When we finally couldn't stay their any more we called down to the front desk and they were more than happy to refund out money. He was very courteous and apologized for everything. Its better to not deal with it and go somewhere else.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank minibull9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, Mo
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2009

Our room was none too clean when we arrived but we made excuses and spent the night. The next morning found out the room was infested with bed bugs. The motel has apparently been battling them for at least a month. The management asked us if we wanted to be moved to another room, but when we said we just wanted to check out, they were very helpful, refunded all of our money and gave us quarters to wash everything in their washers. The hotel is in an industrial part of town, kind of remote with a shuttered office park next door. Better to find someplace else to stay.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kathleen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2009

The floor was so stained I didn't want to take my shoes off. The shower had beard hairs, FROM THE PREVIOUS CUSTOMER!!!! in it. We received a bar of soap, no shampoo. There were ciggarette butts all over the ground outside. The stairs and walkways needed swept.One of the rooms had an electrical fire and was in the remodeling processand we could look right in the window. HIDE IT FOR THE SAKE OF LOOKS!!!CURTAINS!!!!!! We asked for ajoining rooms and got two together but not adjoining. The adjoining room was empty. Rooms 244 & 245. My husband,our two daughters, and I were in 244 , with the unclean shower.My mother -in-law and son were in 245. This is the second time we have had a bad experience with Motel 6! Begining to think it may be the chain.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank neffml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East
0.8 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis E...
#87 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
0.8 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#100 of 184 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.3 mi away
Motel 6 Indianapolis
Motel 6 Indianapolis
#106 of 184 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-Post Drive
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-...
#107 of 184 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
0.8 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Indianapolis - East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Indianapolis - East

Property: Motel 6 Indianapolis - East
Address: 2851 N Shadeland Ave., Indianapolis, IN 46219
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #154 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Indianapolis - East 2*
Number of rooms: 117
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Motel-6, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Motel 6 Indianapolis - East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Indianapolis - East Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing