We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Terrible stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South
Ranked #72 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Crystal Lake, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2014

Upon our arrival, after check-in, we entered our room and turned on the air conditioner. It took approximately an hour before it started to cool, and didn't really cool at all. We had the janitor in our room to help who said the A/C wasn' tworking and would have to switch it out with another. In the meantime, the toilet wouldn't flush. When all was said and done, we were finally able to get to bed after 11 pm just to get up at 4 am. The toilet issue was not completely resolved; however, and we, the guests, had to use a plunger all next day in order to use the toilet because their wasn't an avaialble maintenance person until evening! Are you kidding me?

I then called Best Western after we left (no manager onsite the entire weekend), and it took almost a month for the front desk manager to tell me he couldn't do anything because I booked through Travelocity. Now I have to be compensated through Travelocity....good luck there. I wil never stay at this location again! The service is HORRIBLE.

And, to top it off, the headboard on the bed was dirty! Full of dust!

Room Tip: Do not book this location; look elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agilityk9z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aj S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
agilityk9z,

Thank you for reviewing our property.

On behalf of the entire Best Western Indianapolis South team I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
Our goal is to provide our guests with superior customer care, we have fallen well short of this goal. The issues you experienced would be incredibly frustrating and I do understand your dissatisfaction with our service. Equipment does fail, however that is no excuse for promptly handling this situation. I have discussed this issue with our Director of Engineering and our entire maintenance team. We have reenforced our training on dealing with these issues.

Unfortunately at the property level we are very limited on compensating a guest who books through Travelocity or any other "third party" booking company. I would like to discuss with you some of the few options we do have. Please contact me either via email bestwesternindysouth@gmail.com or by calling the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    94
    66
    55
    32
    23
See reviews for
108
57
13
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
jeffersonville IN, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

The hotel itself was ok. The noise that started 11:30pm and went on until 4:45am was very loud, the front desk person had to had heard this and did nothing. The breakfast food was good in the morning I did have to chase down the maid cart to get soap that would not crumble when opened. Also had to have front desk to send someone to my room to shut the ref. door, because it would not close. The freezer needed to be defrosted.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aj S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Linda S,

Thank you for reviewing our property.

On behalf of the entire Best Western Indianapolis South team I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
We do take noise issues very seriously and I have spoken to the entire front desk team regarding our procedures for dealing with noise.
I have also contacted our supplier and have spoken with them regarding the quality of their product.
I have spoken to our Director of Housekeeping and we have made defrosting our refrigerators a priority.

We do hope that when visiting Indy again you allow us a second chance to accommodate your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I always stay at a hotel with a hot tub. This facility does not have a hot tub in the pool area so the clerk put my wife and I in a room with a hot tub for an upgrade fee of course. The hot tub was an over sized bath tub with a few jets. Also, there was no bathroom mirror so getting ready we had to rely on each other for shaving and hair prep. I felt like I really got taken to the cleaners on what this room cost me.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Travis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aj S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Travis B,

Thank you for reviewing our property.

On behalf of the entire Best Western staff I would like to apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay.
It is our policy to inform all guests who choose one of our executive king rooms to emphasize the the guest that it is a jacuzzi style tub, not a hot tub. If this was not relayed to you during check in I do apologize.
We did unfortunately have a major snafu during our last round of property improvements. The new mirrors that were to accompany our new vanities were "temporarily un-locatable" (shipping company's term) for several days after the work had begun on our vanities. Due to the size of the new vanities and the fragility of the old mirrors we were forced to rent several of our rooms without bathroom mirrors. All of our rooms do have full length mirrors available. If our team members failed to explain this at check in as well, once again I do apologize.
I can understand your frustration regarding these issues.
I would like to discuss this further with you. You may either email me at bestwesternindysouth@gmail.com or call me directly at the hotel.

We do hope that when visiting Indy again you allow us another opportunity to accommodate your hotel needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014 via mobile

We checked in Friday night. The room had 2 double beds. There was a very strong odor that smelled like chemicals from a rug cleaner. Someone took their shoes off and the carpet was completely soaked. The staff got us another room and it was fine. Vending machine was out of drinks except Mountain Dew. The pool was very small, but kids didn't mind. The complimentary breakfast was good. The location seemed in a nice area with lots of restaurants nearby.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aj S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Pam B,

Thank you for reviewing our property.
We do apologize for the incident with the carpet. That room had been shampooed earlier in the day, but this had not been relayed to the desk staff. I have spoken with our Director of Engineering and we have emphasized improved communication between the departments.
Unfortunately our Pepsi delivery that week had been delayed.
The pool issue is actually an optical illusion. Our pool is a standard 10,000 gallon pool similar to the other hotels in our area, however do to our pool room being much larger that other hotels and coupled with the row of floor to ceiling windows the pool appears to be smaller. This is a design flaw that hotel ownership has taken note of and correction of this is in the very early stages.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Indy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germantown, Ohio, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

Convenient to Downtown Indianapolis and the area attractions. Plenty of options for restaurants and shopping. The Motel was was good and got a good nights sleep. I would recommend it to anyone visiting in the areas.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MARK A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aj S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South, responded to this review, June 9, 2014
Mark A,

Thank you for reviewing our property.
We look forward to seeing you the next time you visit Indy!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014 via mobile

Awesome location. Rooms were fanatic quite and very clean. Check in clerks were very helpful and friendly. Will stay here again. Sonia went above and beyond and was very professional. Housekeeping was very sweet, and accommodating.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eli2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aj S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Eli2015,

Thank you for your review of our property. We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

Our room has some severe wear. The wall heating unit - sauna or freeze. Called the front desk twice to complain that our room was filling with marijuana smoke from the neighboring room (bathroom vent??). They refused to "get involved", "couldn't prove were it was coming from" and never offered to move us to another room. We stayed here a couple of times before and saw a significant decline in customer service, room conditions and cleanliness. Will not stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aj S, Front Office Manager at BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear JB,

Thank you for completing the survey regarding your recent stay at our property.

On behalf of our entire team, I would like to apologize for not exceeding your expectations. Your satisfaction is important to us and we will be using the feedback you gave us to implement improvements to ensure we offer a better experience for guests in the future.

I hope that you will consider staying with us again so that we can have another chance to provide you with a superior experience.

If I can provide any assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me directly at 317-888-5588.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
Hampton Inn Indianapolis-South
#10 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 367 reviews
2.7 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Indianapolis South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Courtyard Indianapolis South
#74 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 96 reviews
0.0 mi away
No photo provided
Fairfield Inn Indianapolis South
#89 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 56 reviews
19.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Country Suites
BEST WESTERN Country Suites
#46 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South

Property: BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South
Address: 4450 Southport Crossing Dr., Indianapolis, IN 46237-3697
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Best Western + Iniative, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Indianapolis South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Indianapolis South Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing