We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive....but a very nice hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #7 of 185 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We stayed at the JW Marriott for our wedding anniversary recently. It is a very pricey hotel, however it is also a very classy hotel. We had access to the executive lounge on the 31st floor which provided us with a lovely breakfast (eggs, bacon, oatmeal, danishes, meats/cheeses, yogurt). There are also times throughout the day in which they provide horderves and sweet treats. We went for the "sweet treats". I was expecting just cookies...however they had a grand assortment of cakes, thick monster cookies, and other items. The hotel is very clean and the staff professional. It is within walking distance to dining locations, Lucas Oil, Victory Field, the canal. We had a view that overlooked the White River State Park....while it was great (especially on 31st floor), I would have preferred to view the city. No big deal though.
My only complaints 1) No hand towel rack (except in the shower) 2) no exhaust fan in bathroom 3) the thermostat brightly glowed all night which I found annoying (I'm weird though and have to have a room pitch black to sleep)

Room Tip: State your preference if you want a view of White River State Park or downtown Indy. I highly recom...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank indygirl8451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We appreciate your post and your feedback. We do have roof top exhaust fans, and I will have our engineering team check to make sure they are in good working order. Again, it was our pleasure to have you with us, and congratulations on your anniversary. Best wishes for the future. Phil Ray, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,285)
There are newer reviews for JW Marriott Indianapolis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,287 - 1,293 of 2,285 reviews

Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

What a great hotel. This place had the best service I have ever experienced. From the time I pulled up until the time I left the staff was amazing

I had a room in the 20th floor that was beautiful. It was modern and very comfortable. The view if the city was great too.

I ate at both the restaurant and bar and was very pleased with the food.

If your in town do not stay anywhere but huge JW!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
Thank Gary2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your great review, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Phil Ray, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Went to Indianapolis for two reasons. An anniversary getaway and to watch the inaugural Indy GP. We chose the JW for a little better experience and they went over the top. From the friendly valet, the front desk, the room, the view. I could go on and on. Great location, fantastic staff, clean comfortable rooms. What a home run. We will stay here again. Thanks for making our anniversary a special occasion.

Room Tip: We had an upper level room with a view of the city. At the end of the day it was nice to sit back...
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rabbott5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your post, and I'm happy to see you enjoyed your visit. I will share your comments with my team. I also want to personally congratulate you on your anniversary and best wishes for the future. Phil Ray, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I stay at this location annually for the Interactive Intelligence conference. Rooms are great and the conference facilities and staff are wonderful. Location is also interconnected to other Marriot hotels on the same block and across the street so if your convention is here and hotel is fully booked check into renting a room at a neighboring hotel for possibly cheaper rates and easy access.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jared M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We enjoy having you with us, and I will look forward to your next visit. Phil Ray, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

I have stayed at the JW Marriott on several occasions while visiting Indianapolis. The structure itself it spectacular and is only trumped by the level of service provided by the staff. The rooms are clean and modern. They have a cutting edge TV system that greets you by name, allows you to take advantage of front desk services (including check-out), browse the weather, see a guide of channels and browse local attractions with the remote control. The location is great for access to the canal, museums. It's a few blocks out from the rest of the hotels from downtown attractions, but still a very short walk. The only downside is parking, which is tough to get to and expensive. You can park in the garage across the street (convention center) and use the skywalk to enter the property for a lower rate.

Room Tip: Get the highest floor possible. The views are spectacular on both sides (parks vs downtown)
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank abofreeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

We appreciate your post, and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. I am sorry for the issue with your parking and the surprise about the price. We try to stay competitive with all the full-service properties downtown to make sure it is a fair value. We hope to see you again soon. Phil Ray, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

As part of weekend trip for Indy Race Experience (drive, ride IndyCars on the Speedway), stayed at this very good Marriott property located in downtown Indianapolis.

The Hotel: Larger (34 Floor), very nice property located within walking distance of Lucas Field and other Sports venues, including the Minor League (Indianapolis Indians) filed across the street. Modern, upscale decor in Lobby, with two restaurants on Main Floor - Osteria Pronto, an upscale Italian restaurant, and High Velocity, a large Sports Bar & Restaurant. There is also a large, very nice Lobby Bar - at which you can also order from Osteria Pronto. There is a small Gift Shop (incl soft-drinks, snacks, sundries) next to concierge at end of front desk. Facilities were newer and in good shape.

The Staff: Uniformly excellent. The Valet was excellent, well staffed, prompt, friendly. Junairah, at the front desk was also excellent - recognized Platinum Elite status, accommodated room change request, offered directions and overview of restaurants when asked. Later, inquiry on schedule of Minor League team yielded schedule and game time for weekend games. Restaurant staff (below) was prompt, warm, excellent. Room Service staff similarly was fast, friendly, very good.

The Room: Took King Rm on 33 Floor, facing downtown - great view out floor-to-ceiling windows of city skyline. Recommend both high floor and certainly view of City of view of river, park to the West. The room has modern, fresh decor. Well appointed, with King bed, upholstered wing-back style chair, desk, flat screen HDTV, safe in dresser drawer, robes, etc. Bathroom featured newer decor, well lit, with branded sundries (shampoo, conditioner, lotion, soap), plush towels, and nice large, modern shower with glass doors. Excellent room.

The Practicalities: King Room was $259 / night, excluding tax, etc.


The Food:

Osteria Pronto - Italian Restaurant @ JW Marriott

The Place: Upsclae Italian cuisine, with entrees range from 20 to 35, including antipasti, zuppe/insalata, pizza, pasta, and entrate. For more relaxed vibe can also order the same menu from in the large and very comfortable Lobby Bar (booths, high-tops, sofas, counter).

The Food:
App - Beef Carpaccio, rocket, shaved parm, excellent
App - Calamari was very good
App - Crab cake with portabella on greens, solid; tho a bit of odd, sharp aftertaste - would not likely order again over others
App - Tuscan Meatballs, tomato sauce, cheese, grilled crostini, with meatballs in small cassolette (Le Creuset) that looked great, tho did make eating difficult - Very good, if not great, dish.
Main - Spigola (Sea Bass), with spinach risotto, roasted tomato. Excellent. Fish had nice sear, and perfectly (just under) cooked, great juice, texture. The risotto was was a surprise, very good, right consistency, not too stiff, with very good flavor.

The Service: The service very good, attentive, very friendly, warm, excellent. Kudos to Jessica.

The Practicalities, $94, sans gratuity.


High Velocity - Sports Bar / Restaurant @ JW Marriott

The Place: Large sports bar, often with good crowds in evening. Several flat screens at bar and throughout space. Large windows, open, good feel.

The Food:

App - Potstickers, good, if a little overcooked (seemed grilled?)
App - Tandoori chicken wrap, with butter lettuce, pickled cucumbers, carrot, bean sprout, cilantro, mint chili sauce, was very good. Would order again.
App - Fish tacos, Mahi, and chipoltle sauce a little too reminiscent of thousand island dressing, but nice bite of sriracha, greens, doubled corn tortillas (owing to amount of sauce, liquid assume). Tasty. Messy. Filing. Main - Chimichurra steak, flank steak, potato croquettes, steak nice marinade. Meat was cooked just a touch over, but great flavor. The croquettes nicely crisped, by not allot of flavor, and way too much in proportion to beef. Good.

The Service: Good.


Room Service - IN Room Dining in JWM

Service: Good speed on delivery of breakfast.

Food: Food was hot, well prepared, as promised. Tried bacon two ways (recommend crispy), waffles, toast, etc. - all solid


Other: Suggest taking in a game at the Minor League Indianapolis Indians Minor League Field - greatly enjoyed warm spring evening game (Indians versus Toledo Mud Hens) right across the street. Very nice Minor League field with outfield grass seating. Also, suggest the Eiteljorg Museum across the street on opposite side, with a nice Western collection (e.g., paintings and sculpture by Georgia O’Keeffe, Remington), Native American collection (with artifacts from native people from Alaska to Mexico, Atlantic to the Pacific, including very cool Plains, Northwest and Far North artifacts). Was also a nice Ansel Adams exhibit (not permanent).

Room Tip: Suggest high room (30th Floor or above), facing downtown - great view out floor-to-ceiling windows o...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_from_MN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your post and I'm happy to see that overall you enjoyed your visit. Please be assured that I will share this information with my team to provide them feedback. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Phil Ray, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I stayed at the JW for a conference/meetings. I called the morning of my arrival and requested and early check in. The hotel was able to accommodate. I also requested a room on a high floor and far from the elevator, and, again, the hotel was able to accommodate. Off to an excellent start.

My room was on the corner and there were floor to ceiling windows. I had an great view of the minor league baseball stadium on one side and a city park/river on the other. The room was spacious, clean, and modern. The TV was HD and there were plenty of plugs for my electronics.

The bathroom was also very nice. There was a glass shower door and multiple shower heads.

Lobby was nice and sleek, and the hotel is about 3 blocks from many excellent restaurants including St. Elmos, a famous Indy steakhouse and worth the walk.

My only complaint is the internet service was weak. I could get to my emails but was frequently dropped. I was told my room was in a bad location for internet. That said, I liked the room and this was not a big deal but rather a minor annoyance.

I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Corner room had a great view. If there is a ball game, request a room that overlooks the park.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phil R, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2014

Thank you for your great comments about your visit. I also want to apologize for the problem you experienced with the Internet and will speak to my IT Manager in this regard. We will do our best to see that this situation is corrected. Phil Ray, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,461 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#16 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,411 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 185 in Indianapolis
2,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 185 in Indianapolis
1,734 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#27 of 185 in Indianapolis
896 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 185 in Indianapolis
348 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $197 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at what Condé Nast Readers voted as the Best Hotel in Indiana. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 105,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the Marriott IndyPlace hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity and Osteria Pronto. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Banker's Life Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing