We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First experience- a little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Szechwan Garden

Szechwan Garden
Reserve with OpenTable
Szechwan Garden is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #949 of 2,347 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
indianapolis
Level Contributor
305 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
“First experience- a little pricey”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

We visited at the prompting of two friends who really enjoy this place. We enjoyed it too, but found it a bit overwhelming not knowing what to select. There was only one item that we could say was not our cup of tea. When the bill came we felt it was a bit pricey for the amount of food that was ordered. Not sure if we'll be back but was glad that we gave it a try. We also found that a bit of English was spoken.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philangie6370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    12
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Very Good Dim Sum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Not a lot of Dim Sum options in Indianapolis. Best we've found so far. This is an order from the menu place with limited hours for Dim Sum. Personally, liked there turnip cakes (best I've had); sticky rice (very good); tripe in sauce (liked, nice to have the option). Shrimp dumplings and buns were good as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Level Contributor
154 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“authentic chinese food in indy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

After trying Szechwan Garden for lunch a couple of times and not being disappointed, I thought that I and my daughter would try it for dinner while the wife was preparing for a mini-marathon the night before the race. It wouldn't be her "cup of tea" and my daughter and I love Chinese food.

The lunch time menu and experience did not prepare me for the dining menu. The dinner menu was chock full of authentic Chinese dishes. It reminded me a lot of the old Sichuan on 116th and Rangeline years ago before it changed ownership. We didn't try anything too exotic but might next time. Our chicken lo mein, pot stickers, and salted pork stir fry were very good and served in traditional heaping portions. A lot to take home for lunch/dinner the next day or two.

This is a great spot for Chinese food. If it was a bit closer to our home, we would frequent it more often. Try it. I bet you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Boilermaker_Indy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis Indiana
Level Contributor
100 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Impressed! Well worth trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Great food! Helpful and attentive service. Will definitely make a return trip. Many interesting items on the menu. Very nice atmosphere--first class operation.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HoosierSherpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Who knew there was great Chinese food in Indy?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This is one of those restaurants we've driven past for years, not really noticing because it didn't look like much from the outside, until someone mentioned going there and really liking it. Wow! I didn't realize we had such great Chinese food in Indy. A sure sign this was the real deal: We were surrounded by mostly Asian families enjoying the cuisine. On one visit, we had the sesame cold noodles, lamb with scallions and shredded pork with garlic sauce. The second time, we went in the afternoon for the dim sum, including vegetable crepe, tripe, braised beef, shrimp dumplings and red bean pudding. Everything was fantastic; portions are generous and quite reasonable in price. As someone mentioned, the dinner menu is quite voluminous, and the dim sum menu includes photos to help you avoid unpleasant surprises. And they're open rather late (10:30 p.m. Mon.-Thu., 11 p.m. Fri.-Sun.).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank btindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Szechwan Garden also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Szechwan Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing