We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“A long standing tradition of excellence” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Indiana Repertory Theatre

Indiana Repertory Theatre
Ranked #19 of 152 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Indianapolis, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A long standing tradition of excellence”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We have been attending IRT since 1980 when we bought our first season tickets. Over the years we have seen many great plays and we both agree that had we not bought season tickets we would have missed most of those plays as it is so much easier to not do something than it is to just go once you have made the commitment to buy the season tickets. A season ticket gets you the opportunity to see about half a dozen plays, some of which may be US or World premieres, spread out from the fall to the following spring. Given that it is located in the wonderful remodeled Indiana Theater with all of its history and that you get an opportunity to watch plays in two different theaters in the complex during the season, you can't go wrong with a season ticket. Plus, IRT is very flexible for season ticket holders if you need to change your showtime date due to other obligations so you never have to forgo a scheduled play. Try it, we don't think that you will be disappointed.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paul G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    17
    1
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great value plus great plays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We by tickets every year to at least 2 shows and always love it there. The theater is really nice inside with a tremendous atmosphere. Inexpensive entertainment.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ret1sg82abn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Plays in a Fabulous Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Live professional theatre in a beautiful and well maintained facility. Produces well known traditional and new plays as well as original productions. It is not a large theatre, so all seats are good including the balcony. It is within walking distance of all downtown hotels.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
71 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great locale for downtown show and dining...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

Went for a Christmas Carol, and loved the historic theatre in a great downtown location... Would definitely go back. Parking may be tricky, but you usually find street parking, but if it's busy I recommend the Mall parking deck...it's cheap and easy. Great locale

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Super Impressed by A Christmas Carol”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

So I finally made it to the IRT's A Christmas Carol production after having seen it advertised for many years. The production quality was above reproach...the staging, lighting, sound were modern in feel yet effective. The acting was A-One. The interpretation of the spirits was fresh, and creepy, at the same time. And yes, I cried. A must see for everyone!!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank happymallqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indiana Repertory Theatre also viewed

 

Been to Indiana Repertory Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing