We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family mini-getaway”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East
Ranked #68 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
northern Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Family mini-getaway”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had a 3 night stay here for a family mini-getaway. Let me start with the positives:

When we arrived in our room, we were greeted by a "critter" on the bed (made of towels) holding a bottle of water and bag of snack chips. There was also a letter addressed to me personally welcoming me to the property and thanking me for my business. We found this to be an ideal location for visiting the Natatorium at IUPUI and the Children's Museum. There seemed to be enough parking. We did sign on to the free WiFi, which seemed to work well.

Jake and the other desk staff were most gracious and accommodating, from reservation to check in to check out. Questions were quickly answered, directions to our local attractions were provided expertly and extra towels were immediately made available. There are two "valet" carts for guests to use to tote their belongings and thankfully this five floor hotel has two working elevators! The lobby was inviting and had two computers for guest use. There were clusters of couches and chairs for lounging. Everything seemed clean.

Teresa- the breakfast goddess- was supremely proficient and kind. She kept the breakfast well stocked (first morning was scrambled eggs, biscuits with sausage gravy; second morning was scrambled eggs and sausage patties; third morning was scrambled eggs and sausage links)- and there was plenty of yogurt, hard boiled eggs, dry cereal/milk, warm cinnamon rolls, bagels, mini muffins, bread, English muffins and coffee(variety of flavors!), and juices every day. There was a "make-to-order" pancake maker that didn't seem to be in use. Teresa's most gracious kindness was working with our family's food allergies and providing an alternate protein for us. Everything was very clean and Teresa is a wonder-woman!

The King Suite- The room seemed clean and in good repair (except for a few scuffs the chair made on the desk and a tear in the shower curtain ring). The multi layer curtains blocked the outside light very well. Noise from above and next door didn't seem to come through (we were on the 3rd floor). The room had one king bed kind of off to the side. There were two FIRM and two SOFT pillows for guest comfort.

At the foot of the bed was a large multi drawer dresser, upon which the TV sat (and could swivel to view from the bed or the pull out sofa). Parallel to the dresser was the pull out couch (we did NOT open the couch). On the wall opposite the bed was a good sized desk and comfortable chair. The room did have a coffee table between the couch and TV which afforded extra storage. There were plenty of outlets for charging personal electronics.

A counter bar and two stools (a little too tall for the bar) separated the living/sleeping area from the "kitchen" space. Between the door and sink was a "closet" style space, adequate hangers and a sling for your suitcase. Bedding for the pull out couch was stashed above. The mini fridge did not have any kind of freezer compartment, but the back of the fridge was cold enough to freeze some items! The microwave was clean and worked well. The room came with a roll of paper towels. There was a small coffee maker and supplies for it -but we didn't use it on this trip.

The bathroom was clean, but navigating the space with the door open into the bathroom was difficult if more than one person was involved. The shower curtain was on a curved rod which made for lots of space inside the shower. The shower head had adequate pressure and could be adjusted to different streams. The water pressure and temperature did not fluctuate an unexpected amount during use. The tub had buttons and jets, like a spa tub. There were plenty of disposable cups and an ice bucket. It was a pleasant surprise to find complimentary Bath & Body Works products - although I found it unusual to find a bath gel, conditioner and lotion but no shampoo... there were bar soaps, too. The hair dryer was working, but it is a small appliance and did not have a lot of power. The fan was working, but didn't seem to be able to keep up with the steam produced by the shower.

We did use the indoor pool. On our first attempt to use the pool, we found maintenance replacing some windows in the "solarium" wall - so it was closed. On our second attempt, we found the pool had been well used by some raucous guests who left the entire pool area swamped by their squirt gun and splash play. There was a hotel staff collecting used towels and putting fresh towels out for guest use. Our third attempt found the pool in use but room for all. There was a shower feature on the pool deck, but it was broken.

We did not use the fitness area, but it had two treadmills and climber-type machine. I think there were free weights, too. Our floor also had coin-op laundry facilities, but we didn't use those. There was a pop vending machine on our floor and snack vending on the first floor.

This property is just off Shadeland Avenue at I-70 just west of I-465. Shadeland has typical fast food restaurants like Subway, Arby's, McDonalds and Wendy's within a few blocks south. There is also a CVS to the south. For sit down dining, you can find a Bob Evans and a Red Lobster very close by. We saw another guest carry-in Texas Road House, but I am not sure of its location.

Now, for the areas that can improve:

Despite the nice greeting in the room, it was a challenge to find which of the many drawers in the room had the hotel information/policy book. And there was no "do not disturb" placard to be found. The room also did not have a safe. And there we no trash can liners in any of the three cans (but the front desk provided them at my request).

It would be a great move by corporate to have allergy statements for their breakfast items!

When we tried to cool the room a little more, the compressor was EXCESSIVELY noisy! When we turned it back to a more moderate setting, the a/c unit was still a little noisy, but was tolerable.

The hotel's "green" policy on linen usage-exchange. There is a little card on a bedside table that instructs the guest to place the card on the bed if the guest wants the linens changed. And in the bathroom hangs a little card that says any towel on the floor will be exchanged but any towels left hanging up will be left for re-use by the guest. We did NOT put the placard on the bed and we DID leave our towels hanging. I even put the floor mat on the edge of the tub to be reused. (we did leave the washcloths on the floor). We returned after the first night stay after housekeeping had been through the room to find an immaculately made bed with fresh sheets and all of the towels in the room had been replaced! I happened to return to the room before 9:15am after the second night and encountered housekeeping in the room. She had made the bed and didn't change the sheets( per the absence of the little card) and I can verify that she didn't change sheets because she left the remote in the bed as she made it! Towels were left as we left them. Trash was removed and liners were placed back in the cans.

This is from the hotel's website:
Refreshment / Kitchen
-Coffee Maker
-Microwave Oven
-Mini Refrigerator
-Plates/Glassware
-Tea Maker

Let it be known there were NO plates or glassware anywhere in the room! (plastic cups/foam coffee cups were provided) When I asked at the desk, they suggested we use the foam plates from the breakfast area.

The tub- well, it looks like a spa tub. It has all the jets, intake and buttons for a spa tub. BUT IT IS NOT a spa tub. Be advised.

Now on to the pool- apparently, the Holiday Inn Express was being gracious and allowed guests from the neighboring property to use their pool due to issues at the neighboring pool. However, it did make for a crowded space and may have contributed to the swamping of the pool area. The pool was VERY cloudy, which indicates the chemistry was off. The chlorine was also too high (but I guess better too high than too low for the numbers of bodies using the pool). The pool shower- as I mentioned it was broken- and it should be noted that water that was trickling out was SUPER HOT- thankfully no one was hurt by it.

The 3rd floor ice maker was out of order and guests were instructed to use the 1st floor machine.

Recommendation:
This hotel was a nice stay for us, however, it isn't the type of property we typically use. If needed, we would return. This would be an IDEAL room for a couple or a group of friends.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the highway to reduce noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oggette222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    52
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
53
20
4
40
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fairborn, Ohio
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here for two nights while having tests done at Indiana University Hospital. Our room was very nice, spacious and clean. Liked that the room was divided in half with bed area and living area on one side and kitchenette on the other. Only minor thing was that the towels were very worn, but my husband likes them less fluffy!! The young man at reception desk was super nice, very helpful and had a pleasant attitude. Also very efficient in checking us in etc. We will be using this hotel again since we have to make several more visits to the hospital. Also received discounted price since visiting the hospital. Just ask for the "ProCare" rate.

Room Tip: We got the King Leisure room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teabag174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We got this suite for my son to have friends over to enjoy the basketball court and have fun. It was convenient and the staff was nice. The rooms and hallways were in good condition. The pool needs to be swept but the other than that they had a great time

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Congratulations on your son's graduation. We appreciate the feedback and are happy that you chose to stay with us. Please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerville, OH
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed the Monday after the Indy 500 so the place was almost empty. We stayed two nights. Comfy beds and pillows, big room, clean, no bugs that I could see. Fridge and microwave worked. Bathroom very clean, bathed two kids, had no icky feeling. Could use a new showerhead, and new outlets because some don't hold a plug anymore, but it was clean and quiet. The breakfast is great. We (the adults) had trouble sleeping despite the heavy curtains because we are not used to any light at all at night, but that was not the fault of the bed. Had very nice staff! I would stay there again!

Room Tip: If you have trouble sleeping with light you might try asking for the side away from the parking lot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OHMary40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate the kind words and if you are ever traveling to the Indianapolis area again, please come back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
74 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We stayed here on a cross-country trip. The hotel seemed clean and maintained. And, we seemed to be upgraded to an extra large room with a sofa, fridge, and microwave. Our request for a quiet room got us the top floor on the end, #523, so that request was honored. However, our room seemed to be off the mark. The fridge was pulled out sideways a bit, our pillowcases were wrinkled, the pillows all seemed lumpy not soft or firm as marked, there was a stain on the sofa, one pillow seemed to have a head indention, etc so that the room just seemed off even though I can't state definitively that there was. The staff wasn't friendly except for the breakfast server who made sure she chatted with every single guest.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolinainDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
I am sorry you felt your room was 'off'. Please know we strive to exceed every guest expectations. We would love the chance to make your next visit a great one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
48 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here for Indy 500 weekend and got a very affordable rate. All I ask out of a hotel room is something clean, relatively comfortable and quiet. We booked three months in advance. We alerted the hotel we'd be arriving late, and the room were were given was huge, almost suite-like. It was extremely comfortable and contained a microwave/fridge with a large counter, and opposite was a barstool counter. In planning for a regular hotel room, we felt very lucky. Staff was wonderful. It's just off I-70 and was an easy drive to downtown and the Speedway.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
We are glad you stayed here too. Please come back and see us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
116 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed here when attending the Indy 500. We had a king room which was spacious and clean. The king bed was a little firmer than our liking, it was a regular mattress, not a pillow top. Room had a desk with a comfortable chair for working. Room was furnished with a microwave and refrigerator which was very convenient. The breakfast was usual Holiday Inn express fair, breakfast room was clean and well maintained. Staff very helpful, printed us directions and information on the parade which was held on Saturday before the race in downtown Indy. Location is convenient to restaurants and shopping and the race track. The room was quiet, we were on the back side of the building and did not notice much highway noise. Easy access on and off I-70. We were on the fourth floor and enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dreamsaverz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brenda W, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dreamsaverz,
I am so glad you had a great Indy 500 weekend. Thank you for the great review and we will be looking for you next year!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
#101 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 68 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
0.2 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis E...
#92 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
Baymont Inn & Suites Indianapoli...
#129 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#97 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
6.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Indianapolis - Southeast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East

Property: Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East
Address: 7035 Western Select Dr, at I-70 and Shadeland Ave, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1763 (Formerly Hawthorn Indianapolis East)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#66 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
located on Indy's east side, specializes in outstanding guest service and immaculately clean accommodations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Indianapolis East Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites Indianapolis East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing