We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Bethlehem, PA
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed September 13, 2013 via mobile

I have a somewhat jaded opinion of the JW Marriott brand. I stayed at one in Washington DC and it was a total disappointment. I complained so much I got 120,000 reward points credited back. The experience in Indiana was top notch. What a well managed hotel. Incredible. I tried to check in early but my room wasn't available. To my surprise they upgraded me to the concierge level. The lounge had wonderful food and drink served from morning until night. My room was spacious and had great amenities. I noticed the rug was damp in front of the air conditioning unit. I told housekeeping the following morning and left the room. I thought it would dry out but it continually got worse. One night I was on the tv menu and filled out the guest survey. I gave them the lowest mark for room cleanliness because by this time the carpet was soaking wet and making unpleasant sounds when I walked. Within 15 minutes of finishing the survey the manager in duty called to see what the problem was . He offered me a new room and I told him it was okay because I was checking out very early the next day. Well, he insisted and really wanted to see the problem himself. They were great. I had a room service order waiting to be delivered and he took care of everything. He was so upset to see the carpet he graciously comped the room, the room service and apologized at least a dozen times. It was surprising to see such a dedicated individual trying to go above and beyond for the customer. A not so great experience turned into an exceptional stay. Way to go Christian!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hsb424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
I was glad to see that you enjoyed your visit here in Indianapolis. I do want to apologize for the problem you experienced with the wet carpeting by the a/c unit, and can assure you that I have spoken to my Director of Engineering and Director of Housekeeping in this regard. We will take steps to correct this issue. I was glad Christian took a personal interest in your stay, and I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    475
    165
    49
    35
See reviews for
309
406
47
1,163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Avon, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

Like the upscale feel of the hotel and friendly staff. Very close to everything down town so it's a great place to stay if you're attending a sporting event or a concert etc. food and things to do are all close.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your comments and I was glad to see you enjoyed your visit. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

This was a great location for the conference that I attended; the hotel has an imposing blue glass color and is very identifiable from the drive into downtown. The staff at check-in were very polite, and expedited the process. I found the rooms to be spacious and the beds comfortable, as always at Marriott's. The TV was particularly excellent (quality, HD). My only quibble would be that the rooms didn't have a stand-alone shower, but it was in the tub. The lobby of the hotel was particularly open and the restaurants were at either end of it rather than having to locate them in different parts of the hotel. Highly recommended

Room Tip: A view over the baseball stadium during the minor league season is probably attractive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for your post, and I'm glad you enjoyed your conference here at the JW. If you return, I wanted you to know that our king rooms have stand-up showers and the queen rooms have a tub shower combination. We'll look forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The hotel and the staff were wonderful. The staff made my experience very pleasant and they made me feel at home. The staff is very courteous and friendly. I really liked that after checking in I was walked to the elevator with one of the staff who told me a little about the hotel and the city and that made me feel very comfortable.The rooms are decorated very modern and the views from this hotel is magnificent. I had a view of the baseball park from my room and I was able to watch a baseball game that was in progress. I also liked that you were not able to access any room floors from the elevator without your room key. Overall, my stay was very pleasant and I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. We enjoyed having you with us, and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013 via mobile

Although we live in the area I used Marriott rewards for a weekend stay at the new JW. was very impressed with the hotel. Incredible addition to downtown Indy. Loved the bar area me had dinner in the Italian restaurant. Great views of the city. Will stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
It was a pleasure having you with us, and we hope you return soon for another "staycation". Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Apparently this is one of the largest JW Marriott hotels in the world, yet you still recieve top notch service that generally is only experienced at small, boutique hotels. On arrival I was met by a friendly Marriott employee who helped me with my bags and opened doors for me and answered all of my questions with "my pleasure." The front desk staff quickly accomodated my desire to stay on a high floor facing the downtown skyline. And all of the restaurants were staffed by friendly and attentive staff. Beyond the great service, the room and overall facility is very nice. My room was actually on the "end" and had a panaromic view of both downtown and a large park, zoo, etc. And you can walk to everything from this hotel - just an ideal location. You will not want to leave this hotel!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are virtually all glass and have amazing views of both the downtown skyline and the Par...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Lou C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
It was a pleasure having you with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gwynn Oak, Maryland, United States
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

I'm currently in my hotel room as I'm typing this. This hotel is incredible. I joined my husband on his business trip to Indianapolis and I have to say that this hotel is top notch. The rooms are immaculate. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The restaurants are a culinary delight. I especially love how the your room card has to be used in order to access any floors with rooms. The exercise area was wonderful with amazing views of the city. I would definitely stay here again. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone coming to Indianapolis. They're the best.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lifesaver72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 12, 2013
Thank you and it's a pleasure to have you and your husband with us. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,441 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,360 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,702 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#8 of 182 in Indianapolis
341 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at what Condé Nast Readers voted as the Best Hotel in Indiana. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 105,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the Marriott IndyPlace hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity and Osteria Pronto. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Banker's Life Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing