We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could not have asked for better service -”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #5 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Pittsburgh Area
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Could not have asked for better service -”
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Stayed here for a cheer competition at the convention center. Location is perfect and indoor walkway is convenient and safe! We at the sports bar twice - once for lunch - and one time we ordered food to go (due to 40 min wait time for a table). Ordering food to go was perfect and convenient. It was ready with 10 minutes. We are NOT complaining about the table wait time - it was after the competition - so there was just a flood of folks that came in all at the same time.

The room - perfect. Ever staff member with whom we interfaced was polite, helpful and friendly. There were SO many folks checking in at the same time for this cheer competition - and they kept everything moving VERY quickly.

Definitely - a high end service facility. LOVED IT.

Room Tip: Did not hear anybody complain about rooms and/or location. Ours was lovely - quiet, clean and large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your comments. We were happy to be a host for the cheer competition, and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit to the JW and Indy. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,206 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,502
    462
    160
    49
    33
See reviews for
291
397
44
1,143
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

This Hotel is very nice. I stayed on the Concierge floor and I have nothing but compliments about the food, service and quality of the room. The hotel is located only a block or so away from all of the downtown restaurants. It's a great location.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travellwell123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. We'll be looking forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Racine, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

As a Silver Elite member, I frequent Marriott properties on a somewhat regular basis. I was very impressed with the quality of this room. Believe it or now, the TV channels were my biggest concern. I wanted to watch Fox Sports 1 & Fox Business and my TV had both channels. The bed was comfortable, the room was well-appointed and the Kohler-equipped bathroom with auxiliary shower nozzles was a welcome perk. The staff was friendly and professional. The only annoyance was having to use my hotel key to access my floor going up, although I understand the security consideration.

Room Tip: I was near the elevators, but didn't notice any issue with noise. I also had a nice view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
It was great having you with us and I appreciate your feedback. Be assured that I will share this information with my team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

Of all of the hotels that I have stayed in this one blew me away! The service is excellent from the time you get out of your car to the service in the bar and restaurants. Truly, this is how all hotel service should be measured. All staff are extremely friendly and helpful at any time. The room was on the street side so we did not have the fantastic views on the other side. Bar service was fantastic, as we had probably the friendliest waitress I've had the pleasure to meet. The proximity to the Lucas Oil football stadium is just a couple of blocks away. To me, it does not get any better than this for a hotel!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank prairiephyre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you so much for your feedback. We enjoyed having you with us here at the JW Marriott, and we'll be looking forward to your return. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

After a glowing review of another favorite Indianapolis property...many people suggested I try the JW Marriott. So on this latest trip to Indy...I did just that. Initial impressions are very important and I wasn't disappointed. I was very pleased with my greeting. The valet was very quick and friendly. What really was special was being greeted at the front door and then escorted to the individual reception desks where the same greeter seamlessly checked me in. Well done! I had reserved the concierge floor with access to the lounge as had been recommended on this site.
Let's get it out of the way that I'm not always a fan of such large properties with endless hallways connected to convention centers. My business trips don't revolve around large group meetings. But if you were here for that purpose, it would be a very comfortable, place to stay. And my rating reflects this.
The rooms were very attractive, not huge with good lighting and a very comfortable bed. A modern, well equipped but modest sized bathroom...all a bit surprising considering they had quite a bit of unused space in the main part of the room. . Perhaps space for a rollaway near the floor to ceiling windows or multiple suitcases by the closet. I think I could have done a better job laying out the space....a sofa instead of the one chair perhaps. Again.....it’s a convention property which I would imagine caters to single travelers. There goes my rollaway idea.
The lounge was a winner with a few critiques. I would come back to the hotel just for Kiya and Lauren . They were friendly and gracious and took care of each guest with warm hospitality. Now if they could only do something about the cafeteria lighting and the lack of complimentary wine or beer. Perhaps I'm confusing the JW Marriott concierge floor with a Ritz Carlton concierge floor. I just don't recall wine being 7 dollars a glass. (Thank you for the generous pours ladies) The food preparations were very nicely presented (think Beef Wellington Puffs in chafing dishes or Cous Cous bites on a ceramic spoon) with a nice variety. Even more reason the charge for wine seemed out of place.
The workout facilities are the equivalent of a big city gym. A +. Another reason to come back.
The Lobby bar...even back late from an outstanding dinner at nearby Bluebeard, was packed! Bottom line.....even if I would choose a smaller property next time...the JW Marriott is doing something right!

Room Tip: City Views through the floor to ceiling windows are very good at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Renztem13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for your great feedback. I truly appreciate your kind words about Kiya and Lauren and I will share your kudos with them. I do understand your comment about the wine and beer in the Executive Lounge and wanted you to know that it is against state law for us to give away alcohol. Again, it was a pleasure having you with us, and we hope to welcome you back when you are in Indy. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2014

My husband and I stayed here over the Christmas holiday and we had a wonderful time! I cannot say enough about the staff. They were so kind and friendly, they took care of all our needs and at times went above and beyond what I would expect from hotel staff. We stayed in a king bed room on the concierge floor, (24th), and our room was very large and had a beautiful bathroom which had a very modern shower. The room was perfect, great views of the river. Every morning they have a buffet breakfast, which was great and the staff was once again, excellent. We also ate in the Velocity restaurant a few times while we were there and really enjoyed it. Velocity is a real sports fan's place, we had a tv at our table with some game playing every time we ate there! The location of the hotel is a few blocks away from the circle and most of the city's restaurants. But it is very close to the NCAA, Lucas Oil, and the Riverwalk. We highly recommend this hotel, staff is just fantastic!

Room Tip: Staying on the concierge level is a great perk!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaiaLaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for staying with us here at the JW Marriott. We certainly appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2014

Good but not great? Let me tell you why….First of all indy needed this hotel as you pull up you see this big blue grand looking hotel in a perfect location….Indoor parking good, check….Lobby good/grand/nice check….staff nice/helpful/extra helpful…check…snack room and lounge room very good...Room.. great view, but overall nice but not for the price….hotel was loaded for the colts game so they messed up our room and gave us a discount but price was still high for indiana!….if you ever stayed in a westin, the room was about the same. We are star wood members so we were giving JW a try. I was not wowed by the room at all. I was wowed by everything but the room, so thats why not the five star rating….we will stay in another JW but only when a deal is available if there ever is one. Didn't get to see pool, workout room etc...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Playerham42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments and I appreciate you taking the time to let us know of your visit. I am sorry we did not meet your expectations with regards to the actual room. We do have a great fitness room if you ever return.
With regards to price, we often run specials throughout the year. They can be found on our website. I do hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence in our facility. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#15 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,256 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,396 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,481 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,411 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 180 in Indianapolis
334 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing