We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“True to the Brand”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Ranked #27 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed June 2, 2014

First off, don't be confused, there are two Marriott hotels in downtown Indy. A J.W. and this hotel.
Given that the two hotels are within two blocks of one another and this property is the closest to the convention center and downtown, opt for this location if you desire Marriott amenities and want to pay half the price of the J.W.

Rooms are typical of the brand. They are clean and the property is well kept. The bathrooms are larger than usual, as is the hanging space in the closet. All good!

However, when it comes to the staff.... listed are a few negative observations:

The front desk staff appears to think they're working at the Ritz, but they're not, and it shows. They can be a bit dismissive. When presented with my room key, I was given a severe, "Is there anything else?" It's not that the question was asked that is troublesome, but the tone in which it was said. This happened several times during my stay with various front desk staff and with various guests. Who do these "kids" think they are? Just odd how condescending they tend to be. I observed this with other guests as well. So, the front desk could use a few lessons in customer service, something that should be paramount in their function.

One of the housekeeping staff passed me in the corridor and their was no acknowledgement, even though I said, "Good Evening." This is so unlike Marriott staff. Typically they go out of their way to be helpful.

The concierge staff in the Gold/Platinum Lounge are all right. They acknowledge every guest entering, as they should. There's one young gentleman, though, who needs instruction in manners and protocol. He thinks he's on the mark, but far from it. I hope the hotel takes these concerns seriously, as it makes the difference between an ordinary stay and an exceptional one.

Oh, and one more item, while we're on the topic of the Gold/Platinum Lounge... what's going on with Marriott? The food is absolutely stingy. Whereas the breakfasts used to be plentiful, that's no longer the case, they're just so average. Tonight I went to the Lounge and found no cookies, no cake, no pie, until they seemed to reluctantly bring out a pie. Why bother with a lounge if you're not going to make it worth our while to visit? Last month I stayed in D.C. at a Marriott and the Lounge was shy, but not robber barren as it was here in Indianapolis. Marriott needs to treat its gold and platinum member better. They need to remember that we travelers have our choice of many brands.

This place has the potential to be exceptional. Right now, it's simply very good, sans some of the staff.

Room Tip: There really is nothing special about the views here. They're all "city view." No vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pillsbury1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

484 - 490 of 913 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel and central to downtown. Room was clean, wireless was good, didn't eat at the hotel except for champions restaurant, which had above average food.

It is expensive but you are paying for location and not to mention proximity also to the exhibition.

Good hotel if you want to go jogging along the river path as well.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Kinoby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel, good meeting space, good size room, gym was reasonable, friendly staff, food in the lounge bar was lovely though dishes not huge. Good internet service. Concierge lounge was open at the weekend- big plus. Minus- power outlets in the room only near desk and one side of the bed. Happy overall with my stay

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sammywidd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed here when I came into town for a business event. Room was clean and comfy. I had some room service and it was great . There are a number of restaurants nearby within walking distance. The hotel has a Starbucks and a decent restaurant. Phil and his team Keep the place immaculate.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The staff at this hotel were all very friendly and seemed happy that we were staying there. The only complaint I had was they use the the cheaper ironing boards with very little padding, may leave a waffle pattern on what ever you are ironing. We had a small refrigerator in our room that was a nice convenience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bryan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

My company held a 4 day event at the hotel. The sleeping rooms, executive level, lobby are fantastic. The food was excellent and the staff was above average. They managed the event so well I had little to do but sit and work on other projects.

The only problem we encountered was an absolutely bone chilling cold in the meeting rooms and registration area. Instructors, attendees and I were sitting around in sweaters and scarves. The HVAC system in the meeting area needs some work.

Room Tip: The rooms with lower numbers like 1201 or 1605 are at the back of the hotel and are very quiet with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brenda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Stayed at the Downtown Marriott for a week attending a conference very nice hotel. Staff were super nice, if the company wasn't paying I would most likely not stay here just do to cost. The 2 restaurants in the hotel have a nice menu. Breakfast a bit pricey $17. But there is a Starbucks in the lobby to grab a coffee. Overall and excellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AlanKlassen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#6 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,305 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,766 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#23 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#9 of 185 in Indianapolis
352 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#57 of 185 in Indianapolis
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Marriott Downtown

Address: 350 W Maryland St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $174 - $419 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indianapolis Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an ideal location, award-winning meeting venues and newly renovated accommodations, Indianapolis Marriott Downtown is the perfect retreating for your next business or leisure excursion. Equipped with expansive event venues to bring meetings and celebrations to life. For gatherings off site, our hotel is connected via skywalk to Indiana Convention Center. For guests looking to explore the city outside of work hours, Circle City Mall, White River State Park and Lucas Oil Stadium are also just walking distance from your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Indianapolis Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing