We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Space”
Review of Fire by the Monon

Fire by the Monon
Ranked #53 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Local Space”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This restaurant is a little off the beaten path from the main town drag, but it was a great local find! We had a fantastic waitress who knew the menu very well. The beer was great and the food was pretty good - it wasn't the best burger or beer cheese that I have ever had, but it was definitely tasty

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jenjenattack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    41
    6
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Saugerties, New York
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Good food, excellent service.”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We recently dined at this restaurant while visiting Indianapolis. Although it was a busy Friday evening, our party of three was seated inside without waiting. The menu was varied with moderately priced entrees. The wait staff was knowledgeable and personable. All needs were expediently and politely met. All three meals were excellent. I would return to this restaurant if I were living in the Indy area. The only downside to this establishment is the limited parking in this somewhat congested area. However, it is worth the parking hassle.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rudder H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Really good food!”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our family went to Fire yesterday (Sunday) for lunch. We just happened to see it while driving by- saw that they had outdoor seating and thought we'd check it out! We ended up having to sit inside, but that was fine, too. The menu was interesting and had quite a few things on it that sounded good to all of us. Two of our group got the fish and chips, and both judged it to be excellent. One person got the fried tenderloin, and he liked it very much. I got the grilled cheese which, besides three different cheeses, had thin slices of Granny Smith apples and a rather spicy sauce on it- it was unusual, but a really good variation on a great original. The sweet potato fries were very good, also. Our table had good service, but there was a family at a table behind us that almost left because they'd been forgotten. They then got their food out very quickly, though, to make up for it. All in all, a good experience. We'd go back again some evening. Lots of nice outdoor seating available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MackinacMegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good, casual dining in Broad Ripple!”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Had lunch here and was pleased! The outdoor dining was nice and had a big canopy over it for shade. There is something for everyone here as well! I had the fish tacos while the rest of my family had the "grown-up" grilled cheese, burger, split pea soup/salad combo... Everyone's was really good! Wasn't too crowded for Sunday lunch. The wait staff was nice and attentive. Recommend the nachos for an appetizer. Each chip was individually dressed which was a nice change up for a taco fanatic! Each chipped had the perfect mixture of pulled pork, pico de gallo, etc... Definitely check it out if you've never been!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lmbarber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
“Really great food!”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I had been coming at least 2xweek since spring and today I took my husband as we are looking for a place to host around 19 people next Fri. eve.
I have had a variety from the menu, but today both hubby and I had pulled pork sliders with a side (the onion rings are rich but to die for) and we decided to change from another N.side restaurant for our family gatering! Can't wait to show those "out-of-towners" what a great place with great food and plenty of inside/outside dining space!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pobindianapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fire by the Monon also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Fire by the Monon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing