We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, really enjoyed stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #48 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Valley City, Utah
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, really enjoyed stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

We selected this hotel based on good price and proximity to Lucas Oil Stadium. We got in late at night and got up to the room. It was very nice, which I have come to expect with Courtyard. On the website it said 15 minute walk to the stadium, but I really didn't think it took that long. It is a bit further of a walk to get into the main part of downtown and to the monument, but still not bad. Called to the front desk to have an warly morning cab arranged and they were very friendly and got the job done . If and when I return to Indy, I would surely consider this hotel again especially if I were coming in for a Colts game.

Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Riverboat5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I wanted to thank you for posting such a glowing review of your recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Indianapolis. Everything mentioned in your post is a key to our success and I love to see those assets shine through. Our goal is to have every guest leave as satisfied with their stay as you did!

Delightfully
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    123
    36
    10
    10
See reviews for
58
45
14
144
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Forest, Illinois
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

I have stayed here a couple of times for work related events, and have been very pleased each time. This hotel is a typical Courtyard hotel with modern rooms that are kept well cleaned. I have stayed on the top (15th) floor each time, and the view is excellent. During baseball season, you could watch the game from your room! The elevator is very fast and I rarely had a wait. The location is an easy walk to anything downtown, and you can access the skyway type system that goes to other hotels and the convention center, so if the weather is bad you can avoid it a little bit if desired. Like other Courtyards, there is a Bistro restaurant that has OK food if a bit over priced. The granola and yogurt was a good deal for breakfast. The parking is expensive but very easy to get in and out of with a keycard the hotel gives you. Knowing I would stay here a few times I waited to review it, and I usually don't give five stars, but I have absolutely no complaints and the staff is great. There are plenty of computers in the business center and I have used them for printing with no problems. The internet is free although not super fast. However, it is adequate for email.

Room Tip: view is great from the 15th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skyeport
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Indianapolis and had a great experience with our staff and service. We appreciate your business and the great review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Delightfully
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boiling Springs, South Carolina
Level Contributor
148 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

Very good location in the downtown Indy area. Not quite in the middle of everything (area around the war soldier monument), but it's only about 5 or so blocks away. If you're in town for a baseball game at Victory Field, or for a Colts football game, this is a terrific location. Both stadiums are adjacent to this hotel.

Decor is very modern. Check-in and valet parking quick and painless. Staff is super-friendly.

Our room was on the 14th floor (#1426). No tub, but no problem. Shower was large and beautiful, with a heavy glass door. Heard weird clanking/gurgling from floor beneath throughout the entire stay...sounded like plumbing??? Outside street noise was a non-issue.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank georgiamelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is very important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Thank you
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, IN
Level Contributor
64 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

My husband and I traveled to Indianapolis for me to attend the Women of Faith conference. Having had surgery recently, I needed a place that would be quiet and be able to get some good rest to have enough energy to volunteer at the conference. We were very pleased with the accommodations and even though there is a stadium across the street, and a Bob Dylan concert was going on across another street, our room was very quiet.
My question is though - why do they have to have so many things lit up in the room? The clock was like a beacon and the thermostat was lit up too. I used washcloths to cover them up so the room wasn't so light!!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lydiaw1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cayuga
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

I had no problems with my room. It was well maintained and very clean. The bed was comfortable and the linens were spotless white. I generally do not sleep well in hotels, but I did very well here. There were no surfaces that were sticky or dusty. Everything in my room worked. I felt like the housekeeping staff did an excellent job and went out of their way to make my stay a pleasant one. The front desk staff was quick and efficient. They answered any questions I had and made helpful suggestions regarding dining. They also made sure that my room was near my friend's room. That was very thoughtful. Some of my co-workers were in surrounding hotels and complained of traffic noise and hallway noise. I did not hear anything once I was inside my room except for a hairdryer in the next room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, September 10, 2012
I wanted to thank you for posting such a glowing review of your recent stay with us at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Indianapolis. Everything mentioned in your post is a key to our success and I love to see those assets shine through. Our goal is to have every guest leave as satisfied with their stay as you did!

Delightfully
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
Level Contributor
73 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2012

The JW Marriot was full so I ended up staying here. I was in town for a conference. Staff was outstanding! Service was great! Room was nice. No microwave but there is a fridge and coffee maker. The pool was a bit small and the water was pretty cold but it was still nice. Fitness room was nice. Great location. About .5 miles from the zoo and plenty to do in the surrounding area. I recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 28, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Courtyard by Marriott Downtown Indianapolis and had a great experience with our staff and service. We appreciate your business and the great review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Delightfully
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Georgia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

Here for a conference, but hotel was in walking distance of everything! Staff was very helpful and always greeted me. Great view of Victory field out my window. Highly recommend for business or pleasure. Rooms are new and nicely appointed. Coffee available all day as is ice water if you make use of the great trails.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of Victory Field.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KimmyVH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, August 20, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Thank you

Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#31 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis at the Capitol
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown

Property: Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 601 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Indianapolis
#34 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#53 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 297
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown hotel is located in the heart of the Circle City and overlooks the beautiful White River State Park and historic Canal district. Connected to the Convention Center via skybridge with many major companies within a 2 min. taxi ride or 7 min. walk including Simon Malls, WellPoint, JP Morgan Chase, & Eli Lilly. Our downtown Indianapolis hotel is a TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence Winner for our great location and outstanding service. Guests enjoy such perks as our upgraded free WiFi, self and valet parking options, room service and media library with boarding pass printing station. Families appreciate our guest rooms with pull-out sofas as well as our indoor pool and the IMAX Theater right across the street. A downtown Indianapolis hotel just 15 minutes from the airport, we're a great, easy option when in town next!m. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing