We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent!!!!!!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Clarion Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarion Hotel
Ranked #144 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Fort Worth, Texas
1 review
“excellent!!!!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2012

we stayed there 3 days. Our room was clean, very good service. we have no complains. Everything was the way we wanted.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    25
    33
    47
    82
    119
See reviews for
117
34
25
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rantoul, Illinois
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2012

This is not your old Holiday Inn. I stayed at this property many times when it was Holiday Inn and I enjoyed that there was a Damon's restaurant right on property. I should have trusted the TripAdvisor reviews I saw on here but I wanted to see it for myself. I did. My room had a musty odor, there was black mold on the walls above the sink and shower, the windows were so dirty you couldn't see out of them, and the hallways were unbearably hot because they had the a/c turned off to save money. The complementary breakfast included runny and cold scrambled eggs, gross sausage links, and an orange drink that wasn't even as good as Tang. Warm milk and water was also available. Just walking into the pool area made your eyes burn. I honestly can't believe how bad this place is now. Truly sad. I am surprised Ramada would even put their name on it.

Room Tip: there isn't one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Wyndham Hotel Group

Helpful?
2 Thank wxbear73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Indianapolis hotels

La Habra, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

We stayed there twice because it was prepaid. The first time it was late and the girl at the front desk was pleasant. We went right to the room, turned on the air conditioner and went to eat. When we came back it had not cooled down so I opened the window. I noticed the dirty floors and a big stain on the box spring, but decided to let it go.We must have got a bad room. On the return trip it was a night from hell! Upon arrival I told the desk clerk about the air conditioner the last time and she said this room would be fine (different girl). Well the air did not work well at all and it had to be over 80 degrees (in the room) all night. I tried to call the front desk and they did not answer. I had been down there earlier and was told the housekeeping room was locked. The door lock was broken, floors filthy,room was overall rundown. There was no air in the elevators or hallways, broken ice machine.We tried thier breakfast the first time and it was terible. My husband has serious health problems and this hotel made him sick. I took about two dozen pictures of the room and will try to post them next week. My complaints were ignored. I plan on following up on this problem. Travelers should not be subjected to this kind of hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mags2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowral, Southern Highlands
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2012

All I expected from this hotel was a basic, clean room. I didn't get anything close to clean. Please read my other reviews to know that I am not someone who complains about a hotel, in fact this will be my first.

The girl at check-in was lovely. I felt terrible for her as they were doing work on the roof and the entire lobby smelt like a mix of gasoline and paint fumes. The poor girl had been working in those conditions the entire day. They had no air-conditioning in the lobby either. It smelt like that for the 2 days that we stayed there.

Our room was filthy! Filthy dirty carpet that was lucky to have ever met with a vaccuum cleaner. A disgusting bathroom with chunks of soap that the previous guest had used still in the shower recess. (maybe even the guest before them, for all I know) Those soap chunks stayed there for our entire trip. Our bed did not have a bottom sheet that fitted, it didn't even reach the top of the mattress so that under the pillows there was no sheet so it all came off during the night and we were sleeping on the mattress. Don't get me started on the mattress......It was an old, uncomfortable mattress with springs that you could feel digging into you back - no matress protector either. I told the cleaning lady the next morning and she replaced the sheet with a fitted one however she didn't even come close to running a vaccuum through the room. She also left us with no face towels in the bathroom.

The first night we decided to eat at Damon's which is on the hotel property. 10% discount if you are a guest of the hotel. Our waitress was the only decent person working in the place. The hostess was just plain rude. The bar had no stock of anything. They were not honouring coupons that people had brought into the restuarant in the way that they were written. The food was edible. Just edible, nothing more.

I'm so disapointed that I had to write a review like this but please take my word on this......find annother place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kimmybigbuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2012

I felt that this Ramada was dirty and run down. I have stayed in Many Ramadas and this is the worst one I have ever seen. As for the employees, very nice and helpful!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacqsie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2012

We had a very pleasant stay. We needed a cot for extra child and they brought it right up. The room was clean and the beds were very comfortable. We slept well.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with cheaprooms.com

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2012

Front staff unfriendly, rates change from when you make reservation, rooms smell like smoke(in a smoke free room), found a piece of glass in bed, toilet not flushed, no towels at swimming pool even when we asked several times, breakfast was to start at 7:00am but didn't open until almost 7:30. I will never stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Believe what you read in the reviews. I thought it couldn't be that bad and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.2 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#100 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
#101 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis E...
#94 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
0.4 mi away
Indianapolis Conference Center Hotel
Indianapolis Conference Center H...
#105 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Hotel

Property: Clarion Hotel
Address: 6990 E 21st Street, Indianapolis, IN 46219 (Formerly Holiday Inn Indianapolis East)
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #144 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Clarion Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 184
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Eastside location with over 6,000 square feet of banquet and meeting space. Recently upgraded to Clarion Hotel, with Choice Hotels. Inside entrance to rooms. Rooms with 2 double beds and King beds. Hotel is ideal for sports groups or school groups with indoor pool. Close to I-70 East and 465 for convenient access to express traffic. Has Full service restaurant. Deluxe continental breakfast is included with room rate. 24 hour coffee in lobby for guests. Internet and business center in lobby. Gym and coined laundry at hotel. Clean comfortable rooms, some with Microwave and refrigerator. Wonderful sport for family reunions or Holidays Parties. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Clarion Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada i-70 East Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis
Holiday Inn Indianapolis
Indianapolis Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing