We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice morning walk along the canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Central Canal

Central Canal
Ranked #7 of 166 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice morning walk along the canal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

Very nice and peaceful, and very well manicured. Takes you through the heart of downtown Indianapolis.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank VAFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

765 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    468
    257
    32
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Clean and relaxing walk along the canal.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

Did not know about the canal before I saw it! Loved it! We took long walks and could not believe how clean and safe it is at all times. Next visit, we will be renting a paddle-boat for the day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect Day Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2013

Husband and I took our 11 month old for a day trip on the canal. We love walking and being outdoors, and the canal is an awesome location. Family (and pet!) friendly. You are able to access lots of different attractions right from the canal, including the Indianapolis zoo and the museum. Lots of artwork, water falls/fountains, plenty of ducks and geese to watch, you can rent paddle boats and 4 person bike cars...and the best part is that parking is free on Sundays. There are even access points that have elevators so if you're handicapped or are dealing with small children and strollers it's easy to get to. We had a whole day of fun and it was absolutely free. Can't wait to go again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyMomma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A nice day for a walk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

I'm a native of Indianapolis but never took a walk along the Canal until now. My sister and I parked on Michigan Street and took a staircase down to the Canal. As we walked along we saw joggers, pedal bikers, and walkers. At the north end, we stopped for lunch at the Creation Cafe. Since the canal is mostly residential along that end, I wondered why they didn't have more places to eat or shop. It is definitely a high end place to live! However, it was a pleasant experience and reminded me of Venice a bit.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank TimetoTravel5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Needs some life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This could be a central part of downtown Indianapolis if they put some money into it. The museums sit on the canal but other than that there wasn't much to see. If they allowed some restaurants, shops, etc...to build along the canal it could be come a downtown hotspot.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Canal also viewed

 

Been to Central Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing