We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Nice Canal Walk on a Pretty Day” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Central Canal

Central Canal
Ranked #6 of 156 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
806 reviews
538 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 776 helpful votes
“Nice Canal Walk on a Pretty Day”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We often take time to walk along the canal when we visit family in Indianapolis. It’s a great stroll on a pretty day. On our last visit in September, we were fortunate to see the IUPUI Regatta on the canal – fun! When you pass one of the museums, be sure to notice the steam clock. Statues, fountains, monuments, and flags are great sites along the way, as well as the downtown Indianapolis skyline.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank RetiredTravelerTN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    212
    27
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a nice place to take a walk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We walked the canal in the evening with children. The children needed the exercise as the had been in the car most of the day. It was a pleasant place for a walk. We felt safe and the children enjoyed the outing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank JayneDough_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“walking pleasure”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Spending time strolling hand in hand by the city skyline, watching families and friends smile as they ride boats & bikes, talk and spend quality time is just good fun. Slow down and take a walk around the water...you'll enjoy.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

On this visit we drove to Indianapolis specifically to visit the Central Canal area. We rented a paddle boat because we had never tried that before. It was fun, but you then have a time constraint to get the boat back before you are charged for extra time. I would just walk the canal next time so you could stop whenever you want to look at something. Our 2 teenagers went with us on this trip and both enjoyed the boat ride and taking pictures on the canal. Very beautiful walkway in May. Lots of flowers in bloom.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sher S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
145 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Pretty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

A wonderful place to take a casula stroll with your sweetie! Nothing better than a quiet walk enjoying the beautiful flowers and pretty shrubs!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Central Canal also viewed

 

Been to Central Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing