We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“General admission? Buy a priority pass.”

The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Massachusetts Avenue Food Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A building of Moorish design.
Louisville, KY
Level Contributor
139 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“General admission? Buy a priority pass.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2014

We visited the Murat for the first time in March 2014, for an incredible show (Neutral Milk Hotel!). The Murat seemed amazing to me--cavernous, somewhat elegant, old. We were in the Egyptian Room for a general admission, standing room only show. We chose to buy $10 per person priority passes. These allowed us to skip the line and enter the theater with the other priority pass buyers (which numbered only about 20, a small number for a venue that holds 2000). What an amazing deal. We stood in the front row, leaning against the security fence, and had a great view for the entire show. There were multiple bars. The restroom seemed small but there was only a small line, even between acts. Overall, this was an accommodating venue. We are not from Indianapolis, but I would visit the Murat again!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    59
    23
    16
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
rensselaer, IN
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Doors open later than advertised”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Website states that the doors open two hours before event starts. We arrived at 5:15pm for a 7:30pm show and were not let in until 7:00pm. The weather was in the teens and as it was general admission for the entire show, no one was adequately dressed. Not cool. I will travel elsewhere for a show and avoid this venue in the future. Change your website or follow your advertised policies.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank knappyjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fishers, Indiana
Level Contributor
324 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“In need of TLC”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

They have some really great shows here. Theatre itself needs adequate lighting, fresh paint, carpet cleaning, comfortable seats, and adequate restroom facilities.

Helpful?
Thank herestoadventures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
75 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go for the show, not the venue! Compact seats.. good stage views..”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

Saw "Wicked" in Murat. We were 1/2 hr early ( it was a weekday) and there were several street parking spots available a block from Murat. However we were ill prepared with change for the parking meter, and paid cash to park in an 'event parking spot' nearby. We were in P row seats- so clear views, though the whole theater appeared compact that views should be be good from most seats. I had a friend in the balcony who said she could see the performance without it appearing too distant. The seats are compact. So think twice before getting in or out of seat if you do not have the aisle seat. Tall people will have difficulty with their knees knocking the front seat. If so, the aisle seat is the way to go. There is a long line for the restrooms during the intermission. However, there were ushers inside and outside the restrooms moving the crowd along, letting them know when the show will resume and which restrooms were free. So the line moves fast. Good work on that. Drinks were costly. Overall, liked the show, venue not so bad!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank OscarWilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
56 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“GRAND OLD LIVE STAGE THEATER”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

I was back at the Murat Theater for the first time in over 30 years last night for a show. The historic theater is worn but still regal. I sat in the Royalty section and the seats in my row tipped backwards when we stood up which made everyone in row D a little concerned. Maintenance might check this area out before someone is injured.
Other than that, if you want to see a show in a theater built years ago for just that purpose, you might enjoy the Murat Theater in Indianapolis.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Indyron1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing