We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel with a few free extras”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East
Ranked #85 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A hotel with a few free extras”
Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for three nights and found it a refreshing experience.

The hotel is within walking distance (5-10 minutes) to a few restaurants and even adjacent to some fast food outlets.

The room was well presented that also included a microwave and DVD player. A packet of microwave popcorn was ready to go in the microwave. The hotel had a free gymnasium and free laundry facilities. These facilities were in excellent condition.

Adjacent reception was a small room which provided a vast range of groceries and foods that can be purchased 24/7. Great for someone who checks in late and in need of a snack. The foods included frozen microwaveable products.

All the staff were very pleasant and abliging. I would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Travelheaps2209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonda B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review of our hotel.

I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. It seems that overall your experience was a pleasant one. Our goal is to provide outstanding service.

If you visit the Indianapolis area again please contact us to assist with your reservations, we would love to have you stay with us again.

I hope you have a fantastic summer!

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    30
    15
    8
    3
See reviews for
24
16
8
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Candlewood Suites in Indianapolis East recently when visiting his grandparents. The suites themselves are clean, spacious and very well appointed with appliances and plenty of utensils, and the staff is friendly, professional and very attentive. They recommended a great diner nearby (Four Seasons), and when my husband had the world's worst brain-fart and forgot his travel wallet with cash and credit cards, the staff found it right away and over-nighted it to us. It arrived the next day, cash and cards intact. This is a great hotel, a very good deal, with excellent staff. We will never stay at another hotel when visiting Indianapolis!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank EHC1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonda B, Manager at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
Dear EHC1,

Thank you for taking the time to post that kind review. It was our pleasure to assist you. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay.

I can't imagine what that situation must have felt like. We were willing to do anything that we could to help. I'm glad everything turned out fine.

We would love to have you with us again. Let us know if we can help with reservations.

I hope you have an amazing summer.

Best wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I am in Indianapolis once a year from Florida, and absolutely loved the experience we had with Candlewood Indianapolis East The rooms were clean, price was great, staff was friendly. We will never stay anywhere else while in Indianapolis

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank denita1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonda B, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Oh my...thank you so much for that wonderful review. I'm so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love the feedback. Thank you for the opportunity to serve you. We look forward to having you with us for many years to come.

I hope the rest of your 2014 is amazing.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
167 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed March 31, 2014

I'm on the road 4 months out of the year and unfortunately not all Candlewoods are created equally. This one was an exception with a large lobby and bigger 1 bedroom than most.
Great comfortable bed and linens. Got a wonderful welcome on a sunday nite by Tree (short for Teresa) - that makes a big difference after a long day of driving. Thanks.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sfwon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonda B, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed our hotel and your stay. We hope to have the pleasure of serving you again in the future.

Best wishes for great travels in 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Saint Lucie, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

We stayed here a week in July of 2014 on a family visit. We are back again to visit with my wife's mom and the grandkids. This hotel is easy to get to, just off 465. Its close to business industrial Park 100. Every thing you need is close by, restaurants, shopping, movies and fuel. What more do you need. We are here to see family. The candlewood doesn't do breakfast, they have a snack shop with stuff that works on the honor system. The suit is ok for two, with full size refer, micro wave, sink and two burner stove, flat screen and internet. Indoor pool that is heated. The Staff is friendly and seemed genuinely glad to have us back for another week. Overall a great place to crash for a week.

Room Tip: We like the ground floor. Mid hall away from elevators and lobby. But not to far from exits.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank J P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonda B, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,
We are so glad that you continue to enjoying staying at Candlewood Suites. Thank you for your kind words in your review. We do hope to have the pleasure of having your family with us again in the future.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbus
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a weekend stay at this hotel and there aren't any major complaints. The staff was friendly, especially the desk clerk. The room was very clean and spacious. The only problem was that the tub drain was slow. The hotel was located near the highway and plenty of eateries, except the area was a little questionable. I didn't feel unsafe at all and would probably stay there again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonda B, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Gina-

Thank you for taking time to review your stay at the Candlewood Suites Indy East Hotel. We appreciate it.

I'm glad that you enjoyed your time at the hotel. I am sorry that you experienced problems with your drain. We will have the staff check on that. I'm glad that this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Best Wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We had a one-night stay here a few days ago, Sunday into Monday, on a gloomy, gray, misty couple of days. We chose this location for its proximity to the place we had business at on Monday, and for prior good experiences with IHG/Candlewood. The three stars are based mainly on price/value.

The hotel is located close to a main intersection and I-465, which runs just to the north and west of the property. There are about 5 or 6 other places to choose from just to the east of the Candlewood, and the area is convenient but as other reviewers have stated it is also a bit sketchy.

We didn't feel unsafe but there was a Twilight Zone atmosphere, what with our foggy and misty weather. Just a weird vibe. Didn't help that Sunday evening, the hotel's entry doors were locked in the wide-open position, letting in cool, humid air and who knows what kinds of bugs and or vermin. We have never seen a hotel so wide open.

Our room was a double double studio, with the standard Candlewood refrigerator/cooktop/sink/dishwasher setup. The dishes and silverware were stocked for four which was more than we needed. The ice maker in the freezer worked quickly, dumping ice right away and making several more batches during the evening.

The beds were medium firm with plenty of pillows for a comfortable rest. We could have used another set of electrical outlets by the sleep area but we rearranged items to make it work.

Our biggest letdown was the shower, which did not have an adjustable spray to compensate for extremely low pressure. The tub drain was also slow, as water topped our feet after a five-minute shower.

Dish Network local and national channels were on the television but can't say there was a large selection of HD content.

The hotel's wifi was also VERY slow... Our Verizon LTE put it to shame... All I have to say is why bother having wifi if the speed is barely better than dial up?

Last thing to mention, a plus if you are an IHG Priority Club member, is the ease of getting a late checkout. If you need or like a late checkout, Candlewood and other IHG brands will let you stay until 2 p.m., no problem, usually.

If you are looking to save $30-40 on your hotel, or if you need an east side location, consider staying here, knowing there are shortcomings. Otherwise, pick another hotel or, best, another part of Indianapolis altogether.

Room Tip: Rooms on the southeast side of the hotel are away from the interstate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AgingWanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schonda B, Director of Sales at Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to review the Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East Hotel.

Your feedback is appreciated. We love knowing what we did right, but we realize the need to also know the things that may need some tweaking. It takes all of this information to make our guests happy.


We hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Best Wishes,

Hotel Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
0.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis East
0.0 mi away
Quality Inn East
Quality Inn East
#96 of 182 in Indianapolis
98 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
Comfort Inn East Indianapolis
#102 of 182 in Indianapolis
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express and Suites Indianapolis East
1.8 mi away
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-Post Drive
La Quinta Inn Indianapolis East-...
#118 of 182 in Indianapolis
206 reviews
0.3 mi away
Americas Best Value Inn-Indy East
Americas Best Value Inn-Indy Eas...
#124 of 182 in Indianapolis
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East

Property: Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East
Address: 7040 E 21st St, Indianapolis, IN 46219-1714
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East 2.5*
Number of rooms: 81
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Indianapolis East Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing