We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No More Platinum Upgrades”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #7 of 179 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“No More Platinum Upgrades”
Reviewed February 9, 2013 via mobile

I have supported and enjoyed this hotel since they opened. Three weeks ago they decided that they would no longer provide space available suite upgrades to Platinum members and to their best customers.

This is the only Marriott property where I have experienced this downgrade in service. It seems unnecessary and shortsighted.

There are plenty of nice hotels in Indy that value repeat customers including the Hyatt, Westin and even the Marriott where they acknowledge their frequent customers with space available upgrades.

This is a great property that has significantly downgraded its treatment on repeat customers.



  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RomoChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Thank you for your past patronage and your feedback. We do understand that our Platinum members are the backbone of our business and I am sorry for the confusion. We did recently begin to offer our premium rooms to guests at check-in. We do not want to charge our Platinum or Gold members for an upgrade and have retrained our staff in this regard. It is my hope you will give us a chance to regain your confidence. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,183 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,486
    458
    157
    49
    33
See reviews for
287
388
43
1,136
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (704)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed February 6, 2013

I travel a lot for business, and the JW Marriott in Indianapolis ranks at the very top of my list of favourite hotels. Located in the downtown core, a short walk away from many great restaurants, and three great restaurants on-site for when you don't feel like going out. Rooms and a Business Centre with everything you need to get your work done. Amongst all the various things that this hotel is great at, the staff is the best. They genuinely care, and it shows in the level of service they provide. "Awesome" is the proper way to describe them.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlbertGiraudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your recent post. I'm very proud of our team, and glad to see that they took such great care of you. Hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here for a business meeting and cant possibly say enough about the place. The property was impeccable, the staff was very friendly and the service second to none. By far the best hotel in Indy. I would recommend it to anyone staying in this great town.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrvacavince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We enjoyed having you with us, and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2013

I came down from Chicago for a trade show at the Indiana convention center. The other hotels adjacent were booked, so I got a room at the J.W. Marriott. It was an all-around enjoyable experience. The staff was very friendly and attentive. The room I got was gorgeous and spacious. I really enjoyed my stay here. All hotels are connected to the convention center by skyway, so need to go out in the cold. I would love to stay here again. Full disclosure: booked for work, so I wasn't paying the bill. Probably a bit pricey if I was paying myself, but definitely a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
Thank you for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richardson, Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I really enjoyed my stay at the JW Marriott. The staff is top notch and so is the customer service. The rooms are large and have plenty of space for relaxing and working. The restaurants on property have a lot of variety and at the lobby bar you can order from both restaurants. The executive lounge is also a great place to relax or get some work done. And the best part - it is open every day. (most hotels are Monday-Friday) Had a great experience and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are all windows and great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank florida_girl1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 8, 2013
We appreciate your comments and look forward to your return visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

This was our first visit to Indiana and we weren't sure where to stay so were very happy when we arrived and found the hotel to be so nice. The rooms were clean and inviting. The view was spectacular as well. What made it amazing was the breakfast. I know what your thinking..the breakfast? Really? Really. We travelled with three kids ranging in age from 1 to 7 and everyone was so polite and accommodating. From the omelette station to the smoked salmon station to the brie station..well you get the idea. It was busy with conventions so be prepared for that but all in all it was great.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank swetfam4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the great post, and be assured that I will share your comments with my team. If you return to Indianapolis, we'll look forward to welcoming you back to the JW Marriott! Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laredo, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 31, 2013

If I ever need to get back to Indianapolis, there will not be a decision to be made as to what hotel to stay at, it will be the JW Marriott. The staff was attentive and the hotel was very clean. The restaurants have a great variety of selection but the sports bar was the best. The location of the hotel cannot be beat.

Room Tip: Standard king room is large enough for two
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJ V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
We loved having you with us, and hope to welcome you back in the future. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#14 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,208 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#6 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,402 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,397 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,597 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#4 of 179 in Indianapolis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing