We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Memory of a Lifetime, Engaged at the JW Marriott”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Rota, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Memory of a Lifetime, Engaged at the JW Marriott”
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I'm in the US Navy and started a relationship right before going to Afghanistan in 2012. Our distance relationship worked out and the first place we stayed, upon my return from the Helmand Province, was the JW Marriott in Indianapolis. Since we're both from North Central Indiana, I couldn't think of a better welcome home for both of us. Still on Active duty, she and I maintained our relationship through distance over nine months. When I decided it was time to pop the question, I knew that the JW Marriott had to be involved somehow. I contacted the General Manager, Mr. Blalock and explained my situation and he was eager to help. He put me in touch with his Marketing Manager, Julie Howell and we went through ideas for the proposal. When the day arrived, Julie and I had already planned a ruse to keep the future Mrs. from suspecting I was up to anything. Thanks to plans that night, I already had my uniform on and she was dressed up. Julie had coached the staff to be on the lookout, so when we walked in, David, at the front desk, called us by name and gave us the VIP treatment. After we checked in, Julie approached us and perfectly told the story we made up in order to lure my future fiance outside to take a look around the city. Julie had enough foresight to ask for our camera phones so we could get pictures dressed up with the cityscape in the background. As we walked along together enjoying the beautiful day, I paused to look around. I then pulled the box out of my pocket and took a knee. The look on her face was sheer joy and she said yes. One thing I was never taught was that I was supposed to actually put the ring on her finger, I thought after asking the question I was done until I got to say "I do." I put the ring on her finger and we came back into the hotel being greeted by smiles and congratulatory remarks from the staff. The lobby of the hotel looks majestic on it's own; but being cheered by the sharp dressed employees, while already on an emotional high, walking in there was beyond explanation. We had a room with an AMAZING corner view and felt like royalty.

I will remember this hotel the rest of my life. It was a wonderful experience when I stayed there the first time, not knowing anyone. It was a mountain top experience when the staff helped me pull off a beautiful marriage proposal. Any romantic at heart would love the JW Marriott for a special occasion!...

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Pete: It was our pleasure to be part of your special day. Thank you for serving our country, and I'm glad we were able to make this a memorable experience for you. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,534
    473
    165
    49
    35
See reviews for
309
404
47
1,160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (721)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgewater, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 17, 2013

Solid Hotel, great service, close to everything in the heart of downtown and Lovely view from the high floors.

Low floors aren't the best and late check-in sometimes fills up all the high floor rooms.

My first choice for staying in Indianapolis downtown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank quantgeek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and I will share this with my team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

This was my second time staying at the JW Marriott; once again, attending a conference being held at the hotel.

I have to say it really is quite difficult to fault this place. What struck me most was the fantastic and friendly customer service: everyone I dealt with, from check-in to bar staff, were absolutely first class (the lady on room service even sent my friend a fruit basket to her room for being "so delightful" when ordering her dinner!!!)

The rooms are a good size, with super comfortable beds, and they have everything you need for a pleasant stay. Special mention should also go to the food, at the hotel restaurant and room service, which was of a really high quality (some of the best Eggs Benedict I've ever had!)

The only thing that jars, in a hotel of this size and quality, is having to pay for Wi-Fi every day! This is quite frustrating if you're staying for business (which I'd imagine a lot of guests are). Just feels a bit anachronistic in 2013!

Overall though, a big thumbs-up for the JW Marriott!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KevHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your post, and I will share this information with my team. I do understand your comments about the wifi and wanted you to know that we are required by Marriott to follow their standards so there is consistency within the brand. Currently they do have a fee at their full-service properties. To give our guests an option, we offer complimentary wireless in the lobby and restaurants. Be assured that once this policy is changed, we will change it here at the property level. Again, I appreciate your feedback and hope to welcome you back in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naperville, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2013

If you are interested in staying near the White River State Park and the Indianapolis Convention Center, the dramatic and sophisticated JW Marriott is the place to stay. Its next door to Victory Field, a minor league baseball field and entertainment venue. The center of downtown Indianapolis is just a few blocks away.

We opted for a city view and it did not disappoint. The room furnishings are contemporary and clean with lovely spa quality bedding. The lobby is open with a contemporary fireplace and a number of restaurant options and a fun sports bar. The staff is courteous and professional.

We opted for a room with the Executive Lounge option and I would highly recommend it. Light breakfast, daily snacks, hot appetizers, and enjoyable bit-sized desserts are included. There are plenty of non-alcoholic beverages including milk, coffee, tea and a variety of juices all day. Alcoholic beverages are available for a fee. It was open until 10 pm when we stayed there. The seating is a bit limited but tables, bar seating overlooking the city and couch groupings make this a relaxing spot throughout the day.

Room Tip: Ask for a city view if nighttime city lights are a favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NapervilleCookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and I'm glad to see we took such great care of you. The next time you are in the area, we hope to welcome you back to the JW Marriott. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I love staying at the JW! Their customer service is consistently amazing. This last time i had one of the corner rooms-the view was spectacular! Its convenient to everything downtown. Its the place to stay in Indy.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
It's always a pleasure to welcome you back. Thank you for your feedback. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Every inch of this hotel and staff are exceptional. One of the best that i have found. All staff was very well informed and so pleased to see you.The Restaurant staff and both bar staff's were so nice and knowledgeable. Rooms were immaculate and very well maintained each day

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pjsmitherman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It was our pleasure to have you with us, and I appreciate your feedback. Be assured that I have shared your comments with our team, and we will look forward to your return. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffield
1 review
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I had a great cheese steak sandwich. I can attest it was good as I am originally from Philadelphia.
The service was prompt and courteous. My server Amanda had a pleasant smile and was available. Great atmosphere , great food and wonderful service !!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I appreciate you letting us know about your meal and the service you received from Amanda. I will share your comments with the team. We will be looking forward to your return. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,439 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,357 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,636 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,694 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,441 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 182 in Indianapolis
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at what Condé Nast Readers voted as the Best Hotel in Indiana. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 105,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the Marriott IndyPlace hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity and Osteria Pronto. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Banker's Life Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing