We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Rush”

Indy Racing Experience
Ranked #34 of 173 things to do in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brooklyn, New York
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“What a Rush”
Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

My wife surprised me with this gift for Father's Day, and it was great. If you like speed, if you like racing history, or if you are like me and millions of others who have watched Indy on TV and dreamt of blasting down the track; this is for you!!!! The only thing cooler than being in an actual Indy car at Indy, is having a wife cool enough to surprise you with the experience.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Melk118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    7
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Much ado about nothing.....”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

The most positive thing I can say about the "race" is that it's best seen on TV. Unless you know the track and exact seating potential, then just buying a ticket for this event is a waste of money. We sat in the middle of a straight-away, and saw nothing but race cars zipping in front of us at 225 MPH. It's impossible to know who's winning, and the TV score board runs so slow that you can't be sure what lap it's on. The track is 2.5 miles around, and you just don't see much. The scale of the place is awesome. Getting there and leaving is chaos, and everywhere you go there are steps to climb. The TV screens are so small you have to watch them with binoculars. This is a tired old track with no modern amenities, and the aluminum bench seats are unforgiving.
The practice sessions must be much more interesting than the race it self. Very disappointing !!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank wallybaloo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spearfish, South Dakota
Level 6 Contributor
401 reviews
84 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Excitement x 100”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I would classify this experience as 100 times more exciting than any roller coaster I have ever encountered. There is no way to describe the feeling of traveling at a very high rate of speed around the Indianapolis Speedway. And meeting Mario was the icing on the cake. Don't miss this experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Fred N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“a must!”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

very organized and ride was a blast! Well worth the money!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Heather F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenwood, Indiana
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Add this to your bucket list”
Reviewed February 19, 2012

One of the best presents I ever gave my daughter. The people were great and she will always remember that day.

Helpful?
1 Thank diver910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Indy Racing Experience also viewed

 
Indianapolis, IN
 

Been to Indy Racing Experience? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing