We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It doesn't get much better than this”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #31 of 178 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Mattoon, Illinois
Level Contributor
92 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“It doesn't get much better than this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2010

This hotel is by far one of the cleanest hotels I have ever stayed at. We were in town for RibAmerica Festival and it was within walking distance (around 3 blocks) which was very convenient. I was concerned from other reviews that parking was confusing. We didn't find that at all. We pulled right up to the hotel and a valet was there who gave us instructions. Parking was $20.00 if you do it yourself. We chose valet parking as it was only $5.00 more. Saved us the hassle. Check in was wonderful. Friendly and fast and very very helpful. The lobby is spacious and lovely. The rooms are the same. Beautiful and spacious. Decorated in springy colors. We had a sectional sofa in one part of the room with decorative throw pillows and a large flat screen T,.V. The beds were very comfortable and lots of pillows. Room also had refrigerator and microwave. Everything was clean clean clean. Not a speck of dirt. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone. I also saw a review that said the fact that the Courtyard, Fairfield, and Springhill are all connected which makes it very confusing. I did not find it confusing at all. Everything is clearly marked where one starts and the other begins. Each has it's outside door so I didn't find it confusing at all. There is also a TGI Fridays connected to the Fairfield part of the building which was very convenient.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idclaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    146
    38
    11
    8
See reviews for
135
63
13
111
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, Mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2010

Brought my niece and her two young children to Indy to see the Zoo & Children's Museum. This was a great location for the Zoo and a short walk to the Monument Circle. Everyone was very impressed with Indy and with this hotel. The layout of the room worked out great for us--Everyone seemed to have a "private" place to change, etc. The kids spent a lot of time in the pool and it looked very cleam. Breakfast in the morning was very abundant. I appreciate the key-operated elevator and didn't find it difficult to use at all. In fact, the kids enjoyed activating it with the key. The hotel is located a little off the beaten path, but Indy's downtown is so vibrant, that we felt comfortable walking several blocks at night, as well as walking the canal. We used valet parking and found it quite convenient. We'll stay re again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janice1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2010

We visit family in Indy at least once a year. We normally stay at the Residence Inn on the Canal, but last time my kids complained about sharing the sleeper sofa and asked if there was a way they could each have their own bed. We chose the Springhill because it was the only hotel we could find with 2 queen beds + a fold-out couch. Also, it is part of the Marriott family so we got half our stay free with loyalty points.

The unexpected surprise was the stunning view of White River State Park from our 15th floor room. It did remind me of the reflecting pools in DC and was especially gorgeous at dusk and after-dark. Our room and entire hotel had nice furnishings. The beds were comfy, even the fold-out, which was separated from the other beds by an opaque screen.

The bathroom is split with a toilet and sink/mirror on one side of the closet and and shower and sink/mirror on the other side, both with sliding doors. This was very handy with a teen and tween girl.

We expected a continental breakfast and were pleasantly surprised that the there also hot items: eggs, sausage, oatmeal, and make-your own waffle. The breakfast line could be better organized as the waffles created a bottle-neck, but that wasn't a big deal since we weren't in a hurry.

You can easily walk to the canal, State Museum, Etiljorg, NCAA Hall of Champions, Victory Field, canal boat and surrey bike rentals, and even a couple of restaurants.
The cafe at the Etiljorg was very pleasant with indoor and outdoor balcony seating overlooking the canal. Zoo and glass gardens with butterflies are maybe a 5 minute drive.

The work-out room looks out to the small pool, which is handy for keeping an eye on older kids.

Parking is $20 self-park and $25 valet and I didn't see any affordable off-site parking options. While it is steep, it is in line with other Indy hotels downtown. It was a little tricky for family members to find as there are many Marriott properties in the area and it shares a building with the Courtyard. A good landmark is that it is just past the giant red check mark sculpture.

We missed the outdoor balcony and grill at the Residence Inn. My girls said that free cookies (like at Res. Inn) would have "enhanced their hotel experience". However, Springhill did offer free lollipops and free breakfast. Service was fine--no complaints. I admit Residence Inn was friendlier, probably since we have been going there for years and staff actually remember us from visit-to-visit.

At the risk of seeming disloyal to Res. Inn, I think we found a new favorite.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Austexfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland, IN
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2010

Brand new, nicely decorated hotel situated right across the street from the Indiana State Museum. I liked the fact that there were two bathroom areas – one with a toilet and sink; the other with a vanity sink and tub/shower. Lines for breakfast were long since it is 17 stories and has the same basic set-up as the 3-story Springhill Suites I am used to.

The one problem I had was that upon return to the room at 4:45 our room had still not been cleaned and we had no new towels. We were going to get ready for dinner so I called down to report it. Never once did anyone I talked to (desk, cleaning supervisor) apologize – I just got “We have a full house and the maids work until 6 p.m. You need to understand.” Lots of excuses. I told them that answer was unacceptable and I needed towels right away. The towels did show up and at 5:15 the maid came. I sent her away since we were getting ready. That is poor service and someone needs to teach the staff to at least say “sorry” and diffuse the situation that way and then solve the problem. That night a note was in my room from the manager finally apologizing and giving me 5,000 Marriott Rewards points. Well, at least that was better.

On the whole, I would give them another chance, but they need to hire more cleaning staff. Not having a room cleaned by 5:30 is not acceptable by my standards.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ConnieHighland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2010

This hotel is part of a new complex of Marriott properties and includes a (not yet open) JW Marriott, a Courtyard, and a Fairfield Inn in addition to the Spring Hill Suites. The JW is quite an impressive structure and looks like it will be a neat place to stay when it opens.

Our rooms on the 8th and 14th floors of the Spring Hill Suites both faced west, and thus had a great view of the park across the street. The hotel complex is on the far west side of downtown actually so there is really nothing to the west of here BUT the park, which is nice. A river runs through the park is well, and there is lots of nice places to walk. It appeared to be a very safe park to me, and I saw single women jogging, kids with their parents etc.

Washington Street, where the hotel is located, is a nice road to walk on if you're headed east into downtown. It's about a 15-minute walk to the soldier's memorial and the traffic circle. I would say it's a safe walk in the daytime for women, and the route passes by several government buildings, including the state capital.

Though they claim there is a TGI Friday's "on site" it's really next door at the (connected) Fairfield Inn, but requires either a short walk outside, or a longer walk through the parking garage to get to. The food and service were well worth the walk though. Both were excellent. Note that this restaurant is about the ONLY restaurant in the complex right now, though I assume the JW will have one once it opens. The Courtyard Marriott next door had a little "cafe" in the lobby, but I think it was mostly sandwiches and coffee, and not really a sit down place.

The rooms, as others have noted, are a bit strangely laid out, and there is not much room between the beds and the bathrooms/closets in each room. I did notice the handicapped rooms did not have this problem however as they must accommodate wheel chairs.

The non-handicapped rooms would probably be better for a solo traveler and are not laid out the same as other SHS's I've stayed in. I prefer the "older" version, which had a totally separate bedroom with its own door, T.V., and AC controls. The beds were very comfortable however in this one, though some few might find them a bit firm.

One thing I DID like about the rooms here was the extremely nice "work area." The desk was plenty big, plenty of plugs, and plenty of light. The divider window at the back of the desk between it and the "bedroom" could also be opened up if desired so you can look out the window. The chair is situated so you can turn slightly and watch the (one) T.V. while you work if desired.

I would agree with a previous reviewer that most of the rooms here are better situated for one person. Even with just one person however, the space between the bed and the oddly laid out bathrooms (one for showering...one with a toilet...and a closet in between) is still quite scarce.

One other "gripe" is the elevators, or "hellevators" as my brother called them. They require that you insert your room key in order to access any floor but the ground floor. If they are going to insist on this for security purposes, they should make the system more user-friendly as I, and several others, had trouble inserting the key correctly in order to get the elevators to move. Very much a hassle, especially when jet-lagged and arms full of luggage.

The staff at the hotel was excellent however, and "exceeded my expectations" at every turn.

I did not use the gym while there, but it looked better than most smaller hotels, and had some dumbbells for use as well I believe. Next to the gym was a fairly nice indoor pool as well.

They had several computers in the business center and a couple in the lobby for guests to use. The free Internet in the rooms was adequate, but if you wanted "fast" you had to pay $5 per day for that. I did, and it was pretty fast.

All in all a good hotel, but I probably wouldn't stay here again unless I really wanted to be by the park. This is due mostly to the room layout and the elevator difficulties.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcstix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2010

Stayed one night in early June. Great hotel - very hip and trendy and within walking distance of heart of downtown. Parking lot to hotel is a slight bit confusing, and there's one tiny indoor pool shared between 2 large hotel properties. But enjoyed the stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank srohlfs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, NH
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2010

Stayed here for 5 days for the NCAA Final Four. Decent location downtown although nearby construction made walking somewhat difficult. Large rooms with fridge a plus. Decent breakfast in the am. Note, was told I could catch the "green line" to the airport right in front of the hotel (it's $7 vs a $35 cab ride). Waited in the rain and never did see it. I'd stay here again, decent place for the price.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coachbill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#47 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 303 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Staybridge Suites Indianapolis - City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Downtown Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
The Westin Indianapolis
#24 of 178 in Indianapolis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 601 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#47 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Located on a beautiful seven-acre site overlooking White River State Park, guests are steps away from Circle Center Mall, the State Capitol, Indianapolis Zoo, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. Guest rooms offer a small refrigerator, microwave, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and cable TV. The property also features a complimentary new breakfast buffet and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing