We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best hotel in Indy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best hotel in Indy”
Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

Great bar, awesome gym with pool, great food and the best location. I love this hotel ! The decor is great and very modern. Not only is the bar great but there are 2 on-site restaurants. I was here over the summer and then a few months later during the week in January 2014 and this was the place to be!.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AliHig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
We certainly appreciate your continued patronage, and thank you for your feedback. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,184 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,487
    458
    157
    49
    33
See reviews for
287
388
43
1,137
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (705)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 258 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

The Good: Comfortable beds, good service in High Velocity restaurant, convenient location.
The Bad: Although friendly, simply not enough car valets on duty at noon. Every year we stay here, every time we ask for our car on Sunday at noon, every time it's an ordeal. C'mon, JW Marriott, staff up during these peak hours. The valets are hustling, but it took 30+ minutes in 0* temps to get my car. Also, my folio showed phantom charges for daily internet, including two charges for the SAME day--called front desk, I was hassled and asked if I had perhaps signed up twice. Really? Not possible I said--I didn't even arrive at the hotel until late in the evening, went to the lobby hotel for and hour, then went to bed. Person did not fix, but at check out a much more helpful person took care of it.
Net-net: Maybe I will stay here again, maybe I will try the newly renovated Westin next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you experienced with your bill. I was glad to see that the front desk agent corrected this before you checked out. I will also speak to my valet manager regarding your departure experience. We will take steps to correct our shortcomings, and you can be assured that we will use this information as a training tool for our associates.
Again, we appreciate your visit and hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We went downtown Indianapolis for a weekend trip and wanted to try the JW Marriott. It did not disappoint. We were able to get a room with a view of the city which was very nice. I was a little worried that we would hear alot of road noise at night but we didn't. The hotel is attached to most of the attractions of downtown Indianapolis - Lucas Oil, convention center, Circle Center Mall. I felt safe in the room - you must use your room key to access the room floors. One word of advice - if you park your car in the garage don't forget to take your room key with you or you will have to pay to get out of the garage.

Room Tip: The higher the better - city view for sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busaamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 31, 2014
Thank you for your post and I'm glad to see you enjoyed your visit to Indy and the JW Marriott. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

I am currently staying at the Hotel, not by choice. If I can, I would check out and go else where but the conference that I need to attend is being held here. First impression when I walked in was nice, people seems nice and helpful, but that seems to ends there. Me and my husband ordered room services, which wasn't deliver until 2 hours later with at least 3 phone call screaming. The person who delivered the food said "this is complimentary," excuse me! The foods were cold and taste disgusting...we ordered Chili and Friend Shrimp Mac and Cheese. Chili, the cheese were hard/not melting; Friend shrimps were soggy, I can go on. Then a few days later, TV cable were out for almost full day. When I asked for compensation, none were offered until I had to "scream" at the receptionist, as if we stayed for free. The room was and IS filthy. I don't know how the cleaning person trained, but my room furniture very dusty, sheets has not been change for days unless request (which I was told it'll be change every 3 days-wrong). I have been here for almost 2 weeks already and the sheets were changed once when I requested them. By the way, if you're not on the cleaning list you can just wait and wait. In other hotel or even motel; shampoo, conditioner and lotion are complimentary and replenish daily-not here. You need to call and ask for them. Expect to be treat like 2nd class citizen or as if you're begging to stay here despite how much you've to pay. My advice, go to Hilton or something...it's only a few blocks away!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venus V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and please accept my sincere apologies. I have sent you a separate message and hopefully we will have the opportunity to talk. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014 via mobile

Visited over long weekend in January for a cheer comp taking place in the convention center. Great how they have planned the downtown around the hotels and convention center and mall with skywalks so that you don't have to go out in the weather.
The hotel was very pretty, big lobby with views into the lobby bar and restaurants. Since we were traveling with a group we should have requested rooms near each other but neglected to do so at check-in. This made it a little inconvenient for the girls to move between rooms because different elevators serve different levels. The rooms were very nice, albeit small considering we had 2 adults and 2 teens in a room (although very thankful for queen beds) especially because they are a lot of accessories that go with the being a competitive cheerleader. Beds were fine (note: I'm extremely critical of beds and most would likely find them exceptional). Linens very nice. Bathroom was large and towels were plentiful. Robes were available, a plus on my list. We didn't spend much time using the facilities within the hotel but did order room service the last morning. Prompt and above average for breakfast food; price commensurate.
The thing that stands out in this hotel for me was the staff. Everyone, and I mean everyone, I came in contact with from the valet to the front desk, bellman, room service, even the ridiculously busy girls working at Starbucks provided wonderful service with a smile. I suspect we will return next year for the same competition and I look forward to returning to the JW.

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank KLS94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. We certainly enjoyed having you with us, and we'll look forward to your visit in 2015...if not before. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 28, 2014

I am currently staying at this hotel - I would check out but my conference is being held here. I am paying for a 2 week stay and I am elite member- The lobby is nice and some staff are pleasant.
However --- the room is not as clean as one would expect. The glass desk was dirty / I actually cleaned it myself because it was sticky, dusty, and seemed like someone spilled juice all over it. The bathroom not so clean either. Every where I turn I see dust. I picked up the tourist magazine and it was FULL of dust - I had to wash my hands and clean off my pants. I was so shocked at the amount of dust in the room.
I ordered room service - they forgot my juice / no problem but I called to ask if they can bring it up - they brushed me off at first then he said ok I will send your juice up / and guess what ? My juice never showed up!!! I was so upset that I just let it slide. But still on the back of my mind.
Also I noticed that they charge my room per night each day I am staying. Normally a hotel gives you a final itemized bill which you can review - I found this very odd. So basically I am being charged daily - without some type of receipt for me to review.
I am praying the rest of my stay turns out better.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phdtravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Please accept my sincere apologies for the problems you have incurred. This is not typical of our team. I would love to personally speak with you at your convenience. Feel free to reach me at 317-860-4911. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed January 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the JW Marriott Indianapolis when we visited the city for a Pacers game. I make it a point to stay at Marriotts anytime I travel, but I have to say that this is the best experience I have ever had. Of course with it being a JW Marriott, you have certain expectations for the hotel's cleanliness, quality of the room, etc. but what I really think sets this property apart from other great hotels I have stayed in is their excellent customer service. Customer service just isn't valued as much anymore, and it doesn't matter how little or how much you spend either. It's nice to know that this hotel recognizes the importance of not just a nice, clean and comfortable room but also the importance of awesome customer service. I have to say I have never had anyone physically walk to the elevator with me, push the button and ensure that I had everything I need for a great stay, including offering me a 2pm late checkout when I was just hoping for a 1pm. Thank you for a wonderful experience!

Room Tip: All rooms are great, I think the higher rooms are the best, awesome view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 29, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. It was certainly a pleasure having you with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,381 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,601 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing