We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Needs some life” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Central Canal

Central Canal
Ranked #8 of 160 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Amarillo, Texas
Level Contributor
99 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Needs some life”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

This could be a central part of downtown Indianapolis if they put some money into it. The museums sit on the canal but other than that there wasn't much to see. If they allowed some restaurants, shops, etc...to build along the canal it could be come a downtown hotspot.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Tammy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

716 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    246
    31
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bowling Green, Kentucky
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Sunday afternoon walk for all”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

This place was amazing. We were there before the trees and flowers had bloomed and it was still beautiful. So many people were out enjoying the warm temperatures: strolling, biking and kayaking. A lot of historical spots along the walkway including a dedication to 911. Would love to have a condo and live here year round.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank gretchenabc b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
87 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very romantic place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

We visited this place on a bright day. Temperatures were not bad luckily and we could walk around the canals. It reminded me of all romantic European places I've been watching in chick flicks (I've not visited Europe). It's also good for joggers or families with young kids (in stroller).
Loved it!!
As it was weekend, we could find parking easily.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank suMountainLover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great walk near downtown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

The canal is very well maintained and probably the best place to walk in the whole city. You can also ride your bike or run along it with many of the other people who are out enjoying it. Great views of downtown and many fountains to enjoy. Extends to the river where you can enjoy a lookout there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Level Contributor
977 reviews
590 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“love it!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

This place is amazing to walk and relax while having the best look avaliable, looking at the city skyscraper. Advised bring comfortable shoes.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank lalocadr19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Canal also viewed

 

Been to Central Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing