We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Just Another Chinese Buffet”

Teppanyaki Grill & Supreme Buffet
Ranked #1,599 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: American
Description: Opened only this past summer
Restaurant details
Description: Opened only this past summer
Indianapolis, IN
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Not Just Another Chinese Buffet”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

In an era of Chinese buffet restaurants on about every other street corner, many with limited (and often copied) fare of questionable taste, it is nice to see one that offers great variety, good food and a clean atmosphere.
Plusses: you cannot do better in terms of variety. These are not just the standard egg-drop soup, egg rolls and kung pao chicken fare offered by other Chinese buffets, they have a good variety of items. Nothing off the top, but they blend both American fare (ribs, smoked sausage, corn fritters) with oriental fare (Thai chicken, honey chicken, peppered shrimp). The atmosphere is relaxing, the food tables and eating areas very clean. The sushi bar was well-stocked and the grill served up some delicious food with a good variety of available ingrediants. I was even impressed with the condition of the restrooms--often a low point in my eating experience at Chinese buffets. There were a few families in the restaurant on my visit but the eating area is large enough that we never felt crowded. Wait staff was very attentive, clearing dishes the moment we left to go back to the buffet.
Minuses: there were few but some items needing attention--food heat was inconsistent. Food temperatures ranged from reasonably hot (never real hot) to a bit too cool for my taste (the beef pie could have used some additional heat lamps). We did have to ask to have water refilled, and it was not a busy evening, so I could surmise that this may be an issue on a very busy weekend eating time.
Price: anytime a family of five adults can eat a buffet dinner (not lunch, but the more expensive evening meal) for under $50 is a great deal for me. Tappanyaki achieved that.
Overall: a very clean buffet with well prepared food, a great variety and a low-key family-friendly atmosphere. Needs some work on the temperature of the food, but overall an excellent value.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Curtis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    6
    4
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Anything and Everything”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I've ate at quite a few buffets and I have found that the Grand China style buffets have always had pretty great food. This one is no different. Sushi, Teppanyaki Grill and Buffet are all included in one price, which is a great deal. There is food for everyone, whether its rice, lo mein or choosing from the american bar. Salads, chicken nuggets, shrimp, sweet potatoe casserole, etc. They have everything. The food is what you would suspect, this isn't a 4 star restaurant, but everything was very good. No complaints at all as I would definitely recommend this if your ever in the Indianapolis area. It's definitely one of the better chinese restaurants!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christopher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Greatest all around buffet”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have dined here several times. Everytime we are very pleased with the food and the service. My daughter loves sushi and I love stir fry, which makes a great combination.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Crandallsplenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Key Largo, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lots of food”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Nice atmosphere in a new-ish restaurant. Lots and lots of food. Chinese buffets must get their foods from the same source. Same food items you see at most buffets. They do keep it very clean and keep rotating so you get HOT food. I was going to try hibachi this last time, but the guy working the grill was on his cell phone, so I went back to the prepared food. The ice cream was suffering from old age, but all of my Chinese food was good.

We had $1.00 off coupons from the paper and went at lunch time.

Service was good and un-obtrusive. They have changed it so that you pay your waiter now.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GingerSpringer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Another Oriental Buffet, Only Larger”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

Outside of the number of items available and the variety, it's just another Oriental buffet. Some good food, but mostly just average in quality and taste. You'll have plenty of choices, I'm just not sure you'll like them all.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PastorMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teppanyaki Grill & Supreme Buffet also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Teppanyaki Grill & Supreme Buffet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing