We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor balcony acoustics for a rock show” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre

The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre
Book In Advance
More Info
$58.00*
and up
Massachusetts Avenue Food Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A building of Moorish design.
Yellow Springs, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor balcony acoustics for a rock show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

While I enjoyed the architecture and concert-friendly atmosphere, the balcony acoustics leave much to be desired for an amplified music show (and while I'm at it, why do rock show TD's think 11 is the preferred amp setting? Note to YES - take it down about 3db and it would sound SOOOO much better!). Naturally, the drinks are over-priced and the restroom lines are over-long but at least the Shriners haven't torn it down and put up a parking lot. Next time I'll try the main floor but even with those hard surfaces the Murat still gets 4 out of 5.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    59
    22
    15
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mahomet, Illinois
Level Contributor
200 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Steve Martin and SCR concert”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

A great concert and beautiful location, so easy to reach and parking is great and close. The only thing that would have made it better is if the seats were staggered - I was behind a lady with "big" hair and had to lean my head sideways through the whole concert. Would also not be comfortable for anyone very tall or quite overweight as rows are close together and seats are fairly small compared to most venues I've attended. I would still go back for the beautiful theater with what appeared to be good seats no matter where you were sitting.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank jodyt821
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A striking historic venue with a great line-up of live music”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

My boss and I enjoyed the Chris Mann concert in the Egyptian room. The entire facility was beautifully appointed, with stained glass windows, painted columns and incredible chandeliers. The staff was very friendly and made us feel very welcome. Valet parking is available and was very efficient and friendly on our visit. There is a VIP room downstairs that offers appetizers and a private restroom and bar. The performance space was up a very long flight of stairs from there but the show was worth the climb. There was at least one other show going on the same night and the performers for that were very different from the one we were seeing, so it appears variety is key to their success. I definitely would visit again.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Margaret E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Historical”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

I went to a concert at the Murat. The sound quality was great. It is a beautiful building. I would like to go back there for a show where there is seating. This was probably the better sound quality than other venues that were built for concerts

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank CindyE37209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great music venue, centrally located in Indianapolis”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre is my favorite music venue in Indianapolis, mostly due to its central location and ease of access. It can be reached in 20-25 minutes from most points in Indianapolis, as well as from many suburbs. Additionally, it is an intimate setting due to its small size.

I have been to this venue literally dozens of times, and have experienced performances from most every seating area. My musical tastes are varied from Americana to punk rock, progressive rock, classic rock, new wave, rockabilly, folk, blues and metal, so I have experienced a variety presentations. The Murat is well suited for them all.

Seating generalities: There are 3 orchestra seating areas on the floor: left, center and right. There is also a balcony to the rear, as well as lodge seating along the sides. Also, there are usually 3 rows of "pit" seats, unless the performance requires the use of that space. Pit seats are folding chairs that aren't very comfortable, but if you want to be up close, that's the place to be.

If you sit left or right, I advise that you do not sit in the first 10 rows. Further back allows for better acoustics in those areas, as well as lines of site to the stage.

Sitting in the center orchestra seats can be very enjoyable anywhere forward of the balcony. The very front of the venue offers unmatched intimacy with the performers, but can limit enjoyment of performance vocals which are typically projected from the PA speakers on either side. With some musical styles, hearing the vocals can be a secondary concern, so I sometimes enjoy the show up close. If you sit on the main floor in seats under the balcony, the high frequency acoustics are severely hampered, which makes the vocals muddy and generally makes the entire performance not well balanced acoustically. Generally speaking, seats from from row G through T in the center offer the best sound.

Balcony seating offers a different perspective that can also be very enjoyable. AVOID the front row of the balcony. Leg room there is for children only. Adults will be completely uncomfortable the entire performance in the balcony front row. The next 5 rows of the balcony can offer a great view of the stage, as well as reasonably good acoustics.

Lodge seating is fabulous for an intimate group of 6 friends. Sitting there, you can swap seats with each other throughout the performance for a variety of configurations, and you don't have to worry about interrupting the view for folks outside of your group. I saw Alice Cooper from the front right lodge one time and was thrilled with the view of the stage there. Audio was quite respectable as well.

The Bar: Usually, there is one large wooden bar in the lobby with many bartenders to fulfill your drink orders. Pricing is no bargain, but comparable with other concert venues. Choice of liquor brands is limited. I can never get Tanqueray there. Long Island iced tea is pre-mixed and generic (and also weak). Beer selection is also very limited to mass-produced "light" beers. There are also usually a few smaller bars (picture a 6-foot table with a skirt around it) set up ad-hoc. These are typically specialized with premium quality beers.

Restrooms: Located in the basement and usually crowded. There is a slow elevator for accessibility, but I wouldn't use it if you can handle a few stairs.

Security: The reason I give this venue less than 5. The hired security force is usually overly aggressive with their groping and pat downs, and with a metal-detector wand in use also. Polite and courteous? No, forget that. I go to concert venues in other cities and even within the city and am NEVER so disrespected as I am at the Murat by their hired security.

Parking: Nice secure and well-lit lot is available in front for typically $10-15. Price varies with performance. Get there at least 20 minutes before show time for a spot in the lot. Street parking is available within a few blocks. Earlier arrival will allow for closer parking.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
11 Thank WilliamT316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre also viewed

 

Been to The Murat Theatre at the Old National Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing