We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to eat in Indy”
Review of Mesh Restaurant

Mesh Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Mesh Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #25 of 2,358 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Mass Ave & Park
Royal Oak, Michigan
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice place to eat in Indy”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

The restaurant is located in the 'Mass Ave." area of town, which has many trendy little restaurants and bars. Located a little outside the downtown core so take an Uber car (download their app) if you're staying at a downtown hotel.

The restaurant has a nice ambiance and a good menu of updated American food. Good win list. Our service was a little slow, but friendly and helpful with menu questions.

When we made our reservations before leaving Detroit (for 9 people) they made us split it into 2 reservations and couldn't guarantee one table. But then they changed it to one reservation for 9 and had a big table ready for us when we arrived.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Betty S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

376 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    131
    35
    9
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food and atmosphere but...”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

Just had dinner at the Mesh on Mass last night. We were a party of three. The restaurant is well designed, and the atmosphere was excellent.

We had the following; New York strip - excellent, Pork chop - excellent, jumbo lump crab cakes - ok, was a little bit dry, but very tasty.

There were two main problems we encountered. Firstly the waiter twice spilled drinking water on the table when trying to pour it into a glass, and acted as if nothing happened. Also there were fruit flies all over our desert. This was shocking.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nkeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
364 reviews
254 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Classy dining in Indy”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went here with a friend and was not disappointed. After talking to several locals, this is a restaurant that came quite a few times in conversations and decided to try it out. First of, Mass ave is definitely a trendy place to be, if you are into that. And once you walk into Mesh the experience continues, service was top notch, and food was delicious. The restaurant has a nice ambiance to it, although it can get pretty loud. Overall, the restaurant provides a very good experience, at a proportional price... would recommend this place for romantic evenings.

Also making a reservation is highly recommended if you dont want to wait...

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Elegant Dinner in Indy”
Reviewed September 3, 2013

On the quaint Mass Ave, Mesh is a comfortable, elegant restaurant with a varied menu from classic entrees to sandwiches and salads. My wife and I dined with my son and his fiance and had a wonderful time. I had the filet and my wife and the cobia which was a nice fish. Good wine selection as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donschaffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent Dining in Indy”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Went to Mesh just the other night (second time), this time with a group of six, and it did not disappoint. In fact it was better than the first time, and the first time was delicious.

Staff is very friendly and eager to assist in order to ensure that you have a good time. Wine list is extensive and the beer selections aren't bad at all. Liquor list is more robust than you might expect.

Decor and seating give Mesh a lot of personality. There is a large bar downstairs and a mall one upstairs, TVs in some locations, big round tables for groups, intimate booths for couples, and each room seems to be its own restaurant, yet not so different that Mesh gives off an impression that it doesn't know who it is. It's variety, not indecisiveness. Chances are they have just the kind of table you're looking for.

Three of us partook in the "Devour Downtown" special three-course menu, and I'd say it was one of the best of its kind I've ever had - and this is after years of partaking in Chicago Restaurant Week. $30 got me three fantastic courses, and they did not skimp on the portions.

Three of us ordered a-la-carte and they were plenty happy with their choices.

The desserts were fantastic.

We are definitely going to put Mesh on our regular rotation of "nice dinner" restaurants now that we live in Indy.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chicago_Mr_B_645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mesh Restaurant also viewed

Indianapolis, IN
Indianapolis, IN
 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Mesh Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing