We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent service, delicious food, cheaper than a flight to Addis Ababa!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Major Restaurant

Major Restaurant
Ranked #216 of 2,340 Restaurants in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: African, Ethiopian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,806 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 895 helpful votes
“Excellent service, delicious food, cheaper than a flight to Addis Ababa!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Dined here with spouse and friend for dinner. Greeted upon arrival. Sat in the "traditional" dining area (not at a western table and chairs). Ordered the beef combo for two (plenty food for the three of us and even a few leftovers). Nicely spiced, lean beef, delicious vegetables. In the beef combo you get three beef dishes and 8 vegetables. Very colorful. It was our friend's first Ethiopian meal and she enjoyed it. If you are not comfortable eating with your hands, you might want to bring your own silverware :-)

We look forward to returning soon. Fantastic to have such a cultural gem here in Indianapolis. Located in the Plaza del Sol shopping center. Lots of parking. Clean bathrooms. Nice decor in dining areas.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    16
    2
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
635 reviews
353 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Ethiopian at it's best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

What an enjoyable evening!!!!! This is true Ethiopian food prepared by a woman from Ethiopia.

The restaurant is located in a small "strip" center on the southwest side of Indianapolis. The facility is very nice, tastefully decorated.

When you enter the facility, you immediately smell the spices................a sign of authenticity!!!

The menu is extensive................if you are with another couple, the combination dinners would be recommended..................lots of veggies, lentles several ways and as many as 4 choices of meats. The combination dish for "3" was enough to satisfy the 4 of us..............and we are pretty good eaters!!

All were tastefully presented and VERY TASTY..............we would highly recommend it.

AND..............the "bread" that you use to "grab" your food is the best we have had at any Ethiopian restaurant...............light, fluffy, spongey................and plentiful...........they will serve you more if you need.

Even if you are not familiar with Ethiopian food, you should try this place.....a great place to begin and a great place to return to!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gold-vintner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
1,806 reviews
588 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 895 helpful votes
“Delicious food, friendly & welcoming staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

Dined here with spouse on a Groupon. Ordered the combo for two. 7 veggies plus meat dishes, served with injera bread. Finished the meal with coffee. Friendly and welcoming staff, delicious food! Had leftovers for the next day's lunch. Lots of fun to eat with your hands. BYO fork if you're not comfortable eating with your hands. Look forward to returning!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Saranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indianapolis
Level Contributor
301 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Small portions for the price”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We ate here on a groupon with a friend who really enjoys Ethiopian food. The food was very flavorful but seemed on the expensive side for the amount of food offered. The owner was very nice and the place has a nice atmosphere for being in a run-down strip mall. My husband left wanting to know when dinner was.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank philangie6370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
95 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We could not have been happier with our meal and the service was excellent! Our server was the restaurant owner. He was very friendly and attentive. He altered one of the combo platters for my daughter and I, as we do not like spicy food. We only asked that he change two of the meats that were supposed to be spicy, but he was nice enough to also change the sides so that we did not have anything spicy. The flavors of all the dishes were varied and delicious in their own way. The combo platter we ordered had chicken, lamb and beef- we could not pick a favorite they were all so good. And the portions were quite large, so we left feeling more than stuffed. The menu also has a small paragraph on how Ethiopian meals are traditional eaten, which includes feeding one another. We did partake in this tradition, making for an overall wonderful meal and experience. Highly recommend this restaurant and I would definitely go back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank worldwidewyatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Major Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Major Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing