We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience”

The Legend Classic Irvington Cafe
Ranked #145 of 2,363 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Brasil de Santa Ana
Level 6 Contributor
71 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experience”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was my last night in the Irvington area and I wanted something a little more upscale without being snooty and this was a great choice. The service was good, the wine selection excellent and the menu had something for everyone. I had the Walleye with garlic mashed potatoes and it was hot, tasty and just was I was looking for.
Highly recommended.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Costaricamommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    19
    0
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Always a good experience.”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We have been to the Legend several times over the past few years, most recently about a month ago with a group of 8. It is a clean and comfortable classy little restaurant with nice staff and consistently good food. Our table had a variety of foods from the meatloaf (which is excellent) to a duck stir fry. Everyone enjoyed their meal and had a good time. For 8 of us with tip, our total was about $175 (includes 3 or 4 glasses of wine and an appetizer but no desert). A bargain for such a nice evening.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jpb7428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, USA
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pleasant food. Casual, comfortable. Squared away experience.”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

Chose this place on a whim. We were delighted. Hardwood, rustic floors, and well-worn table tops. Nicely appointed booths, with minimalist styling touches. Subdued lighting, with street-side panoramic windows to bathe the interior from the goings on outside. I got the feeling this is run by some proud, doting owners. And that's a good thing. Waitstaff steered us exactly right. medium to large portions. Excellent value. Good, comforting food, with a crisp panache for just enough flavor to add some upscale nuance, without overdoing it.

White tablecloths on the 2 and 4 top tables. Candles on the evening dinner tables. We had the bargain-priced meatloaf and also the pork tenderloins. Not tenderloin sandwich, but pork tenderloins, good-sized, cutlet-like with hand-mashed garlic potatoes, pan seared fresh veggies, and some good wild brown rice.

Staff was very reassuring with every question and concern that we had. We will be back, and we will be bringing a large/r group in tow next time. I think of the couple of possibilities to choose from this night, we hit the bullseye. (Apologies the camera in my device did not produce better images)

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSVTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
312 reviews
209 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great local establishment.”
Reviewed May 3, 2013

Have dined here numerous times. Great food and local atmosphere. Best pan fried Walleye in town. Love it. Busy, busy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful LOCAL place to eat”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

You can park behind the restaurant (plenty of free parking). You can enter from the front or back of the restaurant. This place has great lunch specials (awesome price for PLENTY of food). Their sandwiches are awesome. The sides they offer are wonderful - and some of them are specialties you don't find elsewhere. The Jack mac and cheese is so good! The service is great. And to top it all off - you are supporting a LOCAL business that's been around for awhile and should STAY!!!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Legend Classic Irvington Cafe also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to The Legend Classic Irvington Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing