We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impeccable Service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Ranked #27 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This hotel was absolutely wonderful - so much so that I contacted Marriott directly to let them know what a great property they have in Indy. As stated elsewhere, the service is impeccable. The entire staff plays a gracious host, and goes out of their way to ensure your stay is wonderful. It seems like the entire lobby greets you upon arrival, and wishes you a good day as you leave each time, and not in a disingenuous way. The concierge lounge staff was also wonderful - so friendly, and ready to engage you in conversation (or not, if that's not your cup of tea).

The rooms are spotless, and average size, but the beds were very comfortable, and the bathroom was spacious, with plenty of counter space for your travel items. The concierge lounge has a great breakfast (both hot and cold items), as well as a yummy desserts and hearty cocktail hour snacks (you can easily make a proper dinner out of them). I didn't eat in the restaurants on-site, but they seem to be popular outside of hotel guests, so I imagine they are at least decent.

Finally, the location is great. Nearly everything is within a 5 minute walk, either indoor or outdoor.

I can't recommend this property enough. Marriott has absolutely got it right with the Marriott Indianapolis Downtown.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers face the capitol building.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eknels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you fro staying with us and we are hppy your experience was excellent! I am happy you enjoyed our staff service.

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (896)
There are newer reviews for Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

642 - 648 of 896 reviews

Reviewed November 26, 2012

I must admit the hotel is in great shape and the location is very good. The thing that angered me was that I had to pay $56 to park my car for 24 hours (not including Valet tips). We were in Indy to watch the Colts game and decided to spend the extra money to use the Valet parking and were told the cost was $35. My wife called the front desk and asked if we could leave our car until the game concluded and they said, "Yes, that is no problem at all". We then had our car brought around so we could put our belongings in before check out. Again, I asked the Valet if it was ok to leave our vehicle until the game was over, and again he simply replied "yes, no problem". When we returned, they asked how I wanted to pay the extra $21 for extended parking. They had TWO OPPORTUNITIES to inform us that there would be an additional parking charge! I thought this was VERY DECEPTIVE! If you include the tips I gave to the Valet I paid $63 TO PARK FOR 24 HOURS! I am not a negative person and write many more positive reviews than negative.

Room Tip: Do not use the hotel parking. Ask a lot of questions if you think there may be a charge involved bec...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you for staying with us at the Indy Marriott Hotel. I apologize for the poor communication by our valet staff regarding our parking rates and the cost to extend your stay. I know we were able to contact you directly to correct the misunderstanding.

We appreciate your business and thank you for bringing your problem to our attention.

We hope to see you again the next time you come back to Indianapolis.

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

Stayed 3 nights. The rooms are updated and clean. They aren't huge...but they are very nice. The hotel is attached to downtown shopping via skywalk (and a short inside walk). Breakfast buffet in the hotel was great! The staff was very friendly as well. Parking is $35 a day for valet. I booked my room on Priceline and got a great rate.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank riskmanager4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you fro staying with us and we are happy your experience was excellent! I am happy that you enjoyed our breakfast buffet and our staff service.

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is in the heart of the city. Lots of places to walk to for food and drink. This was my first stay at this Marriott. I was not disappointed. My room was big, the bed was awesome. The staff were spot on. Could not walk anywhere without them saying hello, good day, or how are you. This place must have good mgt. If you have the opportunity to be on the concierge floor, its worth it. You get lots of snacks and drinks. Breakfast will filling. I would recommend this place for a business trip or for family. Some of the restaurants i visited were: PF Changs, Webber Grill, and Ruth Chris. All within walking dist. I did a tripadvisor on each of the restaurants.

Room Tip: Try to get a high floor
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you fro staying with us and we are happy your experience was excellent! I am happy you enjoyed our staff and the location of our hotel.

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed for 6 nights and enjoyed every moment. Delivers all the functionality that you need in the usual Marriott way of doing things. Plus lovely staff that really seems to enjoy what they do. Especially the team in the bar and restaurant went out of their way to make this a great stay for me . Thank you!
The Internet connection in the room could do with an upgrade it was slow and unreliable.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
Thank Mike_Marseille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you fro staying with us and we are happy your experience was excellent! I appreciate your nice comments about our staff and especially our F&B staff.

I apologize about your poor internet experience and we will investigate to make sure everything is now working properly.

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The staff at this hotel is excellent. But the systems need attention from management. The internet connection is sooooo sloooooow as well as expensive it wasn't really possible to use it for work (i had to switch to my own mobile broadband which, of course, costs me)

I spent 20 minutes following the directions in the in-room notebook to print a file. When i went downstairs to pick it up, I was told "oh that's outdated - you need to use this different process now" ... The "new" process didn't work either. However, the person at the desk very graciously printed my file for me.

I tried to order something from the menu in the in-room hotel guide and was told they didn't have THAT but they had something else (which arrived luke warm). In the notebook it listed the service charge as $2.50 but when i got the order it said the service charge was $5.00 ... When i asked about it they said the book "must be out of date." AND, they graciously took the charge off my bill. However, the staff said they didn't know what was in the in-room information and that it was probably all now out of date.

The clock in my room had not been changed from daylight savings time and I couldn't figure out how to change it myself so asked if they could do it for me. Never happened.

AND, the soda machine on this floor is broken.

Room Tip: Bring your own internet access tools.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you fro staying with us and I apologize for some of the negative experiences you encountered.

I will investigate the poor internet service, the outdated room service dirrectory and the clock that is suppose to automatically change time on daylight savings time weekend.

Please feel free to contact me directly. My phone number is 317-405-6040.

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel is five stars. has a wonderful house keeping Team. All services available. The only disadvantage theyhave is the internet connection. very slow and inconsistent. Many times is not available or just on and off.

Room Tip: Ask for higher floorsto get a better view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lelou18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GM_Ray2010, General Manager at Indianapolis Marriott Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded November 30, 2012

Thank you fro staying with us and we are happy your experience was excellent! I am happy you enjoyed the staff service from our housekeeping team!

We hope to see you again next time you return to Indy!

Phil Ray
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,285 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,734 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#23 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#59 of 185 in Indianapolis
328 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 185 in Indianapolis
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indianapolis Marriott Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indianapolis Marriott Downtown

Address: 350 W Maryland St, Indianapolis, IN 46225-1051
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $204 - $406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Indianapolis Marriott Downtown 3.5*
Number of rooms: 650
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting an ideal location, award-winning meeting venues and newly renovated accommodations, Indianapolis Marriott Downtown is the perfect retreating for your next business or leisure excursion. Equipped with expansive event venues to bring meetings and celebrations to life. For gatherings off site, our hotel is connected via skywalk to Indiana Convention Center. For guests looking to explore the city outside of work hours, Circle City Mall, White River State Park and Lucas Oil Stadium are also just walking distance from your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Indianapolis Marriott Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing