We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #7 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Columbia, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

This hotel rises up and stands out from all the other hotels in downtown Indy, with its blue glass and curving design. And from the moment we pulled up til the time we drove off all the staff were all very nice and helpful. The room my wife and I stayed in (for our wedding anniversary) was on the 32nd floor with a view of downtown Indy. It was the best view of downtown that I had ever experienced. She said the the view and room was very romantic. The room was just what we wanted... clean, quiet and very useable! We enjoyed our first stay at this beautiful hotel and we will be going back again!

Room Tip: Ask for Skyline view if you want a room on one of the higher floors and if you stay on the night tha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Will G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent post. We certainly enjoyed celebrating your anniversary with you, and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,537
    475
    165
    49
    35
See reviews for
309
406
47
1,163
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (722)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 31, 2012

I was not only pleased with the JW overall, but I was impressed with Indianapolis, after my first return in over 10-years for business.

Rooms, Gym, location, restaurant, facilities...A+

Comparing this JW with others, I will say the staff was unparalleled regarding service, with only a few exceptions.

The staff failed to honor an early morning wake-up call request for room 743. In hindsight, I should've manually set a back-up alarm.

Only other issue, much more minor, is after staying in the facility for a week and requesting a refrigerator pre-arrival, I was placed #6 on a waitlist. Needless to say, the fridge never arrived. Again, not a huge deal, but as a matter of convenience for an extended stay, such would've been greatly appreciated.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrKlean05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, September 7, 2012
Thank you for your recent visit. I appreciate your kind comments. Let me apologize for the fact that you did not receive a wake-up call as requested. This is not typical, and I will follow up with the team to see that this situation does not recur.

Regarding the refrigerators, we do have a limited number available, and I'm sorry we did not get one to you. I will speak to my team in this regard, and we will review procedures. Again, it was our pleasure to have you with us, and we hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2012

Great place to stay. The staff was excellent and the location is perfect for downtown
activities. You can't expect anything more in a fitness room then this hotel offers. The view is unbeatable. We highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Jana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fargo, North Dakota, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed at the JW Marriott for a conference in the summer of 2012. There is little to say about this place which does not qualify as amazing. The staff were very helpful on arrival and accommodated my request for a room as high as possible. They put in on the 30th floor which required a key to access my floor. I was also walked to the elevator by staff, which has never happened.
The room was fantastic, along with the view. The shower had jets in the wall, in additional to the very nice shower head. The bathroom, along with the rest of the room was exquisite.
The food at the sports bar downstairs was excellent, as well as affordable for such a place.

Room Tip: As for a room on the upper floors and you will get a fancy shower. The lower floors have a tub with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jerry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, TX
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed here two nights this week. The place is very, very nice. It is in a good location across from Victory Field and near the White River Park. It has a good Italian restaurant. The food was excellent and prices reasonable. It is clear that it is a popular desination. The hotel was very busy. At times, the lobby area was very loud.

The room was clean and well maintained. The bed was ok. The mattress was a little firm for me, but did not cause a problem sleeping. The only very minor issue was the bathroom sink would make a noise periodically at night. I closed the drain and bathroom door which solved it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank satxsptsfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 31, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. I was sorry to read that you experienced noise from the sink, and I will speak to my Director of Engineering in this regard. Again, we appreciate your business and hope to welcome you back soon. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I go to Indy on a regular basis and have stayed at the JW 6 times this year. I think this is the best hotel in Indy (although not the most expensive). The attitudes of the staff are almost unbelieveable.....are they all reall that happy and service focused? They treat you like royalty and the services are over the top. The on-site resturant is fantastic, as is the workout area and the bar. Location is wonderful with many resturants and activities within easy walking distance. I ahve not stayed at a nicer hotel in the midwest. Great choice!

Room Tip: ask for the rooms that end in 42.....ie. 1842. Great view and larger room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank go4profit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this review, August 24, 2012
Just wanted to thank you for your continued business. We appreciate your patronage, and look forward to your next visit. Scott Blalock, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Being from the west-the name Indianapolis didn’t do too much for me. How wrong I was.

This is an absolutely wonderful property. It is located near downtown. The Canal Walk goes right by with its plazas and shops. It is across the Street from the State Museum and a block from NCAA headquarters. The numerous parks and river place this in the best location.

The service at the hotel is incredible. We were having a meeting and the staff was there whenever we needed and was the most attentive I have ever seen. The rooms are up to date with all of the necessary outlets, lighting and peripherals that the savvy business traveler looks for. The fitness center is excellent. The food was awesome. Overall–this property is a great bang for the buck.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Countrylawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,441 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,360 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#8 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#20 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,701 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#6 of 182 in Indianapolis
341 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at what Condé Nast Readers voted as the Best Hotel in Indiana. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 105,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the Marriott IndyPlace hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity and Osteria Pronto. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Banker's Life Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Marriott, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing