We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must for racing fans!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Indy Racing Experience

Indy Racing Experience
Book In Advance
More Info
$149.00*
and up
Ride Along In A Dragster At Lucas Oil Raceway
Ranked #33 of 163 things to do in Indianapolis
Attraction details
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A must for racing fans!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

I have been a lifelong Indy 500 fan, but you don't have to be to enjoy this.

I expected a lot, and the Indy Racing Experience exceeded them. If you are a racing fan, you'll enjoy it. If you are an open wheel fan, you'll love it. If you are an Indianapolis 500 fan, you'll be overjoyed. (The day I drove there was a young lady that had one her trip there, she couldn't wipe the grin off her face after her drive.)

The Experience is run very professionally. From the minute you drive into the Speedway there are people to show you where to go and what to do.

The driving part is just a blast. You are in a real indy car (but not a race engine, which is a good thing) and holy crap you are driving on the IMS! I also rode in the two seater. Now here you really get to feel a G or two, and get a feel for what it is really like. It's amazing to just sit on the pit wall and soak it all in. As another reviewer mentioned, you might just meet a legend, as I did.

Can't say enough good things about this. Definitely worth the money, a life experience/bucket list item for any racing fan. Thank you to the owners of the company that runs the Experience for making it possible for us regular old humans to be an Indycar driver for a couple of laps.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank BobTPhotos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    5
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Rush”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife surprised me with this gift for Father's Day, and it was great. If you like speed, if you like racing history, or if you are like me and millions of others who have watched Indy on TV and dreamt of blasting down the track; this is for you!!!! The only thing cooler than being in an actual Indy car at Indy, is having a wife cool enough to surprise you with the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melk118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
162 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Much ado about nothing.....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

The most positive thing I can say about the "race" is that it's best seen on TV. Unless you know the track and exact seating potential, then just buying a ticket for this event is a waste of money. We sat in the middle of a straight-away, and saw nothing but race cars zipping in front of us at 225 MPH. It's impossible to know who's winning, and the TV score board runs so slow that you can't be sure what lap it's on. The track is 2.5 miles around, and you just don't see much. The scale of the place is awesome. Getting there and leaving is chaos, and everywhere you go there are steps to climb. The TV screens are so small you have to watch them with binoculars. This is a tired old track with no modern amenities, and the aluminum bench seats are unforgiving.
The practice sessions must be much more interesting than the race it self. Very disappointing !!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank wallybaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level Contributor
357 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excitement x 100”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

I would classify this experience as 100 times more exciting than any roller coaster I have ever encountered. There is no way to describe the feeling of traveling at a very high rate of speed around the Indianapolis Speedway. And meeting Mario was the icing on the cake. Don't miss this experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a must!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2012

very organized and ride was a blast! Well worth the money!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indy Racing Experience also viewed

 

Been to Indy Racing Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing