We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay, but understaffed when full”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Ranked #35 of 182 Hotels in Indianapolis
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay, but understaffed when full”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is new with a modern design and in a great location. Very nice to be able to walk through JW Marriott and use the skywalk to get numerous places without going outside. Unfortunately, the hotel was at capacity two of the nights we stayed and it appeared they were understaffed, especially for breakfast. Both Saturday and Sunday mornings the breakfast line was long because of a bad design, only one place for plates, one toaster and everything is crammed together in one line. Two staff were working hard to keep up, but still kept running out of plates, utensils, and food. Monday morning was much less busy and was a much better experience. We planned on using the pool, but it's very small and was always busy so we didn't. We would stay there again, but if they were full I'd find someplace else.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Letsgoracing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Thank you
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    201
    153
    39
    12
    9
See reviews for
140
64
14
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Wonderful Stay! I have yet to complain about a Marriott stay. I love Marriott!
The Hotel is updated very nicely. It is clean and comfortable. The room we stayed in had a good layout. There was a great variety of breakfast food to choose. The staff is happy to serve and actually smile.

Room Tip: Street was a little noisy at times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hello_clarice2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
I wanted to thank you for posting such a glowing review of your recent stay with us at the Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown. Everything mentioned in your post is a key to our success and I love to see those assets shine through. Our goal is to have every guest leave as satisfied with their stay as you did!

Best Regards
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2012

My family and I booked the hotel for a weekend getaway. The hotel is close to the Children's Museum and within walking distance of the Zoo and NCAA Hall of Champions (all places we wanted to visit). The hotel offers a NICE breakfast for FREE which was nice since we had to pay $23 a a night to park there. The hotel isn't dirty, but the cleaning staff didn't make it to our room and we saw some trash in the hallways.

If you have kids and want to check out the pool - they do have one. It is rated for 15 people max so it is pretty small. Even crazier is that the pool is shared with and adjacent Marriott property.

Overall the rooms were large as this is a 'business suite' type hotel with a good breakfast. If you want more you may want to consider another place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ejswit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It is always our goal to ensure that each guest has an excellent experience. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Delightfully

Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rensselaer, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

We had had a reservation for over two days on two queen beds. Upon arrival we were told we had a king size bed because that's what we reserved. I had my confirmation email with me. Then they had to look me up and tell me they changed my room type that morning. I was told that a reservation is really just a request of what type of room you want but there are no guarantees you will get that. Seriously?! Then why bother. They had sold a block of queen rooms so they needed to change my room. What's one customer compared to a whole block! I do not recommend this hotel if you need a certain type or number of beds. Also, the bathroom just has a sliding door. You can hear everything in the room.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathryn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, November 5, 2012
I hope you will accept our sincere apologies if you feel you were not treated with the utmost respect during your recent stay. Guest feedback is very important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay. If you would like to discuss these issues further please feel free to contact me.

Thank you
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I loved this place. Modern and well appointed. Convenient to downtown. Valet parking reasonable. Check-in parking a little crowded. This will be my preferred place to stay in downtown Indy and I will look for this hotel when I travel.

Room Tip: No bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vilson53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I wanted to send you a quick message to first thank you for your recent stay and review of our hotel. Guest feedback is so important to our success and bettering our team for future visitors and we really do appreciate you taking the time to offer some insight to your stay.

Delightfully
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
prospect ohio
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

we visited the weekend of october 20th to see a browns versus colts game. location was great. able to use the "skywalk" to get to stadium, shopping, and restaurants. the hotel was very nice...a marriott "place." all versions of marriotts "hooked" together. check in was easy, i believe his name was Cole, treated us so nice. he explained the hotel and how to get about. he was absolutely the best. i want springhill suites in downtown indianapolis to know this. he was at the free breakfast in the morning helping with that too. the room was a little strange but nice. we had a two queen bed room with the bathroom, closet, and shower room all at the end of the beds...in a row...strange, but ok. we had a nice view of the canal area. we truly enjoyed our stay there. definitely will come back if staying in the area. kids used pool which was small but fine. parking was easy and well marked. we were very happy here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tamaradmProspectOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I wanted to send a quick thank you for your recent stay and review of our Springhill Suites Dowtown Indianapolis! We really appreciate you taking the time to post about your visit to our hotel and Indianapolis. Our goal is to have every guest leave 100% satisfied and I was glad to read, on the whole, you were satisfied with your stay. Once again, thanks for posting a detailed review of your stay with us. We really appreciate you choosing our hotel while in Indianapolis and hope to see you again during your visit.

Delightfully
Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
illinois
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

A perfect location right downtown. It's walkable everywhere. Stadium, circle center, zoo victory field at all right there. Comfortable beds and very clean. We were able to park out car on arrival and did not get in it again until we left. Upper floor rooms have amazing views.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlmIllinois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marr601, Director of Sales at SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the Springhill Suites by Marriott Downtown and had a great experience with our staff and service. We appreciate your business and the great review and look forward to welcoming you back.

Delightfully

Nikki Thomas
Director of Sales and Marketing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Indianapolis hotels
Downtown Indianapolis
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Downtown Indianapolis
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
Courtyard Indianapolis Downtown
#53 of 182 in Indianapolis
321 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
Indianapolis Marriott Downtown
#28 of 182 in Indianapolis
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
JW Marriott Indianapolis
#7 of 182 in Indianapolis
2,261 reviews
Downtown Indianapolis
Residence Inn Indianapolis Downtown on the Canal
Downtown Indianapolis
Hampton Inn Indianapolis Downtown Across from Circle Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown

Property: SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown
Address: 601 W Washington St, Indianapolis, IN 46204-2712
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Indianapolis > Downtown Indianapolis
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Family Hotel in Indianapolis
#26 Romantic Hotel in Indianapolis
#47 Business Hotel in Indianapolis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown is adjacent to the Convention Center. Located on a beautiful seven-acre site overlooking White River State Park, guests are steps away from Circle Center Mall, the State Capitol, Indianapolis Zoo, NCAA Hall of Champions, Lucas Oil Stadium, and Conseco Fieldhouse. Guest rooms offer a small refrigerator, microwave, complimentary high-speed Internet Access, and cable TV. The property also features a complimentary new breakfast buffet and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your SpringHill Suites Indianapolis Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Springhill Suites Indianapolis Downtown Hotel Indianapolis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing