We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Indianapolis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #9 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
New Jersey
Level Contributor
85 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Would stay again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Sleek, modern, yet comfortable. Thought the room was very comfortable, slept wonderfully well. Loved that there was a Starbucks on-site and location so close to everything. It was raining our second night there, and we were able to use the skywalks all the way from the restaurant on Illinois back to the JW. We encountered great service from the front desk to the lounge and sports bar. We loved having drinks in lounge, comfortable, yet lots of energy. Not that impressed with food at the High Velocity, but we did have good service. I would not hesitate to stay here again (though it is annoying wifi is a steep $16!)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BellaO6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Thank you for staying with us here at the JW. I appreciate your comment regarding the wifi and wanted you to know that we are required by Marriott to follow their standards so there is consistency within the brand. Currently Marriott does require a fee at their full-service properties. Again, we appreciate your patronage, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,022 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,373
    425
    147
    48
    29
See reviews for
261
354
42
1,048
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (655)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

The largest JW Marriott in the world with 1005 guest rooms. Attached to the Indiana Convention Center on the southeast side of town. Located at the end of the sky-walk, and walk it is to get uptown, at least a half mile. However, comfortable, clean room with all the amenities that should be expected in a JW. My only complaint about the room was the In-room safe that was jammed in a drawer. Restaurants were excellent with High Velocity, a sports bar, being my favorite. Service was exceptional from the front desk through housekeeping. The Executive Lounge was exceptional. Spacious with plenty of functional places to work and relax, including a small meeting alcove. Food selection was also excellent. One of the best value for price hotels I've ever experienced.

Room Tip: High floors (24+) have their own elevator bank. I found the city view more entertaining than the wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
I appreciate your feedback and was sorry the safe the room did not meet your needs. We do have additional safes near the front desk. Please ask a front desk agent for assistance. It was our pleasure to have you with us, and we will look forward to your return. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

We live in the area, so staying here for a recent convention was a treat! This hotel is beautiful. The location is fantastic and is within walking distance to all that this amazing city has to offer. If you come during the cold weather, all you need to do is use all the skywalks that connect everything. Upon check-in we were greeted immediately and then walked down to the elevators. Our room was on the 32nd floor facing east. We had a beautiful view of the city. The room was very spacious as well as the bathroom with a beautiful shower. The bed was very comfortable and we slept soundly. One downside we noticed about the heating/cooling system is that we couldn't control a fan to run constantly, so when the heat or air would kick in, we heard it and when it shut off we heard that too, we just prefer to hear a constant soft fan noise for a white noise effect. The room was clean which is always nice when you're staying in a hotel. I did notice that the chrome fixtures were a little dusty but nothing too bad. There was a mirrior in the bathroom that the light bulb was burnt out and staff came to fix it immediately. We needed extra pillows and towels and the staff came right away. They were very attentive! We were not used to this kind of service and we really appreciated it. A bonus that we were not expecting (because we are platnium members) is the executive suite on the 31st floor where they served breakfast items, snacks in the afternoon, beverages and desert in the evening. Such a nice area with lounging areas and a business center with tables and chairs to eat at. The staff is very attentive in that area as well. We stayed for three nights and we did not want to leave! We wished we would have had time to the use the gym and pool area as those looked very nice too. It's a bit pricey to stay here, but we would say it's well worth it. Hope to stay again soon!

Room Tip: Choose a high floor facing the east for a view of the city. Choose a west side to get a view of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ainchsmom3x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for supporting the JW Marriott. I will share your comments with the team, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Level Contributor
77 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed here one night while in town for a convention. First time for me, and I left impressed. I can't say that there is a ton physically to set it apart from a Westin or other higher-end hotel. The room was very nice. Not too big, not too small. Bed was comfy, and they included lots of pillows. Nice little workstation for electronics next to big chair and focused reading lights next to beds are neat little touches. Bath was adequately sized and well lit. Shower was great! Towels were nice sized and actually soft. Not a fan of the strongly scented bath products, but that is a personal preference.

The real difference, for me, at the JW Marriot was the people. Absolutely fantastic. People falling over themselves to help, wish you a good day, provide information, etc. Really first rate, all the way down to the valets. Couldn't really be more impressed on just a one night stay. Well done.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skibum123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and I have taken the liberty to share your comments with my team. We hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2013

April 22, 2014, Spent the last weekend in this hotel. I highly recommend this hotel to all. The rooms were spotless and comfortable. We ate at both resturants and the food was excellent. However, the high point was the service. From the warm towels upon entering, to the personal greeting from all the desk staff, who greeted and then walked with you to the desk to complete registration everyone was marvelous. There was a smile on all faces and a warm welcoming feeling permiadted the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We enjoyed having you with us, and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
91 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

We spent two nights on our first trip to the JW! If you want service at your fingertips, this is the place to be! There are people working in the lobby just to point you in the right direction. Check in was speedy despite the many people arriving at the same time. We called the front desk for tissues and they arrived within a few minutes. We received a phone call a few minutes later to make sure they made it.

We valet parked our vehicle on the first night. We were going to move it onto the street for the second night so that when our conference let out the next day, we wouldn't get "stuck" in the garage waiting to get out. When I asked what time we needed to be out to not get charged for another day, the front desk explained that it was a 24 hr. parking but we still had to be out by 3 pm. That made no sense to me. If we had to be out by 3 pm it wasn't going to be 24 hr parking. I was baffled but didn't want to argue with her. I gave her an "oh-kay" and got off the phone. She must have sensed that I was upset and she called back within a minute. She said she didn't want us leaving upset and she would put us in self parking at the hotel for free for the second night. We took her up on the offer. My prediction was correct in that when our conference let out the next day, it took 30 min. to get out of the parking garage.

We had a drink in the lobby bar on our second night there. We had great service and my chocolate martini was excellent.

From our room we had an excellent view of the city! We were on the 24th floor and at night we could see for miles away. We predicted that the lights we saw were in Irvington!

Besides the view, the room was nice but it wasn't anything grand.

Overall, I would stay there again - but not for full price.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the city buildings
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank runner1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for staying with us, and thank you for your post. I was sorry for the confusion regarding the parking fees. Be assured I will speak to the team in this regard. Again, we appreciate having you with us and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Greeted by Jade at the front entrance who then offered to check us in. She was an absolute delight!

Definitely went ”above and beyond” in making the check in process so smooth and even upgraded us to the 29th floor.

The rooms are beautifully decorated and the glass shower with multiple shower heads...so relaxing!

Highly recommend the JW...restaurants, 24 hour fitness, pool, and grest views of downtown Indy.

Room Tip: Even number rooms have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephanie5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#2 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#12 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,009 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,892 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#3 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing