We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to end our wedding festivities”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #7 of 180 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Indiana
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great place to end our wedding festivities”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

My husband and I chose to stay at the JW for our wedding night and I have to say, I am incredibly impressed. While hotel parking in downtown Indianapolis is fairly expensive, the JW's valet option was only $6 more than self park, so we chose to take advantage of it. We went straight to the hotel after our reception, so I was still in my wedding gown and he in his tux. After checking in, the gentleman at the front desk told us that in appreciation for us choosing them for our wedding night they had given us a room with a city view on the executive level on the 31st floor with access to the executive lounge. Now, I'm not sure if anything special was really done or if they give that to anyone - but the acknowledgment was really nice! We stayed in room 3109 and the view was amazing. We are both from Indianapolis, but seeing it that high up at night was really a neat sight. The bed was very comfortable, the room was very very nice, the bathroom huge with a huge glass walk in shower with body jets and a rainfall showerhead. We were advised that night that valet pick up would be about 40 minutes the next day. When we dropped off our ticket we were told 30 minutes, but by the time we ordered coffee and something to eat from Starbucks our truck was already pulled up.

I was greatly impressed with the service and the decor. The plan is to stay here again on our one year anniversary.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fulltimeeverything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. I was glad to see you enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you back on your first anniversary (if not before). From all of us at the JW Marriott, congratulations and best wishes on many happy years together. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,503
    464
    163
    49
    33
See reviews for
294
397
44
1,146
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (711)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa City, IA, USA
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I just spent six days at the Marriott in Indianapolis and in a word "WOW!" From being met curbside, to the minute you walk in the entire staff truly knows what the word SERVICE means. I am an officer in an organization that just had their annual meeting there and I can tell you our every need was met. Rooms are clean, housekeeping staff excellent and BTW it is a green hotel with places everywhere to put your bottles/ cans/ paper to recycle. BRAVO for that. But I guess the truth is would I suggest that you stay there or that you have a meeting at that hotel? In a word ABSOLUTELY! Oh and get a room on the upper floors the views are amazing.

Green Features: This is a green hotel and it's wonderful there are recycle containers everywhere so you can recycle cans/ bottles and papers.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I appreciate your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is one of Marriott's flagship hotels for good reason. The service is impeccable, Rooms are very nice, Meeting space is well done and is well maintained. The staff is attentive and made things go smoothly, both restaurants have good food and good service.

Room Tip: Use the valet, it is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovinLifeKT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
I'm glad that we took great care of you, and I hope you will continue to use our facility whenever you are in the area. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is our third year staying at the JW Marriott. We stay the night before participating in the Buddy Walk and each year we have a wonderful, restful evening. From the bell staff to the front desk staff, everyone is always very polite and welcoming. The room is clean, comfortable, and quiet. I highly recommend spending the extra $20 for your room that includes a buffet breakfast for two adults and two children. It is a great value and there is a nice variety of things to choose from. The hotel is conveniently located and no matter where your room is located you will have a beautiful view of either downtown or the state park. Weekend room rates are a little pricey but comparable to hotels in other large cities. All in all, a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We always request a room without down due to allergies and the hotel always complies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suburbs02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
It is always a pleasure to welcome you back to the JW Marriott! I appreciate your comments, and we'll be looking forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sonoma, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

I came to visit friends and family in Indianapolis. JW Marriott opened right when I was moving away from Indy, so I decided to stay. Little did I know I had booked my trip during a major college sports event. When I arrived at the hotel it was late and everyone was attentive. The staff was lovely and very friendly through most of my four night stay. However, the swarm of families and children at the hotel made this feel more like a Holiday Inn than a JW Marriott. And the staff - again, very friendly (except one seemingly grumpy young woman who made me a cappuccino in the beautiful lobby bar) - seemed overwhelmed. I hate when I walk into a hotel and there are tons of people and tons of luggage being "held" in the lobby, and that's what this place was for the majority of the weekend.

liked:

-awesome shower
-nice views (I had a corner room on the 27th view that overlooked the river, nice sunset)
-lovely staff
-two bar options and lots of seating (and types of seating, couches, booths, stools, etc)
-free bottled water in your room
-delicious chicken fingers from the sports bar, ha!

dislikes:
-no mini bar. Big hotel, I get that the capacity for a mini bar isn't high, but, I like the convenience.
-no spa (I had to go to the Conrad)
-I had an appointment and called to have my car pulled around. The valets pulled my car around, and I sat in my car for 5-7 minutes waiting because they lost my keys. !?!?!
-too many TV's. I've never been in a building with so many TV's.
-cleaning services were just "OK" I'd often find things unattended that I would expect cleaned. I even tip, and was surprised by this. I was not provided complimentary water on my last night stay.
-I also had to request a robe. I had accidentally left mine on the floor my first night, and they must have collected it with my towels, but I had to request a robe, it was never replenished.
-having to pay for internet in your room. this is the 21st century, let's fix that. or, at least give club members free internet.

I figure though, that if I came any other time, and not during an unexpected sporting event, I probably would have felt the type of experience I expect out of the higher end Marriott label. I was told by a staff member that this was the largest of all the JW's until the Dubai location was built - and that makes sense, it's a massive place. Sadly I did not take advantage of the pool or work out area, the swarm of children made it particularly unappealing.

But, I'm a single woman traveler who likes her peace and quiet, and generally finds it at luxury hotels like this. So, note to self: next time I visit Indy look at the city event schedule and book accordingly.

Room Tip: High floor, away from elevator, I paid an extra $20 a night for a corner room with lovely big window...
See more room tips
Green Features: Glad to see recycling anywhere in Indianapolis, a city not known for it's eco practices (I came from California, so I expect this anymore). Glad no smoking inside!
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your visit and your constructive feedback. Be assured that I have shared your comments with my team, and we will take steps to correct our shortcomings. I do understand your comments about the Internet fee and wanted you to know that we are required by Marriott to follow their standards so there is consistency within the brand. Currently Marriott does have a fee at their full-service properties. To give our guests an option, we offer complimentary wireless in the lobby and restaurants. Again, we appreciate your visit, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife and I have stayed at this property several times and each time upon arrival, we have experienced excellent customer service! The facilities and the restaurants are wonderful. If you can get a room on an upper floor, the view is awesome!

The last trip we made, we stayed on the concierge floor and the extra dollars spent were well worth it, the service was as expected, superb!

The only real negative about the facility is the room size, the standard rooms at the JW fell fairly small for the money. If you have more than a couple people in a room it might fell a bit crowded. One other small downside is ice machines are not located on each floor, they are only available on the pool/workout floor.

We will definitely stay att this facilty again!

Room Tip: Ask for a high flloor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank msteig64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We appreciate your continued patronage and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. If you ever need ice, please call At Your Service and a member of the team will be happy to bring it to your room. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our one night stay, the service was second to none. Our room had the best views of Indianapolis - it was spacious, very clean, and had comfortable beds. Other than the view it was nothing spectacular, but it was very nice. At our government discounted rate it was well worth it, but I believe the regular rates are overpriced for what you get. If you stay here, be sure to request a room on one of the higher floors - the views are great!

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank wagonwheel1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and I'm glad you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#16 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,267 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,400 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 180 in Indianapolis
2,490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,415 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#5 of 180 in Indianapolis
336 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 180 in Indianapolis
1,624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing