We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Service for a Large Conference”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
JW Marriott Indianapolis
Ranked #6 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Potomac, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Service for a Large Conference”
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I just attended a 3000 person conference at the new JW Marriott in Indi. I was very pleasently surprised at the outstanding customer service (way beyond the usual Marriott so-so service). It is the largest JW in the Country (maybee the world).

First, I have never seen so many staff strategically located throughtout the property to help direct traffic and answer questions. These were hotel employees and not conference staff.

Secondly, the large number of meeting rooms was impressive - great for a very large conference. Small groups may be lost, however.

Third, the hotel rooms had lots of electrical plugs for computers and phones - easy to connect (I take a portable office with me with many computers and devices and did not need my electrical strip).

Fourth, the Club level was one of the best I have been to (but still not as good as the any Ritz or some InterContinentals). Very well staffed and equiped. Lots of areas to sit, eat, watch TVs, plug in computers and enjoy the view. Sodas, waters and coffee avaialble throughout the day. Breakfast food service was very good. Of course, liquor was extra - makes good sense. Worth the extra costs for service and the view from the upper floors was very nice. Indi has a surprisingly nice Downtown area with lots of restaurants and is very walkable.

I am not a big Marriott fan based upon many years of direct experience. They are usually just OK and not exceptional (I am very picky). But my experience at the JW was excellent in all ways.

The food for the conference was better than average but the service was much better than average with many folks attending to the tables and buffet service (refill and tidy-up). I was impressed with the number of staff members attending to service (this is a new hotel and we will see if the staffing continues).

If you are having a conference, you should look at the Indi JW. (this recommendation does not apply to all of the JW). If you are looking to stay on business - this is a great hotel (stay on the club level if your budget permits).

Airport is close and roads are good. Parking valet service was also good with lots of valets to get cars quickly

Room Tip: Club level if your budget permits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank themeetingplanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,517
    470
    164
    49
    33
See reviews for
301
401
46
1,153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (718)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
262 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 202 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a conference. All in all, I was extremely impressed by this hotel. The staff were helpful and friendly, and the room was big and pretty clean, although there was something that looked like a dried up coffee sachet in one corner, that I noticed didn't get cleaned up while I was there. That apart, everything was spotless and brand new. The pool in particular was great, although there was a problem with the temperature on the first day I was there and it was like swimming in a bath! Great views over the city and the lifts were super fast. Only complaint was the aggressive air conditioning - I spent all the daytime freezing cold in the main part of the hotel as I was attending the conference. Can't be helped I suppose, I know a lot of people liked it that temperature but I also spoke to several people who found it too cold as well. Overall though, a very pleasant stay and I would recommend this hotel to other colleagues and friends.

Room Tip: I would ask for a corner room next time.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GracemcCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
Reviewed September 15, 2011

Great facilities. Gym and pool. Clean!!! Located near good food.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billvog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Great stay at JW Marriott. Room was brand new, spotless, stylish and comfortable. Customer service at check-in was excellent and restaurant had delicious food especially liked the breakfast buffet, service was good. Hotel was so convenient to attend a conference as JW had a connecting walkway to Indi convention center.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ocdclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

Never been to Indy and didn't know what to expect but for sure the JW Marriott was a difference maker. Very close to downtown restaurants, Lucas Oil Stadium, museums, zoo, parks...most in walking distance. New hotel with the a Starbucks on premise, sports bar, upscale Italian restaurant and a super reasonable buffet breakfast. Comfortable beds and generally quiet except for the occasional emergency vehicle sirens (Fire station just a block away). Staff was friendly and helped us score some tickets for a sold out event. Would stay there again, for sure.

Room Tip: Beware the valet parking fee...it's not cheap. Self parking a better option..it's covered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RCcruiser999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We had the opportunity to attend a Indianapolis Colts Football Game (daughter is a cheerleader) and stayed overnite at the JW Marriott. It was an outstandstanding experience. Not only did the room have a great view but the room was amazing clean and comfortable. If JW Marriott, has a mission statement or core values, the employees live it...you feel the special treatment as soon as you get out of your car and it continues through the desk and into the restaurants. Because of the game ending late, we showed up for dinner late but the staff did not hesitate to serve us and with a smile. The atmosphere and the park setting that this hotel is in, makes it more attractive. Then with the fact that it is attached to the convention center which is right across the street from the football field makes it even more convenient for the inside walk to the stadium.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank philfromdayton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We stayed at the JW this past weekend. Stayed on the 19th floor. We had a great view overlooking the city. Beds were very nice. Nice fluffy towels. Staff went out of their way to find me some bandaids also...

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mick342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
Conrad Indianapolis
#3 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,418 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Omni Severin Hotel
Omni Severin Hotel
#17 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,316 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
The Alexander
The Alexander
#5 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,430 reviews
Le Meridien Indianapolis
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
338 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
Hyatt Regency Indianapolis
#22 of 182 in Indianapolis
1,662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Indianapolis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Indianapolis

Property: JW Marriott Indianapolis
Address: 10 S West St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2709
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Indianapolis
#4 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#5 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#6 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
#7 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — JW Marriott Indianapolis 4*
Number of rooms: 1005
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sophisticated design meets classic hospitality at the largest JW Marriott in the world—JW Indy. Boasting 1,005 contemporary guest rooms and 100,000 square feet of sprawling event space, JW Marriott Indianapolis is the crown jewel of the new Marriott Place Indianapolis hotel complex, a distinct destination for business and leisure travelers in the downtown area. Not only offering the largest ballroom in the Midwest, this Downtown Indianapolis hotel also provides creative event planning services for meetings, weddings and social events of various sizes. There is also direct access via skybridge to the Indiana Convention Center for event larger events and conventions. In addition to incredible meeting space and spacious guest rooms, JW Marriott Indianapolis provides exquisite dining options onsite at High Velocity, Osteria Pronto and Tavern on the Plaza. Nearby, over 200 shopping, dining and entertainment options beckon, including White River State Park, Lucas Oil Stadium and Conseco Fieldhouse. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your JW Marriott Indianapolis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jw Marriott Indianapolis Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing