We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice hotel but hidden fees added up” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Indianapolis Marriott Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Ranked #23 of 184 Hotels in Indianapolis
Bardstown, Kentucky
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but hidden fees added up”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

The hotel was nice and clean. Everyone very friendly. I thought the price to self park in their parking garage was outrageous ($31 per night). Plus if you wanted internet in the room it was another $13 per day.

Room Tip: Just a thought....we were on the 10th floor and someone set the fire alarm off and we had to evacuat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    257
    344
    92
    33
    32
See reviews for
114
108
28
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Etowah, North Carolina
Level Contributor
86 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

I spent 5 nights here recently for meetings and a convention. The rooms are nice with lots of convenient features. The lobby and meeting areas are suited for large crowds. Restaurants in the hotel provide good service and have quality foods. Noise level is generally acceptable. Price is competitive for a downtown convention facility. There are lots of very enjoyable venues within 2 to 6 blocks from the hotel, including sports, museums, theaters, restaurants and a large convention center. It is safe and walkable.

Room Tip: It has more than 20 floors, so you have a big choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AgJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Missouri
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

We recently stayed at the Downtown Marriott to attend a convention. We stayed in a king unit on one of the upper floors. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable and the view from our window was nice. This is what we expected in a quality hotel. But what set this hotel apart from the many similar hotels that we have stayed at over the years was the outstanding customer service. From the time that we arrived at the hotel entrance, we found a staff that was polite, attentive and cheerful. There were simply no exceptions--and this service quality did not stop at the end of our stay. When we arrived home, we found that we had left something in the room during checkout. We called the hotel, were directed to the lost and found department, where a very cheerful man searched for our missing equipment, found it and promptly sent it to us by Fed EX. The management and staff set this hotel apart from others in its class.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RickMissouri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014 via mobile

All staff were friendly, helpful, and going out of their way!! Clean rooms, well stocked and bed was very comfy. The only negative is that walls were pretty thin. Could here conversations in hallway and voices in other rooms. Def would go back tho, very pleased :)

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
174 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

A recent summit at the Convention Center allowed me to stay at the Marriott Indianapolis Downtown. The location was superb as I was able to take the skywalk to the Convention Center, which came in handy one afternoon as there was a big thunderstorm. The rooms are very nice with a very comfortable king bed. Parking is available on-site and allows for unrestricted in and out privileges. Parking was $31/day, which seems high, but probably market for downtown hotels.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

The overall service was just horrible. From A thru Z. Front desk people just don't care. Very rude Customer Service personnel. They just don't know how to greet people. I highly recommend that the management team should send their personnel for training.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David K, Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this review, August 15, 2014
James B
Thank you for your recent comments on you stay with us. I am truly sorry that you experience was unsatisfactory during your stay.
We will use your valuable comments to train our staff in their guest service interactions to better serve our guests.
Our goal is for all guests to enjoy their stay and hope that you may be able to give us the opportunity to serve you again.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
317 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

We chose this hotel because of its location. It is connected via a walk bridge to the convention center. Then from the convention center to a large mall. You never have to go outside in bad weather.
This is a summary of a five night stay. And before I get to the annoyance part let me state that this is a fine hotel and I would return. Kudos to an outstanding concierge "Sandy", an outstanding bell captain "Johnny Law" and the most pleasant front desk crew ever.
We arrived on Saturday. Room the next day (Sunday) at 4 PM had not been made up so we called front desk. Apologies and warm response. Will get someone up there right away. Also we put in a request to have room made up in the morning. Next day (Monday, room not done again at 2:30 PM). Went down to front desk to make sure they knew that someone was in our room. "Yes, so sorry, will put you on a list to have room made up in the morning and will get someone up there right away" (they came 1 hour and 30 minutes later) so room was done at about 4 PM again. Apologies and warm response from both the front desk and the concierge.
On Tuesday to our delight the room was made up at 9 AM, and we found a nice hand written note and bag of candy from the front desk in our room (warm and apologetic). Yeah problem solved!
Guess what it lasted one day! Came back to the room on Wednesday at 1 PM room not made up, so I went back down to the front desk with the nice warm and friendly apology note that we had received the day before and reminded them of their promise to do the room early morning. "So sorry, we will send someone up right away" Room was done about 1:45 PM. That night at about 8 PM under the door came another hand written warm and apologetic note with a $50 gift card to one their in house food facilities. We left early the next morning so we were unable to use it, We returned to the front desk.
So, maybe we were asking too much to have the room made up earlier than late afternoon? But we like to stretch out in the afternoon and relax.
Every one of the staff members we talked with was always understanding and pleasant. But... as the expression goes, "when all is said and done, a lot more gets said then is done"!
Aside from this annoyance, we were pleased with the cleanliness and very impressed with the staff and access to the 18th floor lounge, stocked with snacks, breakfast and evening dessert. Everything in the lounge was excellent.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dennis w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#21 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,286 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#15 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 stars 1,174 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#8 of 184 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 stars 1,883 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Marriott Downtown

Property: Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Address: 350 W Maryland St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1051
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indianapolis Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 587
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Indianapolis Marriott Downtown is connected via skywalk to the Convention Center and Circle Center Mall, just steps from Lucas Oil Stadium and Victory Field, and a short walk to Conseco Field House. It is also home to two on-site restaurants. Guest rooms at the hotel feature luxurious linens, a mini-fridge, and functional work areas. Just 8 miles from the airport, this property also features an indoor pool, whirlpool, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your Indianapolis Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing