We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall good” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #6 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Detroit
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Overall good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Great location. Parking is $36 for valet (with in and out privileges) and $30 for self park. We used the valet and had no issues. Our check in was easy and the reception by the staff was wonderful. The room was well appointed and clean. Pros: fantastic view of the state museum, iPod player, coffee maker. Cons: no fridge, no mini bar.
Wifi was $14.95/day and I believe is free on the first or second floor.
We used room service twice the first time our order was lost. The order was comped but took two hours to receive it. The second was perfect, on time, and tasty.
The facility had a Starbucks on the second floor. Also on the second floor was a large fantastic workout area. The pool was a bit underwhelming, it was quite small considering the size if the hotel.
Check out was easily done over the TV.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Blain80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 23, 2013
Thank you for your post, and I appreciate your feedback. You are correct that we do have complimentary wireless in our lobby and restaurants. I do want to apologize for the problem you experienced through in-room dining, and we will take steps to correct our shortcomings. We do have a limited number of refrigerators and would be happy to bring one to your room upon request. Again, thank you for your comments, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,442
    443
    151
    49
    29
See reviews for
276
381
43
1,090
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (685)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
138 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 20, 2013

Have stayed at a few Marriott properties on the concierge level - this was the best, by far. Very good, large breakfast selection that was served even on the weekends. Snacks all day, heavier snacks after 5pm and good assortment of treats after 7:30pm. Large selection of drinks (Pepsi products).
Location is very convenient - be aware that the ball park is right next door - fireworks at some home games can be terrific or distracting depending on your likes.
Self parking is easy, right beneath the front entrance. Garage shared with other Marriott properties. Can walk indoors (or through a covered garage) to get to other Marriott's and the convention center. Short drive to IUPUI (or 10-15 minute walk).

Room Tip: East side rooms overlook the downtown, West side rooms overlook the river, parks, museums and IUPUI.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheaf01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit. I appreciate your excellent feedback, and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead, KY
Level Contributor
199 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The very best place for a function. Galas, weddings, etc this is it. Top-notch service and food. Great location and excellent rooms and restaurants too. You will not be disappointed I promise. Near all the attractions

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you. It's an honor for us to host many galas and weddings. We will continue to strive to give our clients the best event possible. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
89 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Not many venues can cope with 1,500+ attendees for 4 days but this hotel excelled in every area: excellent food, helpfull staff, comfortable seating (for the longer presentations!), easy walkway access to downtown shops, excellent bedroom facilities and bed, a multitude of large, medium and small rooms etc., etc.

A perfect business location in Indianapolis!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
We enjoyed having you with us, and look forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights in mid-May for a conference. Location is within walking distance of Lucas Oil Field and right next door to a minor league baseball stadium and museums. It's within walking distance to most anything in downtown. When I arrived in a taxi, my bags were immediately pulled out of the trunk for me and I was escorted to the front desk where I was quickly checked in. The staff was always top notch in every aspect during my stay from the front desk, to the housekeepers, to the staff handling the meals for the convention. I had a room on the 10th floor in the corner (NE side, room 1001) overlooking downtown on one side. The room had floor to ceiling windows on two sides since I was in the corner. There was a large dresser with a pull out desk. The room was very comfortable and the bed was great. They have a 40" LCD TV with an on-screen guide. The closet isn't large, but was adequate for a single traveler. There's a coffee maker in the room, but no refrigerator. Bottled water is included. The internet service is expensive ($15/day), but it's fast by hotel standards. Yes, this hotel stays crowded. But it's still comfortable. Taxis are always lined up and traffic downtown isn't bad at all. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BC97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your great feedback. It was certainly our pleasure to have you with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Revere, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at the JW for a conference and the whole experience was pleasant. The service at this hotel was exceptional. Every employee I encountered was friendly and customer service focused. The food that was served at the conference was very good. The beverage tables were constantly stocked with ice and soft drinks. The conference rooms got a bit chilly at times.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Meljane33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Thank you for your recent post. We enjoyed having you with us. Sorry to read the room was a little chilly. Please notify your group contact in the future and we will be happy to make an adjustment per their request. Hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 17, 2013

I was here for a conference and although it was very busy, the hotel never lost its attention to detail. Staff greeted you as soon as you walked into the lobby and fruit infused water was welcoming after coming back from walking the Cultural Trail. The rooms were beautiful and the views were spectacular through the floor to ceiling windows.
The hotel was sparkilng clean but so was the city. I do not remember being this impressed with a city. I absolutely loved it. You would be hard pressed to find even a black gum mark on a sidewalk.
Great restaurants, entertainment and even leisurely strolls all can be accessed from this hotel. The hotel is close to the canal and walking along that first thing in the morning was peaceful and serene.
We had buffet breakfast every morning which was abundant and reasonable. A few days we had lunch in the sports bar restaurant and again the food was good and reasonably priced.
The airport is a $30 taxi ride away but there is a shuttle for $10 that will drop you off in front of the hotel.
We had a private function at the Lucas Oil Stadium, the home of the Colts. If you are looking to build a stadium you need to come and see this building. Although only a few years old its exterior has been built to compliment the surroundings. It is a beautiful piece of architecture.
Indianapolis is a jewel (who knew!) and the jw marriott is a welcome addition to the city.

Room Tip: Because of the curvature of the hotel, the rooms on the outside curve are a bit bigger. It just giv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Love2CruiseToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Wow...you made my day! Thank you for your great comments, and we will look forward to your return. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#7 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,182 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#25 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,378 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing