We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent downtown hotel in Indy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Maumee, Ohio, United States
Level 6 Contributor
315 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“An excellent downtown hotel in Indy”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

I normally stay in the suburbs of Indianapolis when in town, but had a conference at this hotel, so I stayed there as well. I was very impressed with the layout and look, the quality throughout, and the very attentive service at all contact points. Additionally, I found the hotel to be an excellent value for a downtown hotel! The hotel is connected seemingly to everything else in the city through inside walkways, so no need for a coat in even lousy weather. The room was clean, modern and comfortable and the view from the 20th floor was nice. The bed was the right level of firm, but comfy and everything worked including the TV remotes that always seem to be out of batteries at other hotels. On the whole I was very pleased with the stay and impressed with the hotel...two thumbs up!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    470
    164
    49
    33
See reviews for
301
401
46
1,153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My wife and I live in the Indianapolis area but we chose to stay downtown the evening before the Indianapolis Monumental Marathon. We chose this location because it is the newest luxury hotel downtown and it is an absolutely stunning exterior. We had an amazing time and the hotel was everything we expected and then some. Initially we had a reservation at Palomino for dinner but after arriving we learned that they have an excellent Italian restaurant on premise so we tried this instead. The room, dinner and ambiance of this hotel was first class. If you are coming to Indy and looking for first class service this is the place!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, IN
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the downtown JW hotel to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment you walk in the door, the service is impeccable. We were immediately greeted, despite the fact that the hotel was very busy. In fact, they went out of their way during check-in and check-out to make sure we did not wait long. We made a request for wine opener and glasses - no problem! Both were delivered promptly and with a smile. We had an appetizer at the lounge and our waitress was AMAZING! This the kind of service that will lead to brand loyalty. Thank you Marriott for making our celebration special!!

Room Tip: some rooms have awesome views - ask if you prefer to overlook the canal area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RikkiLeeFishers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
First, from all of us at the JW Marriott, Happy Anniversary! We are honored that you would share this special time with us. It was great having you here, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed November 5, 2012

JW Marriott excellent hotel to spend several days great restaurants on site as well as in neighborhood New rooms well appointed..pricing is reasonable The staff was very helpful....meeting rooms were spacios and well designed

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

Great checkin. Perfect room. Well-appointed. Considerate nudge about the 11 AM checkout. Some excellent food prepared for a very large conference group. Interaction with management was superb. They have a five minute rule for any guest response. I believe this is one of the three best-managed US hotels I've ever encountered.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skagittraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words, and we hope to welcome you back soon! Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, IN
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My husband and I had a chance to stay overnight at the JW Marriott, a very popular place in our hometown. I made several attempts to request and book a king-size room. It wasn't until I checked-in that I learned that no king-size rooms were available because of groups that were booked the same night. The woman working the check-in desk was so kind. While she couldn't give me a king-size room, she did give us a nice, quiet double-queen corner room, giving us a great view of the south and west side of the city.

The hotel and room are absolutely beautiful! What a great place to relax!

A couple quirks that I didn't expect: In the bathroom, I could overhear a conversation in another room. I was surprised the voices weren't muffled - I could make-out every word. Thankfully, we couldn't hear anything in our room though. The noise was only in the bathroom.

Secondly, I hate to type this, but the beds were not the most comfortable we've had. We both commented that we expected softer linens. The bathroom towels, however, were dreamy!

Overall, I would certainly recommend the hotel (unless a quiet bathroom and soft sheets rank at the top of your must-have list).

Room Tip: Request high-level room facing east for a view of downtown. If that's not available, request a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Type-A_Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your valuable feedback. I will review your comments with both my Dir. of Engineering and Dir. of Services. We'll do our best to correct our shortcomings. It was certainly our pleasure to have you with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Unexpected overnight stay in Indianapolis during FFA Convention! Yikes! The radio says 50,000 in attendance... where will we find a room? My husband tells me to try JW Marriott, probably beyond FFA price range. To our advantage, our last minute call got us a room for one night at a very attractive rate. The hotel is beautiful and modern and well located. Valet and front desk staff are all welcoming and efficient even though we arrived at 10pm. Lobby, bar, and restaurant very attractive... service and food excellent. Even if this hotel brand is typically above your comfort level, don't be afraid to check. You won't be sorry

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room on a higher floor. Views are outstanding from floor to ceiling windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoyceD18703
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
No photo provided
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,420 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,319 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#5 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,430 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
338 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing