We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Place to Stay”

Indy Lakes Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Indianapolis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Indy Lakes Campground
Reviewed July 7, 2014

If you’re in Indy, this is the best place to stay. You don’t have to worry about security. First of all, it’s in a good neighborhood, not like some campgrounds in Indy. Secondly, they always keep an eye on what’s going on. There’s someone at the office 7/24. They have security cameras to make sure everything’s alright. Best of all, the new owner is in law enforcement. You can feel secure at this campground. We stayed at site three, it was nice and quiet. There is some road noise, but that’s more than made up for by the convenience to all Indy has to offer. The owner and staff are just delightful. All they ask is that you follow a few common sense rules. A reviewer complained about their mail. We had mail sent three or four times during our stay. As soon as it arrived we got an e-mail telling us it was there so we could pick it up. Nothing every went astray. We weren’t there for the fishing, but if you are, they’re pulling some whoppers out of the lakes. And they stock it nearly everyday. It’s fun to watch. We wouldn’t stay anywhere but here when we visit Indy.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Art-Roxanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 16 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

i have resided at indy lake for about 3 months. asked for extension was granted but when i asked about the mail i was not receiving(as i had talked with the senders who had correct address and lot number) and still was not getting mail like irs check, birthday checks and christmas packages as well as cash.they would not talk to the mail man and went on the defensive enough to where i thought maybe they were in on mail disappearance with the mail man and so i went to the post office and filed a formal complaint on mail man and that afternoon received my you are moving out notice. they kicked me out because i was wanting my mail.. do not trust this place there is a deposit for everything and even though you live there you must pay to fish. this is a shoddy run place and it stinks really bad and i mean really bad.. IF YOU ARE SMART YOU WILL GO SOMEWHERE ELSE

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Tammy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campingkingman, Owner at Indy Lakes Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

This customer accused us of losing mail for nearly 2 months. We took it seriously, I personally delivered her mail after several weeks of her saying she was not getting some mail (she was also getting some). We offered her a free private mailbox, tried to assist in other ways such as online, email, proof-of-delivery, etc. She would not do any of it, she wanted her mail hand-delivered daily. It was hand delivered to her boyfriend who was always home and she was not. Finally, she said it must be the U.S.P.S. mailman stealing the mail and she filed a formal complaint against him. This was ludicrous, and coupled with her hostile German Shepherd that she could not keep quiet, we asked her to leave at the end of her month (about 2 weeks notice). It's worth noting we get piles of mail daily and NO complaints of any missed mail for as long as I can recall.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The "lakes" are just holes in the ground that look like thew place may have been some sort of gravel pit at one time. ( who knows) Yes there is fishing , If you don't mind dark green dirty water. and the Fish are put in... not natural. there is no inlet for fish to come in or go out of the waterholes they call lakes. The camping is less than "stylish" gravel sites with RV's close together, There are no amenities,,no play park for children , no pool, the laundry is inside the store and is quite expensive at $1.75 per wash and $1.75 per dryer. you have to walk the whole length of the park to put Garbage in their garbage can's.
you must sign a paper and give them a $20. deposit on an emergency gate remote, for when the power goes out. The silly thing is, that it's not needed anyway because there is no barrier across the entrance, it's broken. The public is allowed to come in and pay to fish too. there is no security at all. The RV park is open to the road and traffic goes by constantly. and the worst is. The poo poo plant right across the street from the RV park, and when the wind is right the smell is overwhelming.

Room Tip: Don't take your nice RV there find another nicer place to stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank kanukgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
campingkingman, Owner at Indy Lakes Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2013

I am sorry this customer was unhappy and for this late response as we had no word from her. Our security gates were open during her stay as we have a Manager on duty 24 hours during the summer. The remote control is in case of emergency, fully refundable. The sewer plant operation is a rural and distant operation NE of us, but they are good and quiet "neighbors" that covers probably 1 or 2 square miles total. The smell can occur during a high NE wind, but less than 10 days per year, and with recent water plant improvements, is nearly zero days per year. Our lakes are 1950's gravel pits and we are the best pay-fishing lakes in the business operating nonstop since at least 1957 - we stock 2 to 3 times a week from March until October with daily fishing contests. Our big rig lots are 30'x60' or bigger.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

The place always is improving its services. Wi-fi that works well, and more importantly fast, a well-stocked bait shop, and new lodges that are really nice, this place definitely focuses on making their clients' experience nice. Sure, the place might not be a place to get crazy at, like it seemed the one reviewer was looking for, but for finding a place to park, it gives so much more. I was just overall impressed by it. Plain and simple.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mark C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

enjoyed our stay and would stay there again when in the area. very helpful in many ways

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barbara P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2011

We enjoyed our stay and trip. We went to the IMS Museum. This campground provided lots of destinational areas to visit and was very helpful in the office on directions.
At check in we were provided with all their rules and regulations. We have never actually received a list of rules of the campground at other places we have stayed.
Our site was a concrete pad and patio which was really nice. It was also nice to have a lake side view. At night, you could see lanterns lit up around the lakes. It was very quiet and peaceful. We also watched as security walked around the lakes and campground to check tickets and noise levels. They do although enforce all their rules. So we suggest (as we were referenced), to read our waiver we signed. We were able to pick up our satellite signal with no problems. We did use their wi-fi and surprisingly we had no problems with it. All around we really enjoyed our stay and our trip to Indianapolis. They do charge for showers and the facilities were very clean and we did not run out of hot water (major plus). The only bad experience we had was with the flies. So take bug spray.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SandraOW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2010

We pulled into the campsite and realized that it was just a big graveled parking lot. They are not interested in your stay there if you are a camper. My husband and friends were talking to a Man and his mother while the two of them were fishing. (they were there as paid fishing customers). We invited them over to the camper for dinner. They were there just a short time and dinner was not quite ready when the owner came walking over right about 8:00 and told us to turn our radio OFF (it was already low) and said that we were not allowed visitors. We thought that since they were already paying customers of theirs there wwould be no problems. We told them that they were leaving as soon as we were done eating. He was very rude in front of these people and said that they were not supposed to be there that it was in the rules. (they were ALREADY paying customers). Then he said he was going to stand there and wait and the music was to be turned off and no more talking. How is this even close to relaxing and camping? The next day we checked out and on our bill there was an extra fee of $6.00. We asked what this was for and we were told that it was because we had visitors at our campsite! How pathetic and rude can you be. We will never be back there again! The people were very rude and it was just a horrible experience all the way around! We will be letting people know that if they want to be treated like children and go to bed at 8:00 this would be the place to go. It was a very unfreindly atmosphere and the people are very bad proprietors.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
15  Thank kaykay16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IndyLakes, Owner at Indy Lakes Campground, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2011

These guests were rock and rolling at 11 p.m., not 8 p.m. They also had 2 guests that were unreported and unpaid. I, as the owner, personally told them to shut the radio off as it was disturbing those around them, a rule violation. They were quite rude and uncaring of any others around them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,876 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#5 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,385 reviews
Castleton
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis
#71 of 186 in Indianapolis
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,520 reviews
Castleton
Suburban Extended Stay Northeast
Suburban Extended Stay Northeast
#110 of 186 in Indianapolis
68 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Indy Lakes Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Indy Lakes Campground

Address: 4001 W Southport Rd, Indianapolis, IN 46217-9321
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Specialty Lodging in Indianapolis
Number of rooms: 1

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing