We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel conveniently located”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #4 of 186 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed June 12, 2012

I stayed here during a recent business trip. It ws my first time to Indy and was pleased with everything I found. The room was nice and comfortable, though I wasn't too fond of the bed pillows. I would stay here again and recommend it to others.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
Thank jk67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,487)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,152 - 2,158 of 2,487 reviews

Reviewed June 7, 2012

The shiny black edifice of this new 1,000 room convention hotel towers over a handful of other Marriott brands within a one block radius. I've stayed in the Downtown Marriott many times on business trips to Indy and was pleased to stay in the more upscale JW on my latest trip. The hotel has all the amenities found in a first class business hotel. The one thing that struck me as being outstanding was the friendliness and helpful attitude of the staff. I can't say enough about the front desk, wait staff and every Marriott associate I encountered during my stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Got a great rate for the Indiana Vintage Wine Festival. Very busy hotel. Front desk person was very friendly. Needed extra towels and had them within 5 mins. Decor was very nice and everything very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jguynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

So unhappy with our stay on Saturday, a stay I was very much looking forward to. I booked our room with my debit card, as that is what I had handy at the time. However, when checking in I presented my credit card as my form of payment. Not an unusual occurrence, I'm sure. However, a check of my accounts later in the day showed that the front desk employee who checked us in charged the $50 incidentals fee to BOTH my debit card AND my credit card. I was furious. I NEVER presented the debit card at the time of check in and NEVER authorized it to be charged for anything. When I went down to the front desk to complain (of course, they didn't notice the mistake and let me know proactively), the front desk staff had no clue what was going on. She first tried to tell me that my room rate of $163 plus tax equaled $427 total. Then, after I explained over and over again the problem, another staff person intervened, took down my debit card information and assured me that the $50 charge would be credited within a few hours. That was Saturday night. It is now Monday afternoon. It has still not been credited back. I am about to call the bank and report the charge as fraudulent. I just cannot believe the ineptitude of the front desk staff.

Then, when ready to check out on Sunday at 10:30 we called down to valet. The employee who answered informed us that due to the high volume of departures we should proceed down to the valet desk. Fine, no biggie. So we head down, give them our valet ticket and wait. And wait. And wait. Multiple hotel guests who requested their cars after us receive their cars and leave. And still we wait. A super friendly valet attendant checks on us twice regarding our car but it seems to have no effect on our extraordinarily long wait time. Finally, our car arrives and we hastily depart.

Never again JW Marriot! The Conrad is the downtown Indianapolis hotel for me.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post regarding your stay with us. I am sorry for the inconvenience we caused when we did not apply the hold to the correct card during your check in. I appreciate you working with me on it and I'm glad we were able to get it resolved.

Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Regards,

Scott Blalock
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2012

New, big, bright hotel with beautiful rooms and good restaurants.
Its so nice to find a ‘best in class’ hotel, actually think this may be a ‘concept’ hotel for the chain - it feels like the executives tried to test a high end hotel in a midwestern market. Amazing.

Room Tip: I’ve stayed about 6 times and every room has been great. I think its the way the hotel is designed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamesjcog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2012

I was excited to stay at a JW Marriott for the first time. In town for the Indy 500, it was the perfect location for access to Indianapolis's great downtown and terrific restaurants. I checked into my room Thursday night and noticed a damp spot near the A/C unit. By Friday afternoon, the damp spot was significant. I called downstairs and asked for someone to come up in 30 minutes - I needed to shower first after a long day in the heat. Less than 15 minutes later and not a minute after I stepped out of the shower, the engineer is at my door. I didn't want to send him away so I used the hotel robe for coverage. I asked if he had gotten the message about waiting 30 minutes and he said no, they only get minimal info on their radios. OK, fine. He said he would fix the A/C and bring up a blower to dry the carpet. The hotel was full so he said there weren't any more rooms so I didn't ask (my mistake). Saturday AM comes and the area is still damp. By Saturday PM, the room is a mess with half the carpet wet and now I really need a new room. They have had some no-shows so they get me a room 14 floors below. All is well until I discover the toilet runs in that room! I had 2 more nights but just couldn't bother packing and moving again. But I felt like the fixtures, finishes, and overall quality was closer to a 3+ star hotel than a true 5 star.

Also, the walls are paper thin and the windows do not compensate for city noises. I could hear my neighbor coughing and water running in the bathroom next door. Sunday morning at 5:30AM I was awakened by the sirens of some police escorts on their way to the track and it sounded like there was no muffling from the windows. On Monday at 4:30AM my neighbors got home, slammed the adjoining door, argued, laughed, cried, and generally carried on and I could hear everything. The towels and amenities were only mid-grade. Again, very 3-star and hardly the serenity and luxury of many other 5-stars (or even 4-star) hotels I have stayed in.

The staff was very friendly and nice but somewhat inefficient. Thursday night, I called down for someone to pick up my room service tray, which was outside. Friday AM it was still there. It took nearly 45 minutes and 2 phone calls for a bell man to come and help me move to the new room. The room service guy just stood there while I wrote out the bill instead of pouring coffee like so many other hotels. The managers really tried, and I was offered a free breakfast for the room issues, a cup of coffee at Starbucks for the delayed valet and 2,000 point for all my issues. But in terms of being a 5-star hotel, well, it just isn't there. With a rack rate of $1,400/night, this hotel staff needs more training.

The lobby area is really fantastic and the food is amazing. The eggs Benedict was perfection and the event space is large and well appointed. I just don't think I would stay here again because of the quality of the construction and the really loud rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for the park side far from the elevators. It loses the cool city view but it may be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SundayRiver2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott B, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your post regarding your stay over Indy 500 weekend. I'm so sorry you had trouble with the carpet in your room. I have already followed up with my team to review some other options to handle a situation like that. Looks like there were some other things during your stay as well that do not reflect the level of service or quality of our hotel. Again, I apologize and will reach out to you directly to discuss your experience with us.

Thank you,

Scott Blalock
General Manager
JW Marriott Indianapolis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Wow! I was here for a conference. This hotel is amazing. Words do not do justice to my experience here. I miss it already! I have stayed in multiple hotels over the many visits to Indy and none compare to this hotel. The experience starts the moment you check in. You will be escorted to the elevator and even to your room. No one carries bags here. The staff immediately has someone take your bags and bring them to your room. The rooms are gorgeous and great views to downtown! Totally spacious and new. You will melt into the beds. Dispite the hotel being sold out during the Indy 500 week and weekend, I was never disturbed by noise. The hotel restaurants are really fun and great food and drinks! Service at the hotel bar is great. I was on an Executive level room and the Executive Lounge is a dream. The breakfast..delicious! Every inch of this hotel is spotless. Every hotel manager should visit this hotel and learn customer service. I have never been treated better and my every question and need was met with a smile and they went out of their way to be helpful. Loved every minute of my stay. Internet is fast, the gym is big and wonderful. The pool area is very nice. A stay at this hotel is worth every penny spent. You will not be sorry!

Room Tip: Higher rooms have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keeptraveling01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assistant2, General Manager at JW Marriott Indianapolis, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Just wanted to say thank you for your great comments. It was an exciting weekend here in Indy, and the team was happy to share it with you. We'll look forward to your next visit! Scott Blalock, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,520 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#5 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,936 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#13 of 186 in Indianapolis
2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#26 of 186 in Indianapolis
976 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#21 of 186 in Indianapolis
1,860 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#11 of 186 in Indianapolis
364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#3 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range: $216 - $407 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at what Condé Nast Readers voted as the Best Hotel in Indiana. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 105,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the Marriott IndyPlace hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center & Lucas Oil Stadium for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity and Osteria Pronto. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Banker's Life Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing