We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Courtyard with nice location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #47 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good Courtyard with nice location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Nice location and view of the museums and river walk. Several concerts going on in the park when we were there so quite lively. Walking distance to restaurants. Nice size room and pleasant decoration.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    123
    36
    9
    10
See reviews for
57
45
14
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2014 via mobile

I was with my mother at the entrance and no one helped us with our luggage. My mother is ill with pulmonary hypertension and had to help. Hey that's inconceivable

At check in we were billed wrong.
Tks God everything was solve at the end.



Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank xndr31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSHSIndy, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
Our location does not have a bell staff and I am so sorry that we were not able to assist your Mother during her stay with us. We thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomington, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

Spent a night at this hotel in June 2014. The elevators are extremely noisy. If you plan to stay here, I would request a room as far away from the elevators as possible. We were 4 rooms away and we would hear a loud bang every time the elevator stopped at any floor. It woke us up early on a Sunday, not the relaxing night's stay we had hoped for. The manager apologized but was rather apathetic about the whole situation.

The front desk staff was also rude. We asked if the hotel restaurants were often busy on Saturday nights, to which the man at the front desk assured us that he was not a mind reader and had no way of knowing. Apparently being informed on the hotel or being polite to guests is not in his job description.

I would recommend taking your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pick a different hotel or ask for a room away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Drew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSHSIndy, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Drew, I am sorry to hear that your stay was disrupted in any way. I will review the information that you have provided with our front desk staff so that we can better attend to are guests’ questions about the local area. We hope you will reconsider staying with us in the future and appreciate your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers
Level Contributor
231 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 236 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

My room was very spacious with a wonderful view of the riverwalk. The bathroom, while well appointed, only had one small sink and not much room for your stuff. I thought the beds were very hard as were the pillows. The air conditioning worked well and kept the room quite cool. The in-room desk had a pull out table which is quite nice as when you don't want to use it, it tucks away for more space. There is no free breakfast or newspapers but the internet was free. The parking is very expensive. Overnight self parking is $23 and valet is $27. This hotel is next door to a TGI Fridays, which has just recently, done away with happy hour. The hotel has a small bar and restaurant, but I did not try it. If you are going to the stadiums or museum or Imax, this is convenient. However, for other restaurant options or entertainment you must walk quite a ways.
The staff was friendly and helpful and I like that you must use your room key to activate the elevator. There are three hotels right on this corner, JW Marriott, Springfield Suites and this Courtyard.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendmehome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We got a king room through Priceline. Paid $100 each night (2 nts)...very happy overall. The room was nice - faced the Lucas stadium. Right across the street was the riverwalk/park. Very clean, and well kept. Impressed with all of the young people and sports going on. The hotel is within walking distance of all downtown restaurants/bars. We really enjoyed the patio at the attached JW Marriott...great people watching - the servers/bartenders all young people, with a nice outlook. One warning on location - homeless and beggars on every street...just be prepared. Though we felt very safe walking - we were approached many times for money.

Room Tip: we were on the 11th floor - nice view of the baseball stadium
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jpatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
Level Contributor
125 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We spent the weekend at this hotel during the Indy 500 weekend. It sits on a block that contains other Marriott properties, and we ended spending more time at those, than our own. The reason mostly was that the bar / cafe Bistro on property seemed to have limited hours and was not open during the times when folks were looking for a sandwich, an appetizer or a drink. With the hotel full for the race, you would think that they would be more accommodating. So we instead went to TGI Fridays in the property next door. If they are owned by the same folks, then they probably did not care.

The other issue I had with the hotel was the quality of the mattress. It felt old and tired, sagging in the middle. I guess I have been spoiled by the nice quality mattresses I find at the Hampton and Holiday Inn hotels. Hopefully, management will soon recognize that it is time to upgrade.

The rest of the hotel was fine. The rooms were large and comfortable. The staff was friendly. the gym was good. Computer access was decent.

Room Tip: If the mattress issue I had is the norm throughout the hotel, I would choose another property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bharrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSHSIndy, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
I hope you enjoyed the 500 during your stay with us. I am sorry that the hours of operation for the Bistro did not meet your needs as well as the firmness of the mattress. I am glad to hear you were able to utilize the TGI Fridays on the Marriott Complex to enjoy some food and beverage. We thank you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

I got to stay at the Courtyard Indianapolis downtown on a recent business visit. This hotel was close to Downtown Indianapolis near the museum, Lucas Oil stadium and Victory field. The rooms were very comfortable and so were the beds. Wi-Fi was complementary and the breakfast included in the room package is very convenient for grab and go customers. The lobby and the the restaurant the very clean and inviting. The staff was super friendly at both the lobby as well as the breakfast bistro. Room service from TGI Friday's was an added advantage. Overall a convenient, pleasant and enjoyable stay. Would highly recommend this courtyard for anyone visiting Indy.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Trevelling_Macs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CYSHSIndy, Manager at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, June 30, 2014
We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Bistro restaurant, a comfortable room and easy access to the Indianapolis attractions. Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#32 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown

Property: Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 601 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#34 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#53 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown hotel is located in the heart of the Circle City and overlooks the beautiful White River State Park and historic Canal district. Connected to the Convention Center via skybridge with many major companies within a 2 min. taxi ride or 7 min. walk including Simon Malls, WellPoint, JP Morgan Chase, & Eli Lilly. Our downtown Indianapolis hotel is a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner for our great location and outstanding service. Guests enjoy such perks as our upgraded free WiFi, self and valet parking options, room service and media library with boarding pass printing station. Families appreciate our guest rooms with pull-out sofas as well as our indoor pool and the IMAX Theater right across the street. A downtown Indianapolis hotel just 15 minutes from the airport, we're a great, easy option when in town next!m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing